Recent Searches

Progressive Dinner Tour with the Locals in Rarotonga

star-4.576 Reviews
Badge of Excellence
Vaimaanga, Cook Islands
Progressive Dinner Tour with the Locals in Rarotonga

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon4 hours 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English


All-inclusive packages at resorts are convenient, but often make it difficult to experience authentic local life. Find the Rarotonga that exists beyond your resort on this dinner tour. Enjoy a 3-course meal, with each dish served in a different location. A local band joins the tour to create a relaxing ambiance. Enjoy local delicacies and visit a variety of locations across the island.
  • Don't stress about logistics: your guide takes care of dinner bills and your transport
  • Satisfy your senses: hear, smell, taste, and see different aspects of Cook Island culture
  • Call on local expertise: each course is at a local home for an authentic experience
  • Enjoy a glimpse into the everyday lives of Rarotongan families
Saved to wishlist!
Glass of Champagne
Hotel pickup and drop-off
All taxes

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

5:00 PM

Please arrive 30 minutes before your selected start time for pickup. Your operator can coordinate exact time and location.

Departure Point: Your accommodation on the main road of Rarotonga Dates: Monday and Thursday Return point: Your accommodation on the main road of Rarotonga
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 25 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Cook Islands Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on sanitization during Progressive Dinner Tour with the Locals in Rarotonga?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Progressive Dinner Tour with the Locals in Rarotonga.
What is the social distancing policy during Progressive Dinner Tour with the Locals in Rarotonga?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Progressive Dinner Tour with the Locals in Rarotonga.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Progressive Dinner Tour with the Locals in Rarotonga?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Progressive Dinner Tour with the Locals in Rarotonga.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips

  • "I probably would not recommend it for kids under 12 or so." See review
  • "This is genuinely a local experience where you get to meet the hosts and share a meal with them." See review


76 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 76 reviews
Cancelled dinner
, Aug 2021
Our progressive dinner was cancelled after two phone calls on the day that it would proceed. It was cancelled by the operator while we were waiting for our pick up. Please contact me to let me know when I can expect my refund. Thanks Sharlene
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Everyone on Rarotonga would have witnessed the terriblr weather on the afternoon of the tour. Two Air na flights were turned back to Auckland as they could not land at Rarotonga. I made the decisuion to cancel the tour around 4.30 when the second Air nZ flight was turned back to Auckland. We contacted all who booked on the tour that evening. those we could not contact we left messages at hotel reception. One other guest at the Edgewater did not get a message from the hotel reception we are sorry for that. I personally drove to holiday homes to deliver the cancellation message. All refunds were processed soonafter. if you paid the tour through an agent please contact their office. I apologize for the inconvenience. We were at the mercy of the weather. hopefully you will be able to come on the tour on your next visit. Regards, Temu, Manading Director. Cook Islands Tours.
Tour cancelled
, Aug 2021
It was cancelled by the host due to a big storm. We are waiting for a refund. We are disappointed to have missed the tour.
Highly recommended for all ages.
, Aug 2021
Tasty food with great wine. I enjoyed the opportunity to mix with other New Zealanders. Friendly and entertaining hosts at all venues, especially where we had the first two courses.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Will advise our osts of your lovely comments. Thank you
Less is more!
, Aug 2021
Our first address would have gotten the full 5 stars, because the hostess really shared some stories around her family life and island life in general. Everywhere the food was fabulous, but the two last addresses had nothing else to offer. The size of our group should have been 12 max, but smaller would have been even better. With the 24 we were in, it felt like just another tourist attraction.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Thank you for your comments. I am not sure what you mean about the last two hosts having nothing much to offer. Mama Kafo, the main course host, is always a funny lady with an interesting background comming from the Kingdom of Tonga and her 'house boy' (husband) from the northen island of Manihiki. Bates and Tara the dessert host offers a range of sweets from chocolate cake, Pineapple pie, pavlova, fruit salad and ice cream beside coffee,tea and fresh lemon drink. Each host has their own story to tell and we allow them to do it in their own way. It was a deliberate way of allow various families background to weave a Cook islanders story. As to the size of the group. 24 pax is the size of the bus and we try to limit groups to this size. 10 pax is the minimum to run the tour which makes it worthwhile for the host to carter at a reasonable price. Looking thru our comments in our visitors book for the night you went on the tour, there were some very positive comments but that does not lessen to me the importance of your comment. I will raise them with these hosts. I will also be accompanying the next tours next week. Sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Rarotonga. Temu Okotai, Managing Director,
Don't miss this!
, Jul 2021
Eating with the locals. The effort they put into the food preparation with their home grown produce is appreciated.
Great time with local families
, Feb 2020
Although I was on a tour, it felt like I was visiting family. Everyone was so warm and friendly. As someone who reads reviews before booking a tour I can say stop reading and book this tour, your welcome.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thanks for your review, it's highly appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed our humble tour! Thanks for recommending to others :) Meitaki Ma'ata
Hangin with the locals.....
, Dec 2019
We so enjoyed this dinner. Fun to see the people's homes. Really learned how important the family is here in Raro. Loved the garden tour at the first home, and of course the FOOD was fantastic. Nice to be able to ask some questions also. A great experience we would highly recommend.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Meitaki Ma'ata for such a nice review. It was a pleasure to have you on our tour!
Best experience of our trip
Brooke H
, Nov 2019
amazing food, amazing people, would recommend this for couples who are coming to the Cook Islands. Ben was great
Progressive Dinner
, Nov 2019
Good fun - Good Hosts- A different evening with the locals with some local foods , stories of their life on Rarotonga and an education of their culture and customs.. Good Value
Progressive Island Dinner
, Nov 2019
A very nice experience to learn a bit more about the local people. Everyone was so nice and welcoming. The food was great!

Explore Similar Things to Do