Recent Searches
Clear

Skip the Line Venice Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica Tour - T23

star-4.569 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Venezia, Italy
Skip the Line Venice Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica Tour - T23
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

From $96.59

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon2 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 4 more

Overview

View two highlights of St. Mark’s Square in Venice without waiting in the main entrance lines on this walking tour. Bypass the ticket lines at the Doge’s Palace to see its gilded rooms, and cross the Bridge of Sighs to the prison building as you learn about the 1,000-year history of Venice’s republic. Then, tour St. Mark’s Basilica to admire the mosaics and treasures of this Byzantine masterpiece. Admission fees included.
  • Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica tour in Venice
  • Skip the long entrance lines at the palace and basilica
  • Explore the art-adorned palace and hear about the doges who ruled from here
  • Admission fees included
Saved to wishlist!
2-hour tour
Professional guide
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Poste Italiane , Calle larga de l'Ascension, 1255, 30124 Venezia VE, Italy

Departure Point: Calle Larga dell'Ascensione, Venice Address: Calle Larga dell'Ascensione, between Museum Correr and the Post Office

Saint Mark's Basilica , P.za San Marco, 328, 30124 Venezia VE, Italy
Meet your guide at the post office near St. Mark’s Square and stroll to the Doge’s Palace, the power base of the Venetian Republic for many centuries.

Admire the exquisite Gothic exterior, and bypass the main entrance lines with your skip-the-line ticket. Pass through security, and tour the opulent rooms, adorned with masterpieces by artists like Titian and Tintoretto. As you explore, listen as your guide tells tales of Venice’s doges and their ruling councils, charting the history of the 1,000-year republic and those who shaped its fortunes.

See the stunning gold staircase as you learn its history, and follow in the steps of prisoners who once crossed the famous Bridge of Sighs to their incarceration. Hear about prisoners like Giacomo Casanova and others, and view the bleak prison itself.

Next, head for St. Mark’s Basilica, another St. Mark’s Square showpiece. Admire the ornate façade, and pass the main lines for a comprehensive tour of this Byzantine masterwork.

See the gold mosaics and marble floor inlays, and view highlights including the gold, gem-encrusted Pala d'Oro alterpiece and the icons and riches in the Treasury.

Your tour then finishes in St. Mark’s Square when your guide departs.
Itinerary
Pass By:  
Piazza San Marco
The principal public square of Venice
Stop At:  
Doge's Palace
The Doge's Palaceis a palace built in Venetian Gothic style, and one of the main landmarks of the city of Venice in northern Italy. The palace was the residence of the Doge of Venice, the supreme authority of the former Venetian Republic, opening as a museum in 1923. Today, it is one of the 11 museums run by the Fondazione Musei Civici di Venezia.
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Included
Pass By:  
Ponte dei Sospiri
The Bridge of Sighs (Italian and Venetian: Ponte dei Sospiri) is a bridge in Venice, Italy. The enclosed bridge is made of white limestone, has windows with stone bars, passes over the Rio di Palazzo, and connects the New Prison (Prigioni Nuove) to the interrogation rooms in the Doge's Palace. It was designed by Antonio Contino, whose uncle Antonio da Ponte designed the Rialto Bridge, and it was built in 1600.
Stop At:  
Basilica di San Marco
The Patriarchal Cathedral Basilica of Saint Mark , commonly known as Saint Mark's Basilica, is the cathedral church of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Venice, northern Italy. It is the most famous of the city's churches and one of the best known examples of Italo-Byzantine architecture.
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • May be operated by a multi-lingual guide
  • No shorts or sleeveless tops allowed. Knees and shoulders MUST be covered for both men and women. You may risk refused entry if you fail to comply with these dress requirements
  • Because of security checks you might experience a line to get inside the Doge Palace and St. Mark's Basilica. You will skip the line for non-reserved tickets but security check is mandatory.
  • Maximum of 25 people on each tour
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 35 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Very Viva Venice Srl
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Skip the Line Venice Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica Tour - T23?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Skip the Line Venice Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica Tour - T23.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Good tour and well worth using skip the line as it was a very busy day." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
69 Reviews
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 69 reviews
star-5
Great tour!
Lina_P
, Jun 2022
Our tour guide was absolutely wonderful. She had a large group on a very hot day and managed to keep us all engaged and connected. Caring, thoughtful and well versed!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Too much for us!
kx9fpq5nhn
, Jun 2022
This trip involved a LOT of walking and steep narrow stairs that were not included in the description of the tour. The guide knew her material but she got out ahead of the group and described things around HER and not the rest of the group. She was also hard to understand at times. It was hot and we skipped the Doges Palace. We are in our early 70s and in reasonable physical condition but this tour was too much for us.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Next-level facts!
David_H
, Jun 2022
Our tour guide was astounding! She has lived in Venice her entire life and added astonishing details and facts to everything we saw. It was like we were in a college-level lecture “in the field!”
star-2
We did not get taken to...
Jennifer_H
, Jun 2022
We did not get taken to the basilica. This was not as advertised. We do not recommend. We have reached out to viator but have not held back.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Jennifer We are sorry for the inconvinient but the Basilica closed before the time. You should have received the refund due from Viator ...
star-5
Venice
reynaldo_g
, Jun 2022
Beautiful place to visit, we enjoyed every moment. The tour person was very nice. We will definitely visit again.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you for your comment
star-3
Late start
John_K
, Jun 2022
The sites were amazing but we got off to an annoying start. The tour stressed right be on time but when we arrived we had ti stand around for 25 minutes waiting for "2" people to arrive---who never arrived. We started the tour almost 30 minutes after the posted time. Seems if someone is late making the rest of the tour wait is not the best guest experience.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
We are sorry for the late starting. We ask clients to be at the meeting point 10 minutes before the departure time to start on time
star-5
great tour... saved lots of time not waiting in lines
Kevin_O
, May 2022
great tour.. very knowledgeable tour guide.... easy to hear with the provided audio remote/earpiece..
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for tour comment
star-5
Every basilica is...
magaly_b
, May 2022
Every basilica is different , but Saint marks was astounding. I enjoyed seeing such a great piece of art. It reminded me a bit if the Haga Sophia in Istanbul . The Doge palace was a nice experience. Our guide Cristina was very knowledgeable . She explained what happened in each room during those times.We enjoyed this tour and learned very much .
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for tour comment
star-5
Must do for your visit to Venice.
Michael_W
, May 2022
Rosella was a fantastic tour guide. She explained the significant of the Doge, the Basilica and the how important Venice was back in the day.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for tour comment
star-5
Loved this tour!
Karl_K
, May 2022
Our guide, Barbara was very knowlegeable and interesting. She did a great job of explaining things to us in a way that brought history alive!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for tour comment
star-4
Nice factory and quiet island.
Anna_B
, May 2022
This was a long afternoon in transportation to get to Murano. We were met by a very nice guide but he wasn’t very informative about Murano or it’s history. Tour did not include water taxi over or back. Meeting up with guide was a very long walk over to water taxi and the return trip was very long wait and overcrowded. The glass factory was great and not busy at all. Nice visit once we got to Murano.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for tour comment
star-5
We both enjoyed the...
Edward_G
, May 2022
We both enjoyed the expertise in art, culture, and history that our guide shared - and tour of San Marco.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank tou for your comment
star-5
Amazing beauty best seen inside!
Kelli_P
, Apr 2022
Be prepared for change with these locations!! They hold meetings, ceremonies, etc that could have only 2 days notice. But with that, the tour group was AMAZING at trying to find toys that worked in my schedule. We went from the combo tour, to one, and then back to 2 just in a different order - around my other tours already scheduled. As for the tours themselves.... breath taking beauty with history. A must see! There is a lot of walking and steps throughout Venice and this particular tour is no different. Mobility is important so if standing and steep stairs are difficult, I do not recommend. Otherwise, the guides are full of knowledge and are so passionate in their delivery. It is a true joy to learn from them.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for your comment.
star-5
Excellent
Joseph_D
, Apr 2022
Diana was a great guide and did lots to ensure my 7 year old daughter felt included in the tour group. Very informative and interesting tour and was great to be able to skip the long queues for both attractions.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for your comment
star-5
Doge and Basilica
Robin_S
, Apr 2022
What a wonderful experience and such beauty! Truly magnificent. The audio could be a little better to hear and understand. But overall great!!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for tour comment
star-5
Very Informative
Joleena_L
, Apr 2022
This was such a great tour and a tour guide was very informative and enthusiastic. It really made the experience so much better. It was a little bit confusing finding the spot to meet the tour guide. There is a little hut in front of the post office where you show them your confirmation. Then they point you to a big group where they are passing out the headsets and they will give you a group number. You tell the guy with the headset what group number you are so he can set it up for you and you wait around for a guide to show up holding the sign for your group. It was a little bit chaotic with all worked out in the end and I would definitely use this company again.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for tour comment We are working to improove the meeting point
star-2
Buyer Beware--Terrible Audio
Justin_H
, Apr 2022
Put simply: Not worth the price. Quick cons: Terrible audio equipment coupled with english that is heavily accented, resulting in tour where one seldom understands what is being said. As other reviews have mentioned, this tour uses audio equipment that makes a tin can and string look advanced. The setup provides only one earbud per person and the microphone used by the guide picks up EVERYTHING excellently, except the guide's voice. The result is a muddled audio experience that is somewhere between a bad AM radio and having a water hose sprayed directly into your ear. In fact, two people left midway through the tour. While I can't say for certain why they left, judging by their behavior they were not enjoying the experience--presumably for the same reasons listed above. I should have read other reviews, I am not alone in my experience. Of course technical difficulties can arise anywhere anytime, but if this was a known issue they have a fix for, then that should be advertised when they hand the devices out. Except they don't have a fix for it, it's simply a known issue they refuse to address. This tour's only redeeming quality was that you get to "skip the line", which really only made a minor difference. The tour guide was also nice, though not interactive. And while her English was leagues better than my Italian will ever be, that doesn't necessarily mean it is the right fit for a guided tour where even the most precise and unaccented English would be difficult to understand with the given audio devices. FINALLY, I requested a partial refund after the tour. The refund I requested wasn't obscene(less than 50%). But it was flat out refused by the tour company. THEY WOULD ACTUALLY PREFER TO HAVE A BAD REVIEW, their words precisely. Ok then, here you go. I will be initiating a charge-back through my credit card company for failure to deliver services/misrepresentation of services(the details never mention their audio device situation), and I encourage anyone disappointed by this tour and tour company to do the same.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for your review we always want to know what clients think and what really happened. We do not give any refund for having a good review it looks like a blakmail.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Highly recommend. It was like attending an educational comedy show.
FannyCarmen_L
, Mar 2022
At first my husband was skeptical and did not want to be part of a tour. However he loved the tour gentleman Mark. Mark was awesome, hilarious and very informative. I highly recommend, he kept us intrigued and entertained.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
We love to hear that you enjoyed the tour. Thank you for tour comment
star-5
Exhausting
KIM_H
, Mar 2022
Being in Venice I am slightly handicapped so it was a little hard getting around and very many strps
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thank you for tour comment
star-4
Beautiful History
Tom_V
, Mar 2022
St. Mark’s Basilica , the Doge’s Palace and prison were impressive. The guide went quickly through the Basilica. I felt I may have missed some things but overall it was a good experience.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thank for your comment

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations