Recent Searches
Clear

Great Salt Lake Guided Bus Tour from Salt Lake City

|
Salt Lake City, United States
Great Salt Lake Guided Bus Tour from Salt Lake City

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon2 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

You can’t travel to Utah without visiting the Great Salt Lake. Don’t miss the chance to explore the shores one of Utah’s most fascinating natural attractions. On this tour, you’ll experience the unique wonders of this inland sea—and have the chance to float on the lake as well. Packed with insider information and local lore, the bus tour covers a distance of 50 miles (80km) and is lead by an engaging, local guide.
  • Bus tour of the Great Salt Lake in Utah
  • Enjoy an intro to the area from a knowledgeable guide
  • Treat the kids with a fun tour for all the family
  • Take a dip in the Great Salt Lake, if you wish
  • Visit the wetlands habitat to learn about the local birdlife
  • Make use of a hotel pickup and drop-off service
Saved to wishlist!
State Park Entrance Fees
Air-conditioned vehicle
Professional Tour Guide
Gratuities
15-20% tip suggested. Like waiters, tour guides rely on tips to make a living
Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown , 215 W S Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101, USA

At 2:19 PM meet outside the main lobby doors of Radisson Downtown hotel (215 W South Temple, Salt Lake City) and watch for the CITY SIGHTS tour bus to arrive curbside on the street. Parking is available for a small fee across the street.

2:30 PM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • This is a land-based tour, only. It does not travel on a boat on the lake. Currently there are no tour boats that operate on Great Salt Lake
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Folding wheelchairs and walkers may be accommodated but you must notify us by email at least 24 hours before the tour
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers
  • OPERATED BY City Sights, Inc.
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "There are a lot of little flies as others comment but they are harmless and do not bother you , they stay close to the sand." See review
  • "You can rinse off at a hose outside the gift shop." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
94 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 94 reviews
star-1
Not worth going on
Sara_L
, Jun 2022
The driver was great. Very nice and tried to make something out of a very underwhelming tour. The smell was terrible and the area is very industrial. I wish we would have gone to park city or antelope island instead.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
This Lake is unique! No doubt about it! Desert lakes are extremely rare in the World and they are typically only beautiful to photographers and environmentalists. Some folks love mountains, tropical zones, etc. but other travelers love to see rare deserts, salt flats, and strange looking landscapes. Thanks for you comments.
star-5
A must do trip to the Saltlake
Flint_P
, Apr 2022
The Tourguide was amazing and super sweet. She knew a lot about the area, I seam in the Saltlake and she even had a little surprise!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
We appreciate your comments. The Great Salt Lake is the "Dead Sea of America", but it is four times larger. We are happy you enjoyed it
star-4
The lake is unique
KSun
, Apr 2022
Captain Valerie was very enthuiastic to introduce the ecology and history of the Salt lake. The weather that influenced the walter, was cloudy.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
We’re so glad you were able to join our tour with Captain Valerie and thank you for taking the time to leave a review!
star-5
I recommend it.
LaurieH_L
, Oct 2021
The guided tour was well organized, on time and fun. The driver/guide was professional, knowledgeable and made the tour a wonderful experience.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the overview tour of our city. Thank you so very much
star-5
Great Tour
Donna_T
, Oct 2021
Seeing and hearing about the lake Very informative tour guide Loved seeing antelopes on the way It was mating season so we seen 1 mail with 5 females
star-5
Excellent tour & tour guide
John_F
, Oct 2021
We enjoyed the tour of the Great Salt Lake , our tour guide was very knowledgeable and made the tour interesting for everyone.
star-1
it was a bad bus trip to a smelly lake and a dirty outdated visitors center!
KAREN_B
, Oct 2021
at the very least this should be combined with an additional site the filth and order was so bad no one even tried going is water .Description on your website is totally misleading!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Sorry you are one of the few people that frowns on this part of the Earth's creation and marvel. You kinda missed the point of the whole tour. It is not the most beautiful lake in the World, that is for certain. Mother nature gets blamed for a lot of things that are not aesthetically pleasing to all humans. Everything described on the website is accurate and most people are fascinated to see things like the "dead sea of America". People go floating in the lake all the time. It just depends on how you look at Mother nature's creations.
star-5
Great tour guide. Just need a little more time
Dinali_N
, Sep 2021
Michael was very entertaining & knowledgeable. Wish we had a little more time at the lake. It takes some time to walk down to the lake, float, walk back up & change. The shower is a bit far away from where the lake is. And there was no shower to be found. The bus was almost leaving. So if you plan to use this time to float in the lake as that's what the tour is for, then you have to make it super quick.
star-4
Great Excursion But Mask Aversion
Stephanie_O
, Aug 2021
Giving this tour a good review due to knowledge and friendliness of guide. Although I enjoyed this small group and van excursion, I felt uncomfortable and unsafe as my spouse and I were the only individuals who wore masks.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
This pandemic does present issues. We follow all government regulations for our industry in our local and state laws. We know there are varying opinions and we struggle to keep everyone happy. We will take your comments to heart and continue to do our best work in this environment. Thanks for you input.
star-5
The Great Salt Lake Experience
Anne_B
, Aug 2021
The lady who led the tour was very informative and funny. She was also very helpful to all the passengers. A great trip to The Great Salt Lake.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Thanks, we are glad you and all the others loved the tour. One person misread the tour itinerary and as a result didn't enjoy the tour as much as everyone else.
star-5
We really enjoyed this tour. The guide was great!
Daniel_W
, Aug 2021
Best part was the Lake and walking in the water! The tour guide shared a lot of interesting information. The bus was comfortable and people friendly.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
So glad you enjoyed the Great Salt Lake. Because it is desert all around, many guests are a little disappointed with dry beaches and lack of vegetation. But still, it is considered one of the World's natural wonders. Thanks for you comments.
star-5
Recommend this tour
Terry_B
, Aug 2021
Our guide, Captain Jane, was very entertaining and knowledgeable. She obviously loves the Great Salt Lake snd SLC.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
The Captain DOES LOVE the Great Salt Lake and it show.
star-5
Awesome Tour Guide
Patrick_G
, Jul 2021
Tour guide extremely knowledgeable, very thorough. He was very knowledgeable about its history all the way up to the present.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
We would like to thank you for taking the time to comment and leave your valuable remarks.
star-5
Great experience
Laura_V
, Jul 2021
The tour was excellent. Our tour guide was funny, knowledgeable, and engaging, and made the trip that much more fun. We were able to swim in the lake and get some nice gadgets from the visitor center afterwards. Highly recommend it. Go with your bathing suit already on and bring a change of clothes.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Thank you for your comments. Not everyone enjoys the Lake as much as you did. It is awesome considering it the largest salty inland sea ('DESERT LAKE') in the World.
star-4
Worthwhile and informative afternoon
Karen_H
, Jul 2021
Tour guide was very informative and entertaining! Had a special needs man on bus, who could have been an issue and she handled him and the situation beautifully! Kudos! That takes a special talent while keeping everyone else happy!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
We appreciate you kind remarks and patience that everyone exhibited to our special needs guest.
star-5
Salt lake
Audrey_B
, Jul 2021
Great tour. Interesting history that we would not have known if we just drove to the park by ourselves.
star-5
Stinky but great service!!!!
crussell
, Jul 2021
Great tour just not sure the actual lake was worth it. But, the organization and tour guide was very knowledgeable and enjoyable!!! I would suggest that the description state that there are showers and changing rooms at the park. If I had known that I would have gone for a float.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thanks for your good suggestion and comments. We'll look into adding the notes about the outdoor showers and that it is possible to use the small bathrooms as changing rooms.
star-5
a good time visiting the great salt lake
AriGreenberg
, Jul 2021
The guide was super friendly. He got there on time and the tour was really interesting. I don't think there was a question that he didn't know the answer to
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
We greatly appreciate your review. The Lake is a one-of-a-kind scene in the United States. Some people are a little disappointed because it is so 'desertly dry and barren. It certainly is unique!
star-4
Take a chance on floating in America’s version of the Dead Sea!
Marisa_E
, Jun 2021
The tour gave you a nice experience of Great Salt Lake, you can go swimming and experience the float. It was smelly and to know why the brine fly and shrimp cause that odor. It was fun watching seagulls eat the flies and a sworm of black cloud ( flies) moving away from the seagull. Great facts of the economic growth that comes from this Great Lake!
star-2
Stinky
Jane_S
, Jun 2021
Tour guide was great. Lots of interesting facts. Lake was quite the disappointment. While it was beautiful, it smelled horrible and the flies were horrible. Nobody would get in that water.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Great Salt Lake Guided Bus Tour from Salt Lake City
Great Salt Lake Guided Bus Tour from Salt Lake City

star-494

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$55.74

star-4.575

45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$37.00

star-4.5202

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$78.49

star-4.5423

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$67.11

star-4.540

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$20.00

star-58

30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$300.00

star-51

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$12.31

star-41

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$12.31

star-51

7 days

Free Cancellation

From
$3,045.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations