Recent Searches
Clear

Venice: Grand Canal by Gondola with commentary

|
Venezia, Italy
Venice: Grand Canal by Gondola with commentary

From $36.08

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon50 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 7 more

Overview

Traverse the canals of Venice aboard a traditional gondola with your very own gondolier. Float along narrow waterways and hidden passages, admiring the beauty of one of Italy's most magical cities. Pass beneath centuries-old bridges and take in famous attractions such as St. Marks' Bell Tower and San Giorgio Island from the coziness of your flat-bottomed boat.
  • A gondola ride along Venice's waterways
  • Savor one of Venice's most sought-after and romantic experiences
  • Navigate secluded passages and beneath centuries-old bridges en route to the Grand Canal
  • See some of the city's top sights from a completely new vantage point
  • An ideal way to explore Venice, whether you're a couple, family or solo traveler
Saved to wishlist!
Shared gondola ride with live guide (50 minutes tour including 30 minutes of gondola ride
PRIVATE GONDOLA RIDE 30 MINUTES (if chosen) without live commentary
Shared gondola: live commentary in Italian & English.
Shared gondola: commentary by app in German, French, Spanish, Japanese, Hindi, Russian & Chinese.
Hotel pickup
Audio devices
Earphones
  • Venice Tours Assistance (NEWSTAND IN SAN MARCO) , Calle larga de l'Ascension, 1257, 30124 Venezia VE, Italy

    SHARED GONDOLA RIDE: With Piazza San Marco and the arches of Museo Correr at your back and the Poste Italiane in front of you, look on the left and you will see a big grey newsstand. The newsstand is between Fendi Boutique and Poste Italiane (Post Office). The guide will have a sign “Gondola Tour”.

  • Gondola Bauer , Calle Larga XXII Marzo, 2091/b, 30124 Venezia VE, Italy

    PRIVATE GONDOLA RIDE: GO to the Gondola Bauer landing stage. If you arrive at the Hotel Bauer, you will see the landing stage in front of it. Go to gondoliers and show the ticket

  • This activity will end right where it started.
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Each gondola can host maximum 5 people; the seat aboard cannot be chosen but will be assigned by the gondolier depending of guests weight.
    • The Gondola Ride does not operate in case of exceptionally bad weather or high/low tide (in these cases it can be postponed the days after otherwise it will be refunded)
    • The itinerary may change in the event of wind or bad weather
    • The guide will be only on one gondola, the participants on the others gondola will listen to her/him with the audio-devices
    • The live commentary will be only in English and Italian. The commentary on German, French, Spanish, Japanese, Chinese, Hindi, and Russian will be provided by mobile app downloaded on the own devices.
    • Near public transportation
    • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
    • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
    • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
    • The live guide IS NOT included in the PRIVATE OPTION
    • Please be at the meeting point 15 minutes before the departure time
    • The customers health is the most important matter for us, the tour operates in according to the Covid-19 National directives in order to guarantee the experiences in a safe environment.
    • All customer touchpoints are frequently cleaned, and the tour will leave with small groups.
    • Most travelers can participate
    • We only ask the kindness to bring the own mask in case you need to wear it.
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 5 travelers
    • OPERATED BY VENICE TOURS S.R.L.
    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

    Learn more about cancellations.

    The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
    Q:
    What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Venice: Grand Canal by Gondola with commentary?
    A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

    • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
    • Face masks required for guides in public areas
    See all safety measures taken by Venice: Grand Canal by Gondola with commentary.
    Q:
    What is the policy on sanitization during Venice: Grand Canal by Gondola with commentary?
    A:The policies on sanitization are:

    • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
    • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
    • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
    • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
    See all safety measures taken by Venice: Grand Canal by Gondola with commentary.
    Q:
    What is the social distancing policy during Venice: Grand Canal by Gondola with commentary?
    A:The policy on social distancing is:

    • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
    See all safety measures taken by Venice: Grand Canal by Gondola with commentary.
    Q:
    What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Venice: Grand Canal by Gondola with commentary?
    A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

    • Guides required to regularly wash hands
    • Regular temperature checks for staff
    • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
    See all safety measures taken by Venice: Grand Canal by Gondola with commentary.

    Traveler Photos

    See More
    See More

    Traveler Tips


    • "We arrived early and were allowed to start early which was very helpful on a hot day." See review

    Reviews

    4.0
    star-4
    387 Reviews

    Reviews by Viator travelers

    Showing 1-10 of 387 reviews
    star-2
    Disappointing tour guide! Overloaded gondola
    RebaJean_w
    , May 2022
    The meeting point was not clear, the tour guide was not customer friendly and because we arrived a few minutes late, she said she would not receive a head set and that we would just do without. After complaining, she reached out from her bag and provided the head sets for the 2 of us. We were loaded with 5 passengers on the gondola sitting uncomfortably with a heavy set man next to me, and our gondola was clearly overloaded. More importantly, the headsets did not work for our tour group and the unfriendly tour guide did not offer us any tour tips during our gondola ride. Our group complained to her but she was not accountable at all and collected our head sets. All in all, it was a quick 30 min gondola ride next to man rubbing my legs. Book a private gondola ride and hope for a friendly tour guide.
    star-1
    Don’t book this tour!
    Steve_B
    , May 2022
    We paid $111.00 for the adults and the website says shared ride. We had no idea that they would add 2 more people to our gondola. The man and woman say in chairs on side of the inside of the boat. He was rather large and totally blocked my view. Our daughters view was blocked by her father. We then found that e we could have taken a private gondola ride (not a sandola ) for $80.00 as walk up street price. Lesson learned! Plus the gondolier yelled back and forth with no consideration for his customers. The guide started at the beginning of the trip that he would let us start our trip without being on the Headset and would give us updates in a few minutes. The ride was about 30 minutes and about 20 minutes in I decided to turn my machine off and on and he was talking. All 5 of us in our boat missed the commentary as no one told us we would have to cycle the machine off and on. So save your money and book a gondola there.
    star-2
    Rip off...
    Ann_L
    , May 2022
    We paid for 50 minute ride with commentary. What we got was a 25 minute ride with a guide who said maybe 10 words, merely pointing out a few famous houses. I've been to Italy several times before and knew that most of these gondola rides were rip offs but I thought scheduling through Viator would be different. It wasn't. Take the ride but keep your expectations low and expect to get ripped off...
    star-4
    It was ok
    Janet_G
    , May 2022
    The ride was nice but sometimes hard to hear the commentator. She talked about buildings that we were not there yet. So didn’t know what she was talking about (guide was on a different gondola)
    star-5
    Excellent, informative,...
    Marea_J
    , May 2022
    Excellent, informative, amusing guide. Careful gondolier. Terrific experience. Would highly recommend. Thank you.
    icon Response from Host , May 2022
    Thanks for your kind review
    star-1
    Not worth the money
    Jason_L
    , May 2022
    This was notnworth the money at all. This gondola ride was just that, N amusement park ride. We were in a train of gondolas along a pre determined route. We spent as much time waiting for another gondola ahead of us to move than we did moving. This was such a disappointment and will not use this again nor recommend it.
    star-3
    Tourist Trap
    Paul_V
    , May 2022
    We enjoyed the relaxation of this trip at the end of a long day of tours, but it was definitely a tourist trap and not what it was advertised to be. We were supposed to have this at a time we could see sunset, and it was supposed to be 50 minutes. Our person kept us in small channels, so we didn’t see sunset, and he was busy talking to another driver and we were done 20 minutes earlier than we were supposed to be.
    icon Response from Host , May 2022
    Dear Guest, we are deeply sorry for your personal comment, please consider that the experience is composed by 20 minutes of walking tour followed by 30 minutes of gondola ride, the total duration of the experience is 50 minutes. At your disposal for further information. Regards.
    star-2
    Commentary not heard
    Jessie_M
    , May 2022
    The gondola ride was fine but we couldn't hear any of the guide's commentary. She mentioned the gondola we were riding iwas probably too far for the range of the headset. Disappointed.
    star-2
    Blah
    Ashley_S
    , May 2022
    Was hoping for some fun facts about Venice. Our guide didn’t say one single word. Was way shorter than was advertised. Blah.
    star-2
    Not as advertised
    Samuel_E
    , May 2022
    Not as advertised. Only 25 minutes. No need to pick language for the guide because they didn’t even talk. Unfortunately they are running a constant assembly line of Gondolas from that location. You are just in the water in line with a bunch of other gondolas. Not a very fun experience. If you want somehting private find a gondola in the city that’s alone. Better price too
    icon Response from Host , May 2022
    Dear Guest, we are deeply sorry for your personal comment, please consider that the experience is composed by 20 minutes of walking tour followed by 30 minutes of gondola ride, the total duration of the experience is 50 minutes. At your disposal for further information. Regards.
    star-5
    Excellente
    RomuloL_C
    , May 2022
    Crossing the canal and low overhang bridge. Highly recommended tour to everyone. The gondola operator is great and friendly it’s make our gondola ride a very memorable experience.
    icon Response from Host , May 2022
    Thanks for your kind review
    star-4
    Great time but too quiet
    Kathryn_J
    , May 2022
    A gondola ride is a must when visiting Venice! My only complaint about this one was the awkward silence. I would have loved to hear about the history surrounding us or listened to a beautiful sunset serenade. Next time I might look into a private ride with my loved ones to ensure this more immersive experience.
    icon Response from Host , May 2022
    Thanks for the review. Please consider that before and during the gondola ride, the guide explains interesting curiosities about the history of Venice. At your disposal for any further information. Regards.
    star-5
    Well worth it, enjoyable!
    Delia_W
    , May 2022
    Nice little trip, a great way to have a gondola ride without paying the earth! Guide very knowledgeable and friendly but let us enjoy the tranquility of the small side canals. We'll worth it and enjoyable.
    icon Response from Host , May 2022
    Thanks for your kind review
    star-4
    Great Tour!
    Kirsty_G
    , May 2022
    A great tour! The only reason for 4 stars is because we lost the commentary for pretty much the whole gondola ride as we were on the last gondola and the guide was in the middle. Other then that it was great!
    icon Response from Host , May 2022
    Thanks for the review. We take note of your personal comment to improve our product. Regards.
    star-3
    Enjoyable gondola ride but minimal commentary
    Sondra_S
    , May 2022
    Beautiful gondola ride at dusk with good driver. No commentary though so seemed overpriced for 30-minute ride.
    icon Response from Host , May 2022
    Dear Guest, we are sorry for your personal comment, please consider that on product page it's clearly written that the private gondola ride does not include the commentary. At your disposal for any further information. Regards.
    star-5
    Wonderful gondola
    Katrina_M
    , May 2022
    Wonderful activity! No lines to wait even during a busy weekend. Our ride was interesting and relaxing. Perfect iconic Venice experience!
    icon Response from Host , May 2022
    Thanks for your kind review
    star-1
    Awful
    Gillianbelnavis
    , May 2022
    This was awful! The tour started 25 minutes late which would have made us miss our bus and the tour guide was so rude about it. We politely asked if maybe we could do the gondola part or the tour first since we were there early and he told us he couldn’t help us and that we could opt to not do the tour abs ask viator for a refund and now viator won’t refund us! NEVER book this
    star-4
    Nice, quiet experience but consider booking direct
    Trex_F
    , May 2022
    The gondola was a nice experience, expecially once we were out in the main canal. I did find it was only £80 euros and no queues in the morning so booking through the app was not great value
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    star-3
    Not what was promised.
    Drmich11
    , May 2022
    While we saw some lovely scenery, this advertised a 50 minute ride which was half that. We also had a driver who was learning and he ran into a boat and had a number of mishaps along the way. Overall, more disappointed than satisfied.
    icon Response from Host , May 2022
    Dear Guest, we are sorry for your personal comment, please consider that the tour is composed by 20 minutes of walking tour followed by 30 minutes of gondola ride, the total duration of the experience is 50 minutes. At your disposal for further information. Regards.
    star-5
    Very atmospheric
    Stephen_G
    , May 2022
    Sylvie was very kind - we had got lost and turned up a little late but she still accommodated us and made our gondola experience very special. Thank you, Sylvie
    icon Response from Host , May 2022
    Thanks for your kind review

    Compare Similar Experiences

    Current
    Venice: Grand Canal by Gondola with commentary
    Venice: Grand Canal by Gondola with commentary

    star-4364

    50 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $36.08

    star-31

    1 hour 30 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $76.53

    star-3.5333

    30 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $38.81

    star-3.541

    30 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $44.83

    star-3.5132

    30 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $38.66

    star-4654

    1 hour

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $86.37

    star-3.54

    2 hours 30 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $92.93

    star-3.52900

    N/A

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $49.20

    star-51

    1 hour 30 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $97.31

    Explore Similar Things to Do