Recent Searches
Clear

45 Minute Great Salt Lake Boat Tour

star-4.585 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Magna, United States
45 Minute Great Salt Lake Boat Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon45 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

The largest saltwater lake in the Western Hemisphere, the Great Salt Lake is a top Utah highlight—and this boat tour offers the perfect way to get up close and personal. Pick from multiple departure times, meet your guide at the marina, grab a bug-proof hat, and hop aboard your motorized pontoon. With just a small group for company, you’ll admire the scenery, look out for wildlife, and learn about the lake’s history.
  • See a new perspective on the Great Salt Lake when you travel by boat
  • This small-group tour is capped at just nine participants
  • Multiple tour times are available to suit your sightseeing schedule
  • Learn about the lake’s rich history, wildlife, and more from your guide
Saved to wishlist!
Bottled water
Park Entrance Fee
Guide Gratuity
Great Salt Lake State Park , 13312 West 1075 South, Magna, UT 84044, USA

The easiest way to find us is to put “Great Salt Lake State Park” in your smart phone and that will take you right to us. It is exit 104 off interstate 80 westbound. Meet us in front of the visitors center. There will be a trailer and sign that say, "Great Salt Lake Boat Tours"

This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 9 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Exclusive Excursions SLC
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during 45 Minute Great Salt Lake Boat Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by 45 Minute Great Salt Lake Boat Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during 45 Minute Great Salt Lake Boat Tour?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by 45 Minute Great Salt Lake Boat Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during 45 Minute Great Salt Lake Boat Tour?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by 45 Minute Great Salt Lake Boat Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
85 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 85 reviews
star-4
Very informative
Pamela_B
, Jun 2022
The only thing was the tour wasn't 45min as stated, wish it would of been longer and we could of gone to more areas of the lake. The guide showed mountains in the distance and wish we could of gone closer to them. Would be nice if you added time so we could jump in the lake and experience floating and how it would feel.
star-5
Great Salt Lake Boat Tour
Leza_W
, Jun 2022
Tour guide was very knowledgable and friendly. Very intersecting scenery and information on the lake and surrounding area.
star-5
The Great Salt Lake boat tour
Jilleyn_K
, Jun 2022
Our tour guide Tyler was very knowledgeable. He taught us a lot about The Great Salt Lake, about the water level changes, the reason why Utah is called the beehive state, and why they are known to have the best snow in the winter. He told us about the building that turned into a concert hall, the area copper mine, and also about how the lakes salty water corrodes boats very quickly. They have to change parts underneath their boat about every 6 mths. It was a great tour, and we got to feel the water & when it dries on you how salty it makes your skin.
star-5
Fun way to learn about Salt Lake
Elise_M
, Jun 2022
As this was our first trip to Salt Lake City, the boat ride was fun and educational as well. We enjoyed learning about the history of the lake and the surrounding area. It's really a shame that the water level is so low to prevent so many boats from docking in the marina.
star-1
Disappointing
Dirk_R
, Jun 2022
We made reservations for two boats and there was only one! So our people had only a 30 minutes ride and then had to wait while the second half of our group made their trip.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
These folks made the reservation with a third-party vendor that double booked them. We currently only have one boat and our reservation system caps at nine people so I don’t know how these people were able to make two reservations of 9ppl at the same time. We were very apologetic about this even if it wasn’t our fault and we offered to just split the group and do two 30 minute Tours so we could get all 18 people out on the water and of course we refunded the second booking. Apparently it wasn’t good enough for these people. Not sure what else we could have done to make the situation better.
star-4
Worthwhile boat tour.
Nina_T
, Jun 2022
Definitely a worthwhile experience. We learned a lot about the Great Salt Lake. Since the lake level is low, those with mobility issues will need assistance getting down/up the ramp to the boat slip. Staff was wonderful.
star-5
Excellent
Nelly_V
, Jun 2022
The captain and tour guide was excellent. Very knowledgeable of the history of the lake and surrounding. Would definitely recommend this tour when visiting Salt Lake City. Had a wonderful time.
star-5
Peaceful and very informative
Sandra_P
, Jun 2022
Colton was a wonderful guide. We learned so much about the lake. It was a perfect, peaceful way to begin our vacation in Utah.
star-5
Worthwhile Tour
Kern_L
, Jun 2022
Just the right length; learned many new things about the Great Salt lake and it’s interaction with the surrounding area.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Fun and informative
Steven_M
, May 2022
Very enjoyable 45 minute tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. Answered any questions we had and gave us a great experience.
star-4
Nice Tour
Janet_C
, May 2022
Not the most exciting way to spend an hour, but not the worst. Slowly made our way out of the marina, went out aways and came back with great views of the mountains, Kennecott smelter, Antelope Island, and lots of cute grebes. Meanwhile, the captain-guide talked about the lake and area history and ecology. Great time to go—clear skies and perfect temperature, but post-migration, so few birds. Well spaced seating for breathing safety.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Amazing Staff, Awesome Views
Michael_P
, Oct 2021
Amazing staff that are all super accommodating, friendly, and knowledgeable. Laid back, fun, and unique way to check out the great Salt Lake as a tourist or even local. The ride is just the right amount of time, you can do the whole thing in an hour which makes it perfect if you have limited time or kids that don't sit still. I can't get over how super nice and chill the operators of this tour were!
star-5
Peaceful
Stephen_G
, Oct 2021
Tour guide was awesome. Boat ride was very peaceful and we would certainly do it again next time we visit
star-5
Guide was so personable...
Joe_S
, Sep 2021
Guide was so personable answered all my questions and and shared his knowledge Weather was great, worried about The flys but there were none!
star-4
I thought it was a very...
Gary_P
, Sep 2021
I thought it was a very informative trip. I would suggest a little longer. It went too fast. Everything else was very nice. Really didn’t see much.
star-1
Boat tour was canceled...
Joanne_S
, Sep 2021
Boat tour was canceled due to weather which is understandable. Still waiting for my refund which is not understandable.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Figured I’d update my response for other reviewers to read. So sweet old Joanne wrote me this review just two days after we had to cancel her tour due to weather. I told her she would get a full refund and she responded positive but Expedia sent her a review request so Joanne was very trigger happy to write me a 1 star review even when I told her she would get her money back. I contacted my bank to ensure her that she was refunded and they said yes and sent me a receipt. I texted her the receipt of her refund and even called her to make sure the money got returned just so I would know this misunderstanding was resolved. She seemed very irritated the last time I contacted her so I stopped. Funny how she was so excited to write me a bad review but was upset with me when I was trying to help her and make it right. Jeff
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
I live the whole experience.
Pierrot_B
, Sep 2021
Jeff was awesome. He was so nice and very informative. He even called us to make sure that we were coming since we were close to time.
star-5
Laughing on the Great Salt Lake
maria_g
, Sep 2021
Our tour guide was delightful. He was very knowledgeable and made the tour fun by quizzing us. It was a nice mix of people on board. I recommend to all who live in or come to visit Salt Lake City.
star-5
Great boat tour!!!
Gina_G
, Aug 2021
We had a great time on this tour boat!!!! Great information!! Jokes got better towards the end!!! Very little amount of bugs we did not have to wear the protective face gear did for photos!!! When the flys which are small like Nats when they would come by us are capped and you can move the boat a little faster and turn a certain way they were gone!! Great time try it!!!!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Horrible, stinky place.
Krishnamurthy_N
, Aug 2021
Horrible stinky place. Not with the money. We expected some great experience but the place is horrible. City could have developed little more and interesting.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Are you writing this review about the boat tour or about the marina? If it is about our boat tour, can you please tell me what you did not like about the tour rather than the smells of the lake? Thank you so much.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
45 Minute Great Salt Lake Boat Tour
45 Minute Great Salt Lake Boat Tour

star-4.585

45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$37.00

star-496

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$55.74

star-58

30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$300.00

star-51

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$12.31

star-41

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$12.31
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations