Recent Searches

South Coast and Jökulsárlón Day tour included Amphibian Boat Ride by Minibus

star-4.567 Reviews
Badge of Excellence
Reykjavik, Iceland
South Coast and Jökulsárlón Day tour included Amphibian Boat Ride by Minibus
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon15 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here


Check off south Iceland's best sites without the hassle of driving and travel planning on this full-day guided tour from Reykjavik. Traveling in a minibus in a small group, see the Eyjafjallajökull and Mýrdalsjökull glaciers, as well as the black-sand beach of Reynisfjara, village of Vík, and Skógafoss and Seljalandsfoss waterfalls, on the journey toward Jökulsárlón where you take a boat tour among the glacial lagoon's icebergs.
  • See the highlights of south Iceland in a single day trip
  • Get insight into the history, culture, and geology of the region from your guide
  • Hassle-free round-trip transport from your Reykjavik hotel
  • Small-group tour ensures a more personalized experience
Saved to wishlist!
Boat tour among Icebergs
Local English speaking driver/guide
Pickup/drop-off at major Hotels, Guesthouses, Airbnb, Bus Stops in Reykjavik
Transport by Mercedes Sprinter climate-controlled bus limited to 16 people
Free WiFi and USB power on board 
A lot of FUN
Meals, but stops will be made at a local restaurant or grocery shop where meals can be purchased
Alternatively you can bring a packed lunch and diner

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

7:00 AM
Please be prepared at yours pick up location at 07:00am, pickup is usually between 07:00-07:30am depending on traffic, weather condition and your place in the pickup order. Look for the silver Sprinter with our ,,Back to Iceland travel '' logo on it.Note that some accommodation is in a bus forbidden zone that requires guests to wait at a certain BUS STOP. If we can't pickup/drop off directly to the front doors of your accommodation after reservation, we will send information how to walk to nearest Bus Stop.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Child rate applies only when sharing with 2 paying adults
  • Child seats or boosters are available on request if advised at time of booking
  • Minimum numbers apply (2 people min). There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund.
  • Subject to favorable weather conditions. If canceled due to poor weather, you will be given the option of an alternative date or full refund.
  • The weather can be unpredictable. Remember to bring with you warm waterproof jacket and walking shoes depending on weather conditions.
  • Near public transportation
  • All our buses are thoroughly disinfected every day and hand sanitizer is available during the tour
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 13 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Back to Iceland travel
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on sanitization during South Coast and Jökulsárlón Day tour included Amphibian Boat Ride by Minibus?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by South Coast and Jökulsárlón Day tour included Amphibian Boat Ride by Minibus.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during South Coast and Jökulsárlón Day tour included Amphibian Boat Ride by Minibus?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by South Coast and Jökulsárlón Day tour included Amphibian Boat Ride by Minibus.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips

  • "Requires a bit of discipline from the tourists but when everybody is on time, this trip works great." See review
  • "This is a very long day so be prepared for that, but it is totally worth it." See review
  • "There are restrooms there and a couple of food pop-ups." See review


67 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 67 reviews
Antone is great!
, Jun 2022
Antone was fantastic! He shared so much about Iceland with us. His bus was super comfortable. We spent more than 15 hours with him and left really understanding the south side of Iceland. I would recommend to anyone looking for a more private tour not on a bus. The black sand beach and boat ride were definite highlights!
Personable treatment, ...
, Jun 2022
Personable treatment, spectacular sights, see everything in one long but worth it day. A great day. Waterfalls and ice bergs, oh my!
Excellent Trip - amazing sights - amazing team - amazing lead traveler
, May 2022
I should give Anton 11 stars as promised LOL Aside from the stops were amazing, Anton was an amazing lead traveller. Very considerate and gives us much time to stroll around and his knowledge about the sights were impeccable. He threw so many jokes that made me laugh all the time. Hes actually like a Dad driving a family car (Btw, my small group was amazing too!!!). We had so many additional stops along the way that i have to write down other places we have been to like the vikings longe, the church at Vik, the “something falls” we dont know, etc. If you book a trip with Back to Iceland, I hope you get Anton.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed our tour. I was delighted to read your kind remarks regarding your experience and also that you chose us.
Best tour ever!
, Jul 2021
This is a very long day so be prepared for that, but it is totally worth it. We saw the most beautiful waterfalls, beaches and glaciers. There are plenty of stops along the way, so you really just keep moving which made it enjoyable. I would absolutely do this again when I come back. You see such a varied landscape as you go through different parts of the country and you learn a lot of history. This is a must do!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you for your great review! I'm really happy to hear that you enjoyed the tour.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Great tour with Anton!
, Jun 2021
We had such a wonderful trip with Anton and his wife as our tour guides! Anton provided so much information about Iceland - it was a great learning experience! I can’t even express how genuinely kind Anton and his wife are. I would highly recommend doing this tour to see all the highlights of the south coast!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Dear Janessa, Thank you for your review. We are always happy to hear about positive experiences with our service. We hope you use our service if you come back to Iceland.
Black Sand Beach was my Fave!
, Dec 2019
This was a really long day. I wish it was a few hours less, but in order to see everything, it needs to be. The bus is TINY. The aisle and the seats are not made for anyone over 250 lbs max. My knees hit the seat in front of me and my butt is still bruised from sitting on the hard plastic of the seat-belt buckle. The first rest stop we stopped at was yummy. We grabbed sandwiches, coffee and snacks there. We stopped at lots of waterfalls and had plenty of time to explore and take photos. The driver tells you what time to be back on the bus and everyone complied which was nice. The Black sand beach was my favorite. I thought the diamond beach would be but the black sand one had the Game of Thrones look-a-like rocks and so many natural wonders on the beach. There is a bathroom there and a place to get food- sandwiches and salads. Diamond beach is right across the way from the boat ride. Its fun- basically a duck boat. You wear life preservers and they get you out there and tell you more about the ice and history. There are restrooms there and a couple of food pop-ups. I didn’t realize that the hot dogs have lamb in them so I gave mine away. Diamond beach was cool but not as much to see as Black sand beach.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Another Great Day Trip
, Nov 2019
If you are on limited time, but want to see as much as you can, this is another great day trip to take. The guide was very informative and friendly. It is a super long bus ride, but pretty comfortable and has plenty of stops to stretch your legs. The time at each site is (by necessity) limited, but allows you to explore and take photos.
Great itinerary
, Oct 2019
This is a long 15 hour tour but you will get to see a wide variety of great sites. Our tour guide Anton was great to be with and worked so hard in some pretty bad weather to get us to each location.It was so windy and rainy on occasion but that didn’t spoil this adventure. There’s a lot to see from the two waterfalls and two beaches and lava field ending with glacier lagoon. Although we were disappointed that the boat tour was cancelled because of the weather we appreciated Anton getting us to the glacier lagoon to at least see some of the sites. Nobody likes bad weather but somehow it added to the experience and our guide Anton just handled everything so professionally.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Thank you so much for leaving us a review and giving us your compliments. Our aim is to offer affordable, yet top quality tours where our customers get to experience the best of Iceland. Hope you fully enjoyed your stay in Iceland and look forward to seeing you again.
Excellent driver
, Oct 2019
The driver was excellent. Anton is so dedicated to his work. Basically the whole trip was about 15 hours and he took the initiative to brief us through the History of Iceland for 15 hours! You hear me right... He talked almost 13 hours non stop while he drove very steady despite the windy condition. We felt very safe with him.Even though we didn't manage to take the boat trip because of the weather conditions,we still enjoy this 15 hours trip. Highly recommended if the driver is him. Book with him and you will never regret.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed Glacier Lagoon tour in very bad weather condition., and again sorry that last minute have to canceled boat ride due to very strong wind. :( I was delighted to read your kind remarks regarding your experience and also that you chose us.
Must go trip but poor guide
, Oct 2019
The south coast and jokulsarlon are must-go attractions, you won't be disappointed. Just not with this trip unless you want to have a tour guide who will have totally no response to all your greetings e.g. morning, thank you, he will just stair at you but without any reply, his face was black in the entire trip. It's raining heavily that day while we saw some ponchos next to the mini-bus door, if you don't ask for it the guide will not offer you and let you get totally wet. When we didn't select the proper dinner place he offered, his face turned even more black.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Hi Johnny and thank you for your review. I´m sorry to hear that you didn’t like me as your guide on this tour. You were a group of 7 person and there were 5 others on the tour. I picked your group up first and then it took around 15 minutes to pick up the rest of the passengers at other pickup locations. I did welcome you as a group when you onboarded and then when everyone was onboard I spent some time before I sat down and started to drive, facing you all, welcome you on board, introduce myself and tell shortly about the tour schedule. Because it is a schedule tour with individuals and smaller groups gathered on the bus, I talk to the whole group in once and answer questions to the whole group so that everyone gets the same service and information. That’s how I thanked everyone on the bus for the day before first drop of. The other passengers thanked me back for the day and good stories. At the Black beach it rained a lot and because of the rain there I made two extra stops where it was no rain, at the big lava field and by the sculpture with a good view to the glacier so you could enjoy some beautiful sights in no rain. We always have rainproof ponchos free of charge for all our passengers on the bus, to use in rainy weather. Only two of you accepted the offer of free ponchos, even after you asked for it. At Jökulsárlón before we turned back, I explained to you for the second time that day, how it´s not allowed to drive direct for so long without taking a break. I offered you three different chooses to spend the 45 minutes dinner break. It is not the truth that I put up a “black face” because you didn´t choose the proper restaurant, the truth is that you did not choose any of the options I gave and did not response at all, even after I asked you again and made a joke about you not choosing anything. I started to wander if you were not English speaking and didn´t understand me at all, also because you were talking together and watching videos on your phones on some language I didn´t understand, usually while I was guiding and telling you things that you now mention I didn´t tell you. BTI travel offers private tours as well as scheduled tours for those who want more personal individual service. Best regards, Siggi
Weather was not good
, Oct 2019
Disappointed. The only good stop was the first waterfall. After that the weather turned really bad with rain and wind, the boat was open boat which does not give protection from the rain and wind, and visibility was not so good. To the last waterfall we came on the way back when it was already very dark but it was enough time to stop there in day time. No stops at other lookouts, no extras and to my opinion the stop at Vik was way too long. The bus was very good and clean and comfy and the driver was vice and gave a lot of information, thanks.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
We are sorry that you didn´t enjoy the tour as much as expected. The weather in Iceland is very unpredictable and can become very bad really quick. We try to make the best out of it when it does become bad but in the end we cannot change the weather.
Great long trip
, Sep 2019
Requires a bit of discipline from the tourists but when everybody is on time, this trip works great. Love the commentaries of the guide.
Good tour but very tiring.
, Aug 2019
This tour shows you all the prominent places on the south coast. But a few things I didn’t like: 1- The trip was for 15 hours but it lasted 17 instead which became quite tiring and uneasy. 2- Sitting in a mini van for that long was not at all comfortable. 3- I found the driver, Paul to be a bit boring. He did try his best to keep us informed about Iceland, but would become monotone which became boring.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Hi, We are sorry that your experience with us was not pleasant enough. We are always looking for ways to improve upon the experience of our tours. Now the tour by itself that you chose is long to begin with and the weather conditions made it so that it became even longer. This isn´t really something that we can fix since the weather in Iceland is very unpredictable and we want to make sure that the safety of our passengers is always a priority, if that means slowing down then we slow down. We will address the issue that you had with the driver though and try to teach him how to keep passengers more entertained and relaxed during difficult conditions such as these. Have a nice day.
