Recent Searches
Clear

Salem Witch Trials Historical Walking Tour

star-4.5211 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Salem, United States
Salem Witch Trials Historical Walking Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors13 Seniors14 Seniors15 Seniors0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon1 hour 30 minutes  (approx.)
iconOffered in: English

Overview

The Salem Witch Trails was a period in history that is misunderstood easily. On this walking tour, follow a guide to main sites such as the witchcraft memorial and courthouse, as you hear stories from accusers and victims to gain a better understanding yourself. Plus, this Salem walking tour starts in the late afternoon leaving you plenty of time to fill up the rest of your day with activities.
  • Get closer to sights in Salem by exploring the city on foot
  • A guide knows the best spots to see in order to get the most out of your visit
  • Hear personal stories of actual accusers and victims of the Salem Witch Trials
  • A convenient meeting spot for this Salem tour makes it easy to get started
Saved to wishlist!
90-minute Salem Witchcraft Walking Tour
Local and Professional Guide
Gain detailed insight into the infamous 1692 Salem Witch Trials
Gratuities
Hotel Pick-Up/Drop-Off
Parking
8 Central St , 8 Central St, Salem, MA 01970, USA

4pm Tour Departure Point: Salem Historical Tours office at 8 Central Street. (part of the pedestrian walkway downtown at the corner of Essex and Central Street). Address: Salem Historical Tours 8 Central Street, Salem, MA 01970 Return point: Returns to downtown area. Guide can direct you to where you want to go. *Please plan to check in 15-20 minutes prior to your tour. **Please call office at 978.745.0666 if there are any questions on where to meet.

Salem , Salem, MA, USA

Return point: Returns to downtown area. Guide can direct you to where you want to go.

