Recent Searches
Clear

Zion Jeep Tour Premium Package - Afternoon Tour

star-4.5122 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Springdale, United States
Zion Jeep Tour Premium Package - Afternoon Tour
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon4 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Discover the rugged landscapes of Utah’s Zion National Park in a Jeep on this half-day excursion. Join a small group and spend your afternoon navigating trails to reach 5,300 feet (1,600 meters) of elevation in the park. While you drive, observe local wildlife like lizards, snakes, and desert birds and take in the beautiful landscapes.
  • Learn about local history and geology from your guide
  • Avoid the hassle of exploring with larger groups
  • Explore Zion with this exclusive off-road tour
  • A small group means more attention from your guide
Saved to wishlist!
Snacks
Bottled water
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale/Zion National Park , 1127 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767, USA

Lower (south) end of parking lot.

3:30 PM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Ages 7-80 year's old allowed
  • Our Jeep Wranglers are customized to handle either 5 passengers or 7 passengers
  • No one over 280 lbs. allowed on our Jeep Tour due to seatbelt, seating, and suspension limitations
  • This is an interactive tour: Travelers must be able to walk to points of interest
  • Price paid includes all associated taxes/fees
  • $20-$25 per person guide fee to be paid in cash - In consideration, due to the national hiring crisis, stimulus checks being paid out, rising gas prices, inflation, etc. it is impossible to hire tour guides. The West has been experiencing unprecedented hot temperatures and drought. Our guides work hours before and after each tour to ensure you get the best experience. We ask you help us ensure we can provide a tour for you by coming prepared to provide your tour guide with the money they need to make a living.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • No off-road tour company is allowed within Zion National Park
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Zion Country Off-Road Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "I highly recommend the morning tour so that you can take advantage of a less crowded road." See review
  • "The only comfortable seat was the front seat which was only available to a very overweight woman." See review
  • "Would highly recommend the tour for a great way to experience the wildness and beautify of the local backcountry outside the park - and to give your feet a rest from hiking the park." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
122 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 122 reviews
star-5
Bumpy ride with Murphy!
Shirley_M
, Jun 2022
Murphy was great guide! Very knowledgeable and passionate about what he does, love of nature and I think he is the best father to his daughter!
star-5
An outstanding experience worth the money & time.
Marty_R
, May 2022
It wouldn't let me upload some fabulous photos. See this blog: "YOU CAN DRIVE..." A Road Trip to Nat'l Parks - Vehicles & Automobilia Observed Along the Way - May 2022 May 17th excursion: This experience was incredible. The only thing bumpy about the adventure was the awesome outback feat of traversing boulders. This is the way to see even more of Zion. Our tour leader and driver, Murphy, was exceptional. His vast knowledge of flora and fauna and pesky tourists was enlightening and entertaining. We thoroughly recommend this excursion. It is more than worth it!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-2
Misleading overview and tour name
Olivia_F
, May 2022
My husband and I took the "Zion Jeep Tour Premium Package - Afternoon Tour" on Wednesday 18th May, 2022 and we were extremely disappointed. THIS TOUR DOES NOT GO INTO ZION NATIONAL PARK OR PROVIDE VIEWS SIMILAR TO THAT IN THE PARK. Instead we rode in the jeep on top of Gooseberry Mesa to a point that had nice views but not ones that were similar to that of Zion National Park. Nicole was a fantastic tour guide and did her job extremely well. She was knowledgeable about the plants in the area and was very engaging. She obviously cares about providing an enjoyable afternoon to her guests, the saving grace for us on this tour and the reason we are giving more than just one star. If you want to go on an off-road tour that drives on top of a mesa and learn about nature in that area then this is the tour for you. However, we did not understand from the tour overview this is what we would be doing (and the other couple on our tour expressed surprise when we were told we weren't going into the park too). We would rather have spent the day seeing Zion National Park on our own and in retrospect wish we had left once we learned we couldn't go into the park on the tour (which Nicole did tell us once we were in the jeep). We aren't familiar with the area and believed from the tour overview/name that even if we couldn't go into the actual park we would be able to "discover the rugged landscapes of Utah's Zion National Park" from outside of it. We were disappointed enough to complain to Viator and request a refund for this tour and were denied since you can now find a line stating that tours are not allowed in Zion National Park in the "additional info" and "what to expect" sections. We accept this, however, we still believe the overview and tour name are misleading and strongly imply there will be Zion National Park views and want to make sure that no one else makes the mistakes that we made.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Olivia, we at Zion Country Off-Road Tours do everything in our power to be up front with our guests about the fact that no off-road tour company goes inside Zion National Park, but the one thing we cannot do is make someone actually read the information presented to them. Because you did not read the information provided you did yourself a disservice and therefore are actually disappointed in yourself, not us...but because you won't adult up and take that responsibility you had the nerve to ask Viator for a refund and of course they denied that absurd request because they show the language that's been in our listing all along about our tour which, once again, lets the public know that Zion National Park doesn't allow off-road tour companies in its boundaries. Then you want to write a poor review due to your failure to read a basic tour description to try to make us look bad. Shame on you for your actions!
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Love the view and bumps in the road !
Jessica_G
, May 2022
Murphy was awesome ! My family and I had a blast. All the views are spectacular . We learned a lot about the area animals and vegetation. The main thing we learned was to LOVE those bumps in the road ! Thanks again Murphy!
star-5
Great keep tour in Zion national park
Ying_C
, Apr 2022
What a first great experience! The tour guide was very nice and knowledgeable. The whole 4 hour tour was fulfilled with fun.
star-3
We loved our driver, but were expecting more information about what we were seeing.
Gary_M
, Apr 2022
Talking with Murphy and the view from the upper mesa. I think I don't need a Jeep ride like that again- too bumpy.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Gary, we are very up front in our Zion Jeep Tour description that we are a true 4x4 off-road Jeep tour experience, so it is unfortunate that you did not read through what you were signing up for so you could've made a different choice. Our guides love the outdoors and Murphy is no exception; however, it is hard to keep sharing information if guests are unengaged which seems to be the case here. We at Zion Country Off-Road Tours truly hope you had a great time in our Southern Utah area and PLEASE read next time so you don't complain about a company unnecessarily.
star-5
Great afternoon excursion
Linda_R
, Oct 2021
Nicole was fantastic as our driver and guide. She knew an awful lot about the area. Really enjoyed the afternoon.
star-5
Off road and off the charts!
Shawn_C
, Aug 2021
Our driver / Guide, Nicole, was exceptional! She was friendly, enthusiastic and extremely safety conscious. Ride was rugged, remote and authentic. Lots of incredible vistas….truly enjoyed our adventure!
star-5
Great time on the jeep tour!
Nicholas_K
, Aug 2021
Great, knowledgeable, friendly and comical tour guide! Spectacular views! It was great to stop and get out to see more. Definitely recommend this. There were 3 of us and we never stopped laughing and cheering! So much fun!
star-5
Outstanding off road experience
Felix_G
, Jul 2021
Outstanding off roading experience. Driver took his time to show us the Canon and was very knowledgeable about the geology of the place, also gave us a lot of insight on different types of trees and fauna in the area
star-5
Make sure you ask for Randy.
John_B
, Jun 2021
Randy was the best. Very informative an a great driver. The views were amazing and the other couples were lots of fun.
star-3
Hot drab dusty sagebrush
Charles_H
, Jun 2021
Our guide Josh was very informative and did a great job. The trip itself was misrepresented and not what we expected. We were under the impression it would be an evening tour with sunset colors and that it would be in the park proper. Riding for 4 hours on a flat top Mesa with sagebrush not near the park was not what we anticipated. Very overpriced for what we got.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
We are extremely happy to hear you had a great time with Josh as he is amazing! Our tour starts at 3:30 and ends around 7:15 so I'm not sure how you got the impression it was a sunset tour. We describe our true off-road jeep tour very accurately and we stand behind the fact that we offer the best jeep tour this area has to offer. We also explicitly state in our tour description write-up that no off-road tour company is allowed within Zion National Park; unfortunately, it appears that you did not read the tour description prior to booking your tour which of course, we wish we had the power to ensure everyone does, but alas cannot. We hope you enjoy your vacation!!
star-5
Afternoon rest and ride.
Russell_H
, May 2021
We had a great afternoon on the Jeep tour. Randy grew up in the area and was extremely knowledgeable about the local flora, history, geology, etc. we laughed a lot, had a great time and learned a ton as well. Also had a lot of fun watching Randy wrestle with his door. Would highly recommend the tour for a great way to experience the wildness and beautify of the local backcountry outside the park - and to give your feet a rest from hiking the park.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-2
Fell Far Below Expectations!
Everett_K
, May 2021
It was a “nothing burger” and fell way below my expectations. I would discourage anyone from going on this tour.
icon Response from Host , May 2021
"Dusty" - - I do not show a reservation under this name so it is difficult for us as business owners to know if you truly went out on one of our jeep tours or not. It is unfortunate that you did not contact our office to discuss your concerns as we believe in customer service and listening to our guests. We have over 600 five-star TripAdvisor reviews and with that being said, you are the odd person out with your sub-par review. We are the only jeep tour company in this area that offers a true 4-wheel drive off-road sightseeing experience and we stand behind the fact that we offer a 5-star tour 7 days a week. We take our guests to see the most unique geological formations and to a stunning view of the western reef of Zion National Park and in between those awesome stops our guides visit with guests in the jeep about history, geology, flora/fauna, and wonderful off the cuff interaction. We do not have a script or a stop clock looming over the tour and instead customize discussions, etc. with our guests based on personalities of each and every tour.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Not what you think
Cheryl_S
, May 2021
Having an extremely sore back and an incredible headache. Not at all what we were expecting. Very little explicit canyon scenery. A lot of very rough riding. Would not recommend for over 65. Guide was more about himself and his experiences rather than engaging clients. Needs to avoid some sensitive comments. The mormon beliefs are not exactly embraced by everyone. Especially when all of the clients were out of state. We were here to see Zion NOT listen to his religious and political commentary as a captive audience. Normally we would get up and leave, but had no choice Will NOT use this service again
icon Response from Host , May 2021
Based on your review you absolutely did not do your research on what type of tour you truly wanted as we are very honest/upfront about the fact that we offer a true 4-wheel drive off-road experience with inherent bumps/bouncing and we inform everyone that no off-road tour company is allowed within Zion National Park boundaries. Guests need to be honest with themselves about their health limitations prior to booking any tour. As far as our guides comments regarding the Mormon belief…we absolutely mention the Mormon’s in a historically speaking aspect/education as they were the first settler’s of the State of Utah. How someone could choose to take offense to historical religious information provided is beyond our comprehension. If our guide is asked specific questions, our guide will speak to those, but we absolutely avoid in depth conversations regarding religious or political beliefs due to the volatility in this nation. We believe you ultimately didn’t like the 4-wheel drive aspect of the trail and therefore felt compelled to come up with other random reasons to hate this tour whereas others that were in your same Jeep/tour have left 5-star TripAdvisor reviews raving about how much fun they had.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Hard to Review
Ann_N
, May 2021
It is hard to review as about 20 minutes into the trip it had to be cancelled due to rain. However, we really weren't disappointed as Randy's driving was so fast and rough I don't think we would have enjoying the trip having to hang on to the grips the entire trip. We also found some of his language somewhat crude and unnecessary.
icon Response from Host , May 2021
We are unsure as to why you even posted this review as all our guide did was drive your group on the paved road (never exceeding any speed limits) to the trailhead where you all hunkered under a tree to determine if the rain storm was going to pass or if we would need to turn your group around and cancel the tour. We called and apologized for mother nature not cooperating and refunded your tour in full. Had you an issue with anything when I spoke to you that would've been the opportunity to have addressed any concerns you had, but you didn't. We are thankful we didn't take you on tour either as if you thought driving on the paved road was rough you would've never made it on our awesome 4-wheel drive off-road trail.
star-5
Jeep Off road tour
Jenny_P
, May 2021
Amazing! Best tour we've ever had! Thank you so Randy Hill! You are the best! Thank you, thank you, thank you!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Back roads tour
Mikhail_B
, May 2021
Our guide Murphy was excellent! Carefully avoided rough roads and gave us wonderful views and introduced us to historical insights. Best tour ! Thanks a lot
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great fun!
Ronnie_B
, May 2021
Loved our guide Murphy!!! Humorous and witty!! Fun trip!! Saw a roadrunner, a rattlesnake, A rabbit, and a Jack rabbit... also saw turkeys and cows! Jeep Tours can go in places cars can’t go!!! Fun, Fun, Fun! Happy
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Fun 4-wheeling experience
Natalie
, May 2021
Truly had a great 4-wheeling experience with our driver/guide, Randy. He was all about safety first, then showed his driving skills up Cry Baby Hill! He was also knowledgeable about the area’s vegetation. A very fun afternoon.
1 traveler found this review helpful

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Zion Jeep Tour Premium Package - Afternoon Tour
Likely to Sell Out
Zion Jeep Tour Premium Package - Afternoon Tour

star-4.5122

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$131.70

star-4.594

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$131.70

star-5355

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$104.00

star-5259

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$159.00

star-598

4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$129.00

star-5291

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$69.50

star-582

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$114.00

star-571

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$165.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations