Recent Searches
Clear

Savannah Stroll: Guided Sightseeing & History Walking Tour of Savannah

star-4.5274 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Savannah, United States
Savannah Stroll: Guided Sightseeing & History Walking Tour of Savannah
LIKELY TO SELL OUT

From $24.99 / person

Price details
Lowest Price Guarantee
1 Adult
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants
No times available
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more

Safety measures
icon1 hour 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Immerse yourself in the history and beauty of Savannah on this walking tour. The city is full of historic sights, beautiful squares, churches, antebellum homes and great shopping and dining. Travel back in time to learn about Savannah's colonial past, as well as its roles in the American Revolution and Civil War, as you explore the Historic District, Reynolds Square, and more.
  • Historical walking tour of Savannah
  • Explore the Savannah Historic District, one of the largest National Historic Landmark Districts in the US
  • Visit historic sites, churches and beautiful squares such as Reynolds Square
  • Learn about the city’s fascinating colonial history from your guide
  • Hear stories about Savannah’s role in the American Revolution and Civil War

Additional Details

Tour departs at 10am
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
Learning about Savannah's fascinating history
Seeing the history and culture firsthand
Hearing about the best shopping and dining spots
Getting an overview of this beautiful city
Gratuities
Hotel pickup and drop-off
24 Habersham St , 24 Habersham St, Savannah, GA 31401, USA

Departure Point: Company: Savannah Walks Historic District North Address: Warren Square (Congress and Habersham Streets)

This activity will end right where it started.
Reynolds Square is where you'll meet your guide to kick off your walking tour of Savannah, nicknamed the Garden City or Hostess City of the South. In this square, you'll find some of the most interesting historic buildings in the city, as it was the center of colonial government in the 1700s.

Admire the park-like squares, tree canopies and floral landscapes of this pretty city as you take a leisurely stroll through the streets and squares of the downtown area and Old Savannah. Your guide will share stories about Savannah’s role as a strategic port city during the American Revolution and Civil War before ending your tour back at Reynolds Square.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Cathedral of St. John the Baptist
Your 1.5-hour walking tour of Savannah begins in Reynolds Square, which contains some of the most interesting historical buildings in the city. Your guide will explain how this square was the center of colonial government in the 1700s, and originally held the House of Assembly, where the first reading of the Declaration of Independence in Georgia took place. Travel back in time as you enjoy a leisurely stroll through the streets and squares of Old Savannah and the downtown area, which includes the Savannah Historic District, the Savannah Victorian Historic District and 22 park-like squares. This area is one of the largest National Historic Landmark Districts in the US. You’ll be offered views of canopies of trees, floral landscapes and historic buildings as you hear stories about Savannah’s role as a strategic port city during the American Revolution and Civil War. Your tour ends back at Reynolds Square, leaving you with a great introduction to the Hostess City of the South.
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Colonial Park Cemetery
Colonial Park Cemetery
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Johnson Square
Johnson Square
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Warren Square
Warren Square
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Oglethorpe Square
Oglethorpe Square
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Chippewa Square
Chippewa Square
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Green-Meldrim House
Green-Meldrim House
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Juliette Gordon Low's Birthplace
Juliette Gordon Low's Birthplace
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Savannah Historic District
Savannah Historic District
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Owens-Thomas House & Slave Quarters
Owens-Thomas House & Slave Quarters
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Olde Pink House
Olde Pink House
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Andrew Low House
Andrew Low House
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Savannah Walks
Savannah Walks
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Independent Presbyterian Church
Independent Presbyterian Church
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund.
  • Comfortable walking shoes are recommended
  • Pets welcome
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Savannah Walks
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Savannah Stroll: Guided Sightseeing & History Walking Tour of Savannah?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Savannah Stroll: Guided Sightseeing & History Walking Tour of Savannah.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Savannah Stroll: Guided Sightseeing & History Walking Tour of Savannah?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Savannah Stroll: Guided Sightseeing & History Walking Tour of Savannah.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "This tour allows you to get up close and see the city for yourself Recommend am easy for walking." See review
  • "It was ok but I prefer the Hop on Hop off bus." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
274 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 274 reviews
star-5
Informative
Sharilyn_M
, Oct 2021
We enjoyed our tour despite the off and on rain. Our guide was polite and friendly. Appreciated his knowledge of the history. Very informative.
star-5
Very nice walking tour. ...
Cheri_H
, Oct 2021
Very nice walking tour. Saw several historic sights. Very good tour for helping you get around the city.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thank you for the wonderful review! We certainly hope you will visit Savannah again!
star-5
Excellent-highly recommended
Julie_H
, Sep 2021
I wanted an introduction to Savannah, by foot and reasonably short. This tour was perfect-I have a good feel now for Historic Savannah and can continue exploring on my own. Thanks for all the stories and history!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you for the kind review and we are delighted you enjoyed the tour! It’s was an unexpected treat to see you on the street today and we got to talk again!!
star-1
Don’t be parking !
Tara_W
, Aug 2021
Drove from Ohio and was so excited to show my 10yr old son the walking tour of savannah. I booked this ahead and was staying in hotel - had to find parking as it is unusual parking via maps and navigation. No parking until getting on the 4th floor. Made contact with guide who said go east” like I know East! With a 10 yr old oh let me get my compass out. Or look at the sun. Then was told to come to ugly white parking garage which was where?? Towards what?? So frustrating when you don’t know exactly where you are or what direction you are. So make sure you know your LATITUDE AND LONGITUDE AND 30 min ahead for parking. I’m sure I won’t be refunded.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
In our 25 years of giving tours, we have made every effort to make sure every guest arrives successfully at the meeting location. 99 guests out of 100 do arrive successfully. I’m not sure how a directionally challenged experience translates into a bad review. We made every effort to get the guest to the meeting location. But at some point, the guide has to start the tour!
star-3
Walking tour
Chris_D
, Jul 2021
Tour was ok, but I think I’d been better off exploring the city on my own. Guide was having a hard time talking over the traffic
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you for the review! In response to your review, I think you’ll find that even the trolley tour drivers with their microphones and headsets have a hard time being heard on busy weekends. Walking tour guides are not allowed to use amplification equipment but all of our guides are well trained in voice projection and in seeking out more quiet areas to address their groups. If it is hard to hear a guide it is always a good idea to move towards the front of the group to hear better or even ask the guide to repeat what they said. They will always be delighted to do so!
star-1
Bad experience with stroll tour of Savannah
Heather_G
, Jul 2021
The tour guide was late, he did not review much history but went into great detail about gory details of death and the Marshall House experience a friend of his had. He kept saying I forgot my water until one of the attendees bought him a bottle of water. He kept talking about having to speak over diesel trucks and sometimes went in circles with what he was saying. My son and I thought about walking away, but didn’t in the hope that it would improve. I took this same tour back in March with my BF and had a fabulous experience. I’m disappointed. Maybe this guy is used to giving a ghost tour, but he seemed uninterested and hungover. He didn’t wear any type of identification - but used his phone to appropriately identify attendees.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
We suspect you are reviewing a guide but not one of ours. We do not have a guide that meets this description. I did look up you reservation from March and you took the tour with me. I’m delighted you had a fabulous time. But we have no idea who this guide is and would never hire a guide that would meet this description.
star-4
Very good
Andrea_S
, Jul 2021
Thank you to our guide he was courteous and knowledgeable. We got to learn much more about Savannah and its history.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you so much for the kind review!
star-5
5 Stars!
Claire_L
, Jul 2021
Had an excellent time on our tour! Brad was extremely knowledgeable about the history of Savannah and was very engaging. Highly recommend this tour!!!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you for the kinds words. It was an absolute pleasure giving your tour. Please come back and visit again!!
star-5
Nice stroll
Richard_H
, Jul 2021
Some of the more gruesome aspects of life and death in Savannah. Learned about the history of some of the unusual characters there too.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you for the nice review! Savannah certainly has its share of gruesome aspects!
star-2
So-so experience
Chris
, Jun 2021
The guide seemed to be knowledgable, but had difficulty conveying his thoughts. Some of the stories shared were a bit gruesome; better for a ghost tour than a Sunday morning walk.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Thank you for the review! I’m not entirely clear about your guide having difficulty conveying his thoughts. Some guides do choose to pause before changing historic topics. Perhaps that’s what you experienced. The Savannah Stroll does include some Civil War material at certain points of interest. There isn’t much about the Civil War that wasn’t violent and gruesome and much of Savannah’s historic district is built upon mass graves of Yellow Fever victims.

Product code: 5897STROLL

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Savannah Stroll: Guided Sightseeing & History Walking Tour of Savannah
Likely to Sell Out
Savannah Stroll: Guided Sightseeing & History Walking Tour of Savannah

star-4.5274

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$24.99

star-5154

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$30.77

star-5811

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$25.65

star-526

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$18.47

star-5520

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$30.00

star-4180

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$24.99

star-518

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$15.00

star-5223

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$30.00

star-3.5183

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$24.99

Explore Similar Things to Do