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Tours depart at 4pm. Please plan to arrive 15-20 minutes prior to your tour. Check in at Salem Historical Tours Office at 8 Central Street, Salem, MA.
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Please be advised that the state of Massachusetts and the City of Salem are requiring masks to enter business establishments. You will not be able to enter our business without a mask or face covering. Until further notice, a mask or face covering will be required on tours since we will not be able to stay six feet away from each other. Salem Historical Tours LLC reserves the right to deny service to anyone refusing to wear a mask or face covering. This requirement is subject to change based on orders by the state and the city.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Salem Historical Tours, LLC
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Salem Witch Trials Historical Walking Tour?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by Salem Witch Trials Historical Walking Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Salem Witch Trials Historical Walking Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
See all safety measures taken by Salem Witch Trials Historical Walking Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Salem Witch Trials Historical Walking Tour?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Salem Witch Trials Historical Walking Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
211 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 211 reviews
star-5
Interesting and fun
Mark_R
, Jun 2022
Really interesting and fun tour with an extremely knowledgeable guide. Our group was small and very friendly and we learned an enormous amount about the trials and the people involved considering the length of walk…excellent!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hello Mark, thank you for the amazing review! We're pleased to hear you had a fun time learning about our amazing city! Please be sure to come back again soon!
star-5
The whole tour was...
Monika_B
, Jun 2022
The whole tour was awesome we enjoyed it very much was very educational! We would recommend this tour we we’re very happy with this tour
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hello Monika, thank you for the wonderful review! Glad to hear you enjoyed the tour of Salem with us! Please be sure to come back again soon!
star-3
Needed more.
Susan_D
, Jun 2022
The guide gave Wonderful information throughout the tour. But the tour needs to include a walk through the cemetery, walk around the stone benches representing the lives lost. Our stops along the tour were in parking lots Disappointing
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
The 1692 Salem Witchcraft Walk does not enter the cemetery because none of the victims of the Witch Trials are buried there. We do go to the Witchcraft Memorial but it is a public area so we as a group usually stand a few feet away so everyone can view the memorial. We use pictures to bring back locations of Salem in 1692 that aren't around today.
star-3
Not for historians.
Anonymous
, Jun 2022
Disappointing. I had hoped for a more serious historical tour delving into the 1692 history of the witch trials. This was a lot of standing and pop culture references and joking about the accused.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Sorry to hear you didn't have the best time with us. While some of the guides might joke around or something while walking to a new stop, there should've been a lot of history and historical facts from the Witch Trials of 1692 at each stop. Please email me at salemhistoricaltours@gmail.com and next time you come to Salem I would like to have you back for a tour on us.
star-5
Excellent Your!
Simone_K
, Jun 2022
Our tour guide was very thorough and posed questions that left you thinking hmmm.... She covered the history of 1692 with side stories that tied into the Witch Trials.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hello Simone, Thank you for the wonderful review. We're so glad to hear you had a great time with us! Please be sure to come back again soon!
star-4
Salem tour
Nicole_O
, Jun 2022
Easy location to meet tour guide. Tour guide gave a nice walking tour around Salem while talking about witch trials
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you so much. We're glad you enjoyed the tour.
star-4
Stan was very...
James_D
, Jun 2022
Stan was very knowledgeable and spread in some pop culture and other references. Some small side views and other cool items were thrown in to show the rich history.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hello James, Thank you for the great review! Glad to hear you had a great time with Stanley. Please be sure to come back soon!
star-5
Excellent walking tour
Andrew_P
, May 2022
The guide was great. She had personality and passion about the subject. More importantly she had an in-depth knowledge and shared it with the group. I highly recommend this tour.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hello Andrew, Thank you for the amazing review! We're happy to hear you had a great time with us! Please come back again soon!
star-3
Great stories but not interactive
Amanda_H
, May 2022
Very interesting stories but not what I expected. Difficult for kids to pay attention the whole time
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hello Amanda, Our tours as advertised are at least 1 hour and the Witchcraft Walk and Haunted Footsteps Ghost Tour are 90 minutes. The Witchcraft Walk is an in-depth look into the Salem Witch Trials. If you were looking for a crossover between witchcraft and other historical tours. We have several different options to offer.
star-5
Great info and value
Kaylyn_B
, May 2022
Our tour guide was obviously very knowledgeable and also cared a lot about the history of Salem and how it translates to today's events. She was very kind and always asked if we had questions, where people were from, if everyone was keeping up etc.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hello Kaylyn, Thank you for the amazing review! We're so pleased to hear you had a great time learning about Salem. Please be sure to come back again soon!
star-5
Human nature
William_S
, May 2022
The tour guide wove a colorful and insightful narrative to the history behind the Witch Trials. Thank you.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hello William, Thank you for the wonderful review! We're happy to hear you had a great time with us. Please be sure to visit Salem again soon!
star-5
Awesome tour!
Jessica_M
, May 2022
Our guide was very knowledgeable and was very nice. It was nice learning things I didn’t know already. This tour was also more about history and facts instead of gimmicky tourist stuff. Which I enjoyed very much
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hello Jessica, thank you for the amazing review! We're so pleased to hear you had a fun time with us. Please be sure to visit us again soon!
star-5
Chrishell was a very knowledgeable tour host. She was very friendly and accommodating.
Diane_B
, May 2022
Chrishell was very friendly and knowledgeable. She was very accommodating also because I use a walking cane
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hello Diane, Thank you for the great review! We're glad to hear you had a wonderful time with us. Please be sure to visit Salem again soon!
star-5
Recommend!!
Jennifer_C
, May 2022
Great historical knowledge. It was great to see the actual places (or locations) of history. Really enjoyed it
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hello Jennifer, Thank you for the wonderful review! We're happy to hear you had a great time with us! Please be sure to come back again soon!
star-3
The guide was very...
Odette_C
, May 2022
The guide was very knowledgeable and knew the stories. There wasn’t really anything to look at that went with the stories and each stop was a long time standing in on spot. I feel like we could have watched a documentary and got the same knowledge for way cheaper.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
We're sorry you feel this way, but we can only go to spots where the court, church, homes, jail and other buildings connected to the witchcraft trials USED to be. They were knocked down years ago and that is not something we can control. No tour company can do that. We do show you the witch house and discuss the judges. There are few locations to sit down. We do have folding stools you could have borrowed. We do go to several locations and get into incredible detail about individuals involved in the trials and explain how the hysteria started and ended. That is not something you get with TV documentaries. The latest documentary to come out on History Channel showed an accused witch being burned. Not true. The TV documentaries are short, overly dramatic and don't get into the nuts and bolts.
star-5
Animated!
Kathy_M
, Apr 2022
Loved Christine and her knowledge base of the area and history! Very animated! She made us feel right at home as well. We learned a lot!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Hello Kathy, Thank you for the amazing review! Christine is truly a gifted tour guide. Be sure to come back and see us again soon!
star-4
We recomended for sure
Felix_F
, Apr 2022
Well we really enjoyed it, our guide really now about the history of this old town, I think we learned about what really happened back in 1692
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Hello Felix, Thank you for the great review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed learning about what happened in 1692. Be sure to visit us again!
star-5
My family and I came to...
Valbona_M
, Apr 2022
My family and I came to visit Salem for the witch trials walking tour. We enjoyed the tour. Our tour guide was awesome! We will be visiting again. Thank you!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for the wonderful review! Glad to hear you and your family had a great time with us! Please come back and see us again soon!
star-5
Informative
John_H
, Mar 2022
The information that the tour guides knew and the haunting and curses that all put on each other is amazing on what they didn't know compared to what the world knows now
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Hello John, thank you for the great review! Glad to hear you had a great time with us! Be sure to visit us and Salem again soon!
star-1
Poured Rain No Refund
Justin_T
, Mar 2022
It started pouring down rain before our tour even began so we had to cancel. As we were only in Salem for the day we were not issued a refund
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Hello Justin, it does state when you purchase your tickets tours run rain or shine. Had we cancelled the tour on our end we would've gladly issued you a refund.
1 traveler found this review helpful

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Salem Witch Trials Historical Walking Tour
Salem Witch Trials Historical Walking Tour

star-4.5211

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$25.00

star-5101

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$24.00

star-4.518

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$18.00

star-5577

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$30.00

star-539

1 hour 20 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$25.00

star-32

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$18.00

star-58

45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$67.50

star-4.51069

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$25.65

star-1.55

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$12.31
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations