Recent Searches
Clear

Otago Peninsula Scenic, City Highlights and Wildlife Tour

star-4.514 Reviews
|
Dunedin, New Zealand
Otago Peninsula Scenic, City Highlights and Wildlife Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 travelers1 traveler2 travelers3 travelers4 travelers5 travelers6 travelers7 travelers8 travelers9 travelers10 travelers11 travelers12 travelers13 travelers14 travelers15 travelers
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon5 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Combine a city highlights tour of Dunedin with a wildlife-focused tour of the Otago Peninsula in a single day. Perfect for first-time visitors or those short on time, this tour covers both urban and natural highlights of the area. Landmarks in Dunedin include the Botanic Garden, Baldwin Street, the Dunedin Railway Station, and others. Get to know the Otago Peninsula's beaches and bays with scenic drives and a wildlife boat cruise from Taiaroa Head.
  • See the city of Dunedin and the nature of the Otago Peninsula on one tour
  • Insightful commentary from your guide
  • Included entry to the Royal Albatross Centre
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off provided
Saved to wishlist!
Transport by air-conditioned van
Driver/guide
Bottled water
Live commentary on board
Lunch

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

This activity will end right where it started.50 The Octagon, outside Dunedin Visitor Centre
  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Dress Waterproof and windproof jacket, sunblock. Wear comfortable walking shoes
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 11 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Fantail Tours Limited
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Much better than the ship tour and at a far lower cost." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
14 Reviews
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-6 of 14 reviews
star-5
Must do in Dunedin
Roco_P
, Dec 2021
The entire experience was amazing. The tour guide knowledge of the city was exceptional and the spots we visited were stunning! Absolutely recommended :)
star-5
Great experience! .
Barry_M
, Jan 2020
Asta was enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and fun to have as a guide and driver. She took us to all of the “included” sights and so many kore.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience with Fantail Tours! It is very important to us. We love hearing you had a great experience.
star-5
Excellent Tour- we highly recommend
Neal_N
, Dec 2018
This was the first time we strayed from the cruise ship tour and we are so glad we did. Asta was a fantastic guide and we had a wonderful day. Everything went exactly as planned. Much better than the ship tour and at a far lower cost. No down side here.
star-1
SAVE YOUR MONEY!!!!! We had the...
Wendy_F
, Feb 2018
SAVE YOUR MONEY!!!!! We had the worst tour guide in Kevin - no running commentary or history about Dunedin, the peninsula or where we were going - in the case of a church we drove by, he just said this is our Catholic church not the name, date it was build or anything significant. They never gave us the picnic promised in the description either - the whole land tour was a mess. Everyone in the van was laughing at how bad his commentary was. The only redeeming part of this excursion was the cruise - it was great.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2018
TOUR OPERATOR COMMENT: Dear Wendy - Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologise you had bad experience on our tour. That was trully not our intention. We work really hard to offer the best tour experience to visitors in Dunedin but unfortunately, we did not manage to keep to our high standards during this extremely busy cruise ship day. We were no longer offering a picnic and it was our mistake of not updating the description. Due to an extremely busy day for us, we had to hire Kevin - our new guide, experienced and well respected in Dunedin. We are going to reflect on this and improve the process of choosing our guides.
star-5
Great tour of City in a very...
Andrew G
, Jan 2018
Great tour of City in a very comfortable small group Mercedes van
star-5
our awesome fantail tour guide Asta...
Aisha_B
, Jan 2018
our awesome fantail tour guide Asta picked us up at the cruise terminal and took us on a fantastic tour. there were only two of us in the private mercedes tour van and we paid a fraction of what the herd of people shuffling on to the cruise organised tour bus paid and got a much more personalised experience. I can't recommend this tour enough, Asta was so personable and a great source of info about dunedin, she tailored the tour to things that we were interested in spending more time where we wanted and less where we finished early. take a chance on this one and don't waste your cash on the overcrowded cruise organised tour

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Otago Peninsula Scenic, City Highlights and Wildlife Tour
Otago Peninsula Scenic, City Highlights and Wildlife Tour

star-4.514

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$153.96

star-575

7 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$157.17

star-41

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$157.17

star-4.533

6 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$108.57

star-51

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$253.72
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations