Recent Searches
Clear

Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik

|
Reykjavík, Iceland
Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 to 4 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

The Northern Lights, or Aurora Borealis, draw hopeful travellers to Iceland from across the world, but knowing how to boost your chances of the best sightings requires skill and practise. On this Northern Lights bus tour, enjoy round-trip travel from your Reykjavik hotel and head out into the Icelandic countryside with your experienced guide. Hit the best spots for the clearest visibility, and reschedule for free if you don’t get lucky.
  • Hit the best viewing spots according to weather conditions on the day
  • Sip hot chocolate as the Northern Lights dazzle in the skies above
  • Reschedule with ease if the Northern Lights don’t appear
  • Includes round-trip travel from your Reykjavik accommodation
Saved to wishlist!
WiFi on board
Dinner

Departure Point

Þórunnartún 1, 105 Reykjavík, Iceland

Tour Bus Stop 12, Höfðatorg, Þórunnartún 1 (64.144389,-21.910327)

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum age is 8 years old
  • Booking this Northern Lights tour also gives you a free ticket to visit the Aurora Museum in Reykjavik, Grandagarður 2, 101 Reykjavík. The free entrance is only valid on the day you join the tour, from the time we announce whether the tour is ON (by email and on our website). The entrance fees to the Aurora Reykjavik exhibition are complementary meaning that if you do not wish to go to the museum, there is no partial refund.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Dress in warm, wind and waterproof clothing and footwear.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 65 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Bustravel Iceland
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Our tour guided also brought her own professional camera and took pictures of us and sent them over via email FOR FREE!" See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
184 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 184 reviews
star-5
Worth every penny
James_W
, Jan 2022
Our guide was this odd guy that referred to himself as the Aurora Hunter. He took us out on a heavily cloudy night, yammering on about all the science he used to determine the best spot with clear skies to see the northern lights. All while we saw nothing but clouds from the bus window. So as you can imagine, we were prepared for disappointment. We arrived at the spot, in heavy cloud cover and -4007656 degree windchill and waited. I'll be damned. Almost to the minute, the clouds cleared exactly when he said. ...and we saw the northern lights for nearly two hours straight. We saw them for so long, we left and they were still dancing in the sky. By then it was after 2am, and all the old folks were snoozing in the bus proper. So I guess his nickname fits. Book this. It'll be worth it.
star-3
Guides tried
Richard_M
, Jan 2022
Three stars are for the guides as they did try and find the lights. It’s a natural phenomenon and the guides have no authority over when and where they appear. My only concern was that the tour probably should have been cancelled as every other northern light tour operator had cancelled that night. 3 hours in a bus was a long time. If you are a not a fan of mass tourism with some unruly passengers, then this is not the tour for you.
star-5
Unforgettable evening!
James_B
, Jan 2022
Our tour guide, Daniel, was excellent. We parked up at a spot in the highlands and after no luck for around 2 hours, a lot of travellers believed that we weren’t going to be lucky enough to see the Northern Lights. Daniel, however, expert in the field, was correct when saying that there was still a very good chance. There was. The lights were so powerful and it was an unbelievable experience. Thank you Daniel for an unforgettable evening!
star-4
Large-group, informative tour
Laura_B
, Jan 2022
Our guide Daniel was really knowledgeable about the science behind Northern lights. It was cool to learn a bit on the coach, and he did take us to a great spot to see the lights! He tried his best to help everyone with their camera setting to take a good photo, but unfortunately if your phone camera isn't the right kind then you simply can't take a picture of them. Do make sure your camera is the right kind before booking! He did make us hot chocolate and a bonfire too which was nice. Very full-on tour, as there was like 70 people on the coach, so if you prefer small groups this tour is not for you!
star-2
Poor
Therese_m
, Jan 2022
Lack of information regarding the Northern lights from the guide. Taken to one location for 1 hour, then driven back. £90 for 2 people is outrageous given you don’t get anything apart from a bus ride. Very dissatisfied
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Hey there, We are sorry to hear you are not happy with our service. Our Northern Lights Tours are guided by professional guides, with them you will learn a lot about the Northern Lights itself but they also have the best knowledge of where to go in a specific night so you have the best chances to see the Northern Lights. Sometimes we stop at only one location, if the conditions there are perfect, there is no reason to move. On other days we have to go to several locations to find the best spot. Please feel free to contact us directly via email or phone if you have any further questions! We hope you had a great time in Iceland and wish you all the best!
star-4
Amazing guide (Daniel) and once in a lifetime trip
Charlotte_O
, Jan 2022
Our tour guide Daniel was great, made it really easy to understand why the aurora occurs and answered every question we had. I think it’s a once in a lifetime opportunity everyone should get to experience but make sure you wrap up warm because it does get very cold!
star-4
Good option if you're unable to rent a car
Antonia_C
, Jan 2022
It's a large group tour on a bus. They offer a sample size of some delicious icelandic hot chocolate and a popular candy treat. Our tour was on a good clear night so we were able to see the lights from the city while we waited for the bus. As we were driving out of the city, the lights reappeared and we quickly pulled over and took pictures. They drove us out to Hakið Visitor Center parking lot but the lights had fade by that time. The tour is hit or miss, you're not guaranteed to see the lights. But it might be good for nights when the sky isn't as clear or you are unable to rent a car.
star-1
We didn’t see the light...
ROMELIZA_T
, Jan 2022
We didn’t see the light its either we’re late or in wrong place us it is a big bus location will be limited
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Hey there, We are sorry to hear you did not see the Northern Lights. Unfortunately they can never be guaranteed as it is a natural phenomenon and unpredictable. The lights can be seen from everywhere in Iceland. All our buses, including the big buses, are capable to go to the best locations to see the Northern Lights. But sometimes they unfortunately don´t come out when we want them to. Since Northern Lights seeing can not be guaranteed all our passengers have the right to reschedule their tours free of charge for up to 3 years until they successfully see the Northern Lights. Please feel free to contact our office to rejoin the tour! We will cross our fingers you´ll have better luck next time!
star-5
Amazing experience
Hazel_L
, Dec 2021
Daniel the "aurora whisperer" was a fantastic tour guide and was so knowledgable about the science behind the phenomenon. An amazing bucket list experience.
star-5
Really special and quite...
Gytis_D
, Dec 2021
Really special and quite a surreal experience (in a good way!). Our host Daniel was superb and we've had a chance to witness aurora borealis on a cold and windy night down south from Reykjavik.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik
Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik

star-4184

3 to 4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$50.17

star-4.512

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$114.27

star-3.5447

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$55.00

star-4.543

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$139.90

star-4.52860

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$63.48

star-00

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$110.00

star-524

4 hours 20 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$115.42

star-4.516

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$82.90

star-5254

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$115.42

Explore Similar Things to Do