A tour with many highlights
, Aug 2019
I am happy to have been on the tour. It allows you a great insight into the wonderful nature of Iceland with its waterfalls, glacier lagoons, black beaches and lava fields. We were lucky to spot some seels and whales on this tour. The tour was well organized and included sufficient stops. The guide was informing us with many details and humor.
Wonderful day!!
, Jul 2019
After a lot of shopping around for a day tour to the south coast, I finally booked this trip... and now I am very glad I chose this trip! We had a wonderful day visiting the south coast and glacier lagoon! the boat ride between the icebergs was amazing and would highly recommend it! Anton our driver was good. He kept us well informed throughout the journey. 15 hours day is certainly a long day,.. but the visiting Glacier lagoon made it all worth it! The tour was operated by Back to Iceland. The mini bus was nice and comfortable. They provided wifi and charging ports which was very helpful on such a long drive. They gave us rain ponchos (helpful at seljalandsfoss) and water bottles. Couple other things really helped the journey was the fact that this was a mini bus hence there were only a few people on the tour! This certainly made the entire day very comfortable, enjoyable and very personable. We did not feel rushed at the various stops that were made and Anton kept inquiring frequently if we wanted a restroom break. All in all would highly recommend this trip. It is a bit pricey that some of the other similar trips... but totally worth it!
1 traveler found this review helpful
Worth it!
, Jun 2019
Shopped around till I found a tour that included the boat ride - it was worth it! We saw an iceberg flip over and a seal sitting on an iceberg! Amazing trip and great tour guides!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2019
We are so happy to hear that you had a great experience; for that we work with so much love. The complete team thank you again for choosing us.
Long but beautiful, scenic day trip from Reykjavik
Allison M
, Jun 2019
I did this trip with my sister and our mom, and we had a great time. It is a long day, 15+ hours, but you do really see so much! We saw countless waterfalls, black sand beaches, the glacier lagoon, and Diamond Beach. It was a great time of year to go. The waterfalls were rushing, the scenery we drove past was lushly green, and the glacier lagoon was unfrozen, which meant we could do the boat tour. Even the ice boulders on Diamond Beach were still large enough to impress, though I'm sure they are more spectacular in the winter. But the tradeoff was that we didn't freeze when we made outdoor stops, though the beaches were still a bit brisk, so keep that in mind. The structure of the tour was good for such a long day: you see the waterfalls first, then there is about a 3-hour stretch of driving time that the passengers all used for napping (necessary with an early start!), then the Glacier lagoon and Diamond Beach. The only downside was the long drive back to Reykjavik at the end of the day, with too many stops for wishing rocks and elf villages (really just piles of rocks). Our guide wasn't exactly captivating, but I think he was just new at it and his English was still excellent.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2019
Thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed our tours. I was delighted to read your kind remarks regarding your experience and also that you chose us.
Worth Every Hour
, Aug 2018
This tour was absolutely amazing. You see SO many wonderful sites in just one day. Our guide, Hawk, was very knowledgeable, professional, and made our long journey very very enjoyable. The company was organized and we didn’t have any issues. Thanks for adding to our wonderful stay in Iceland!!!
Worth the money!
, Jul 2018
This was the highlight of my time in Iceland. My partner and I ended up being the only people on the excursion so we had a private tour. The tour guide, Anton (spelling??) was excellent and knew so much about the country! There were many comfort stops and opportunities to use the restroom and grab something to eat. Although the day was long, it was worth the money and worth the time. I would recommend this trip to anyone looking to enjoy Iceland!
Ein wunderschöner Ausflug
, Jul 2019
Ein Highlight unseres Ausfluges nach Island. Besonders die Fahrt mit dem Amphibienboot kann nur empfohlen werden.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

South Coast and Jökulsárlón Day tour included Amphibian Boat Ride by Minibus
Likely to Sell Out
South Coast and Jökulsárlón Day tour included Amphibian Boat Ride by Minibus


15 hours

Free Cancellation



2 days

Free Cancellation



10 hours

Free Cancellation



10 hours

Free Cancellation



3 days

Free Cancellation



10 hours

Free Cancellation



14 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



14 hours

Free Cancellation

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations