Recent Searches
Clear

Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour

|
Port Chalmers, New Zealand
Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 7 days in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

See the central sights of Dunedin and visit the Olveston Historic Home on a shore excursion of Dunedin attractions. When your ship pulls into port, a professional guide escorts you through the city by coach. View the University of Otago, Dunedin Botanic Garden and stately historic buildings before a guided tour of Olveston, which includes the mansion and its landscaped gardens.
  • See Dunedin's city center attractions on a sightseeing coach
  • Admire Otago University, the Botanical Gardens, beautiful homes and other historic buildings
  • Enjoy a guided tour of Olveston House
  • Experience wonderful views of Otago Peninsula & Harbour
Saved to wishlist!
Dunedin sightseeing tour
Professional guide
Worry-free Shore Excursion Guarantee
Port pickup and drop-off
Food and drinks
Gratuities
Port Chalmers , Port Chalmers, New Zealand

Departure Point: Dunedin Port Address: Dunedin Port Directions: Your Cruise Ship will come into Port Chalmers. Once you disembark, all passengers must make their way to the private hire area in the cruise ship pavilion which is well sign posted. Please wait for a "Good Company Tours" representative, they will direct you to the "Good Company" buses which will be departing from outside the Visitor Centre.  Please get there around 9:45am for a 10:00am departure. Dates: Daily Return point: Returns to original departure point at approximately 2pm

10:00 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
Start your shore excursion with port pickup and board your comfortable coach for a sightseeing tour.

Join your guide, and hear commentary detailing Dunedin’s history as you motor around the hilly city, overlooking the Otago Peninsula. Pass by Baldwin Street, considered the world's steepest street, the University of Otago, the neoclassical Dunedin Town Hall, and Renaissance Revival–style Dunedin Railway Station as well as opulent banks, theaters and 19th-century edifices.

Then, tour the highlights of Olveston Historic Home on a guided tour of the 35-room mansion and gardens. A docent reveals the history behind this enchanting time capsule of one of Dunedin’s wealthy merchant families. Built in a Jacobean style, Olveston is decorated with original fine art and furniture collected by the home's wealthy owners.

Admire the gorgeous Dunedin Botanical Garden before the return drive to the Dunedin port.
Itinerary
Pass By:  
Otago Peninsula
Start your shore excursion with port pickup and board your comfortable coach for a sightseeing tour. Hear commentary detailing Dunedin’s history as you motor around the hilly city, which overlooks the Otago Peninsula.
Pass By:  
Baldwin Street: The Steepest Street in the World
Pass by Baldwin Street, considered the world’s steepest street, and get a glimpse of the harbour.
Pass By:  
Dunedin Botanic Garden
See the beautiful Botanic Gardens of Dunedin City on this sightseeing tour.
Pass By:  
University of Otago
View the University of Otago, the neoclassical Dunedin Town Hall and Renaissance Revival–style Dunedin Railway Station as well as opulent banks, theatres and 19th-century edifices.
Stop At:  
Olveston Historic Home
After the city tour you will join a 1-hour guided tour of Olveston Historic Home a 35-room mansion and gardens. A docent reveals the history behind this enchanting time capsule of one of Dunedin’s wealthy merchant families. Built in a Jacobean style, Olveston is decorated with original fine art and furniture collected by the home’s wealthy owners. Stroll past century-old trees and manicured lawns to the gardens.
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Included
Pass By:  
Port Chalmers Wharf
Rejoin your guide in the afternoon aboard the coach, and the return drive to the Dunedin port. You will be given the opportunity to explore Port Chalmers where you can discover a vibrant village with a wide range of art & culture from potters and sculptors to painters, musicians, jewellers and fashion designers and then make your way back to board the Ship.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Should your cruise ship timetable be indicating that you will be berthing in Dunedin (Port Chalmers) at 10am or later, this does not preclude you from booking these tour options. The timetable will simply be altered to align with the cruise ships arrival time
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Leisure Tours
You can cancel up to 7 days in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • Any changes made less than 6 full days before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • For a 50% refund, you must cancel 3–6 full days before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 2 full days before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 2 full days before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 7 full days before the experience’s start time.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

Reviews

4.0
star-4
63 Reviews
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 63 reviews
star-5
Art Deco Delight!
jeffrey_B
, Dec 2020
Dunedin is a must see and this tour was perfect. A knowledgeable guide and plent of time to walk this fascinating community before ambling back to our ship. Well worth the time!
icon Response from Host , Dec 2020
Pleased to learn that your shore excursion of Dunedin was perfect. I do hope you have the opportunity to visit us again at some time in the future.
star-5
Learnt a lot about dunedin
Kelvin_G
, Feb 2020
Learnt about the history of Dunedin went to many places. The driver was excellent and local knowledge
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thanks for the great review of your Dunedin Sightseeing with Olveston House and for praising your driver/guide who was with you on the day of travel. I'll be sure to pass on your kind words. I hope you get to return to Dunedin someday soon!
star-3
Somewhat Disappointing
GSLANZ47
, Feb 2020
With the exception of the tour of the Olveston House, Dunedin is rather lacking in anything else of significance. The house is a marvel, steeped in fascinating history and preserved in its architecture and furnishings, a tribute to the volunteers. Dunedin does have a train station that is unique for the size of the city but other than that there's not a lot to see. A tour of the house and then off to the environs would had made it a better day.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are sorry to hear that you found the city of Dunedin somewhat disappointing. Most customers find Dunedin an interesting city with character and charm, however, all reviews are subjective with many different opinions concerning the same matter. We trust you will enjoy the remainder of your cruise and the ports that you visit.
star-4
Dunedin ashore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour
Larry C
, Dec 2019
Our guide (driver) was on time. Very knowledgeable about the history of Dunedin. Very friendly. Highly recommend.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Thanks for the great review and recommendation, Larry. I'm really pleased you had a nice time on your shore excursion to Dunedin and Olveston House. We hope you join us for another excursion at some point in the future!
star-5
Dunedin
Susan_M
, Dec 2018
Very enjoyable excursion, our driver provided plenty of interesting facts about various locations and showed us many interesting places. Olveston House is a beautiful building with awell organised tour of the building.
star-4
This was a good tour with an expert...
John W
, Mar 2018
This was a good tour with an expert guide. Olverston House was very good.
star-4
Highly recommend this tour...
Margaret J
, Mar 2018
Highly recommend this tour especially Olveston House. Driver was experienced and informative. Only complaint we left ship at 9.15am and returned early afternoon. However, we had no opportunity anywhere to purchase refreshments. Thankfully got back on board in time for high tea.
star-5
The guide was fantastic. There was...
Stephen A
, Feb 2018
The guide was fantastic. There was a major delay getting off the ship and the buses were kept waiting for us. The small group, with only 18 on the minibus was also Olveston House was well worth the visit and we enjoyed lunch and our free time in Dunedin, as well as the introductory tour of the City.
star-5
Tracey our tour guide was welcoming...
LeslieClive_M
, Jan 2018
Tracey our tour guide was welcoming, friendly and informative. We enjoyed seeing the highlights of Dunedin and Olveston House was very interesting - we really liked the tour of the house and hearing about its history. We would recommend this tour.
star-4
The guide was informative and...
Navidreza M
, Jan 2018
The guide was informative and friendly. The places we visited were very nice. The tour started on time and we were dropped off on time to get back on the cruise ship. would recommend this tour
star-4
Driver was efficient picking us up...
Bruce E
, Apr 2017
Driver was efficient picking us up and giving us information as we drove into Dunedin. Olveston House was excellent. Disappointed that we could not take pictures inside the house, but the furnishings were amazing and the guide was very good. We had free time in the city centre - visited the art museum and the Anglican and Presbyterian churches - very interesting and imposing buildings. The Dunedin Railway station was good. Only drawback was that all the tourist buses were parked in front of the building with the result that we could not get good pictures! The sightseeing tour was essentially a two-hour bus ride. I wished we could have gotten off the bus from time to time to see some of the local highlights. However, if you only have a short time, this is one way of getting an overview.
star-5
Olveston house is definitely one to...
tina w
, Mar 2017
Olveston house is definitely one to see on your visit here it is totally in tack and the tour really interesting. It was good to have some time in town before the highlight tour a great tour..
star-5
Dunedin - what a town - we will be...
Rhonda H
, Feb 2017
Dunedin - what a town - we will be back! The excursion undertaken was one of the highlights to New Zealand, it was value for money, not rushed and our driver 'Richard' was exceptionally knowledgeable and conveyed it in a way that everyone could understand he must have been a radio announcer in a previous life. we would recommend this excursion to any traveller.
star-3
Things were disorganised at the port...
George C
, Feb 2017
Things were disorganised at the port as we were brusquely sorted into groups. We were taken to Olveston for an excellent one hour guided tour. This is an amazing place. This tour can be taken independently for 20 nz. We were taken into the town centre at 10.45 and told to be at the station by 14.00. This is too long to hang around in Dunedin even with lunch. When we went to the station at 1350 Richard told ùs we would have a long wait for people to join us from another tour They arrived about 1420 but lack of organisation led to two people getting on the wrong bus and another 20 minutes hanging around. We were treated throughout in an offhand manner and Richard clearly wanted to be somewhere else? We took several tours on our time in New Zealand and this was by far the worst. No doubt Viator business will keep the Good Tour company afloat but they need to give themselves a shake and treat cruise passengers better.
star-1
Booked a coach tour for two elderly...
Robert_F
, Feb 2017
Booked a coach tour for two elderly ladies. Got picked up from our cruise boat by one bus then rushed through investing house. We didn't even get to see outside in the garden. One of their interests. Then a different driver picked us up and dropped us off on the Shopping Centre for four very long hours. A feet and ankle swelling experience for the feeble old dears. Who had to walk a fair way back to the train station. Our next driver didn't really want to take us on our haha 2hour tour this consisted of a drive around the outskirts of Dunedin, the look out and the way back to the ship. Very expensive taxi ride really. Olvesten house was worth the visit. Pity they rushed us off. Not recommended at all
star-1
One of the worst organised tours...
Arthur_R
, Jan 2017
One of the worst organised tours that we have had the misfortune to be on. Mainly because after we were taken to Olveston House from Port Chalmers and had a look round that, which was fine, we got onto a coach provided by the company and were then told by the driver that we were going to be dumped in the centre of Dunedin and abandoned for half a day, ie three and a half hours. We were told to hang around Dunedin from 1100 till 1430 when we had to make our own way to Dunedin Train Station and look for our sightseeing coach. This was totally unacceptable behaviour by the tour company and at no stage was it explained in the tour details or even by the driver who first picked us up from the ship that we would be dumped by the tour company in the middle of the tour for half a day working day. If we had known in advance we would never have even dreamt of booking this tour. Not only were we just dumped but it was a Sunday and pouring with rain all day and there was absolutely nothing to do in Dunedin. We hadn't even had a city tour first so we could orientate ourselves in the city. Not that we could have done anything anyway as it was so wet and a Sunday so very little open. I did complain to the driver who picked us up from Olveston House but he clearly couldn't care less and just said that it was nothing to do with him. The driver said we could spend the time on the Internet as there was a free connection at the Octagon but that wasn't true as although some people could connect the system was clearly incapable of coping with the huge number of people trying to connect. So we had to go to a cafe and incur additional expense in order to get an Internet connection. After the huge wait we eventually found our new driver at the Station and did our tour of the Otago peninsula etc. However there was thick fog so hardly anything could be seen - though I accept that the fog was not the company's fault. However, they should have had some sort of a standby plan for such situations. So that part of the tour was largely a wash-out not helped by a not very friendly driver. We were then taken back to the ship as planned but to add final insult to injury the driver dropped us and around half the passengers at the terminal and we were then expected to walk a couple of hundred metres to our ship in the still pouring rain, getting completely soaked. However we saw that our driver took the remaining passengers who were from the other ship directly to the gangway for their ship so none of those passengers got wet! However we saw other coaches took passengers directly to our ship so it was quite obvious that our driver was just being difficult and rude. When in the cafe I did send an email to the local company organising our tour and buses but up to now I have had absolutely no response or even acknowledgement from them. The whole day was nearly completely useless and the way the local company handled the whole tour was a disaster. It was also extraordinarily bad customer service and reminded me of the 70's and 80's with a frequently bad attitude from staff in the travel industry and very poor levels of customer service. An extremely unhappy and annoying and frustrating day for us. I would certainly suggest that you never utilise this sub-contractor again.
star-4
Olveston House was wonderful, a...
Susan_B
, Jan 2017
Olveston House was wonderful, a beautiful home bought to life by our great guide! The city tour was extensive and very informative. We saw so much of Dunedin. The spare time, approximately 4 hours in the city was great for us as we wanted to do some shopping and take a look at the Station. Our driver was very informative and personalised the drive around the city. Great day out.
star-4
We enjoyed visiting the Olveston...
stevet1003
, Apr 2016
We enjoyed visiting the Olveston House with its history and furnishings intact from the 1900's. Sort of a smallish Downton Abbey! We then had a few hours in downtown Dunedin to wonder about and eat lunch before resuming our city tour. We had some excellent viewpoints from the hills about Dunedin to see the city and the countryside. We had a very nice day there!
star-4
Well organised and punctual. Gave us a...
Nettie
, Apr 2016
Well organised and punctual. Gave us a real insight to Dunedin and it's surrounds
star-5
Loved Olveston House and the...
John H
, Mar 2016
Loved Olveston House and the surrounding sights. Well done.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour
Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour

star-463

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$52.91

star-4.514

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$154.74

star-575

7 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$157.97

star-4.533

6 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$109.12

star-41

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$157.97

star-51

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$255.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations