Recent Searches

Picton Shore Excursion Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

star-4.583 Reviews
Picton, New Zealand
Picton Shore Excursion Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 7 days in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon5 to 6 hours  (Approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds


Swap the cruise port for a Marlborough wine tour on this shore excursion to a half dozen boutique wineries or more. When your ship pulls into Picton, travel by minivan through this notable wine region in the South Island, sipping award-winning New Zealand wines and sampling delectable chocolates. Opt for extra time to taste wine and purchase a seasonal gourmet lunch on this small-group tour, limited to 11 people for an intimate experience.
  • Taste aromatic sauvignon blanc wines, oak-barreled chardonnays, and dry rieslings
  • Visit Makana Boutique Chocolate Factory and sample varieties of chocolates
  • Small-group tour with a maximum of 11 passengers ensures a more personalized experience
  • Covered by Viator’s worry-free policy: guaranteed on-time return to your ship
Saved to wishlist!
Port pickup and drop-off
Wine tastings
Chocolate samples
Worry-free Shore Excursion Guarantee
Transport by air-conditioned minivan
Food and drinks, unless specified

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
Pickup Time will be advised at booking usually tour departs at 9.30am but depends on your Cruise Ships timings.


  • Picton i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, The Foreshore, Picton 7220, New Zealand

Departure Time

9:30 AM
On this South Island shore excursion, you’ll taste gourmet delights such as fine wine paired with chocolate. Begin your small-group Marlborough wine tour with pickup at a central meeting point, then travel by minivan from Picton to Marlborough, one of New Zealand's renowned wine regions.

Choose from two tour lengths at booking. Each option proceeds at your group’s own pace and the number of Marlborough wineries visited may vary (see below). You’re introduced to aromatic bouquets, spicy hints and complex flavors of fine wines by your knowledgeable guide. Stop at the Makana Boutique Chocolate Factory where you can sample a variety of succulent homemade chocolates—from fruit-filled and nutty bites to velvety truffles. Your tour ends with return transport to the original departure point.
Stop At:  
Leisure Tours
After being picked up at the Picton port when your cruise ship docks, your relaxing small-group tour heads out of the city to New Zealand's world-famous Marlborough wine region. Choose either the 5-hour or 6.5-hour tour, before returning to the Picton port by minivan. Both options include a visit to the Makana Boutique Chocolate Factory, where you’ll see delicious chocolates being made by hand. Enjoy a sample of the many varieties made here, from succulent truffles to fruit-filled chocolates and nutty bites. 5-Hour Tour: Visit five to six Marlborough wineries for tastings of sparkling and dessert wines, oaked chardonnay and New Zealand’s signature wine variety, sauvignon blanc. Snacks and nibbles are available to purchase at the vineyards (own expense). The number of vineyards visited may vary, as each winery stop is relaxed and the tour proceeds at your group’s own pace. 6.5-Hour Tour with Lunch: Choose the longer tour option to taste wines at six to eight wineries. Plus, have time to enjoy a gourmet lunch at one of the Marlborough region’s premium vineyard restaurants, featuring seasonal produce like New Zealand lamb and seafood (at own expense). Worry-free Shore Excursion: We will ensure your timely return to the Picton port for this activity. In the rare event your ship has departed, we will arrange for transportation to the next port-of-call. If your ship is delayed and you are unable to attend this activity, your money will be refunded. See our terms and conditions for full details.
Duration: 6 hours 
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum age is 18
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 18 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Leisure Tours
You can cancel up to 7 days in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • Any changes made less than 6 full days before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • For a 50% refund, you must cancel 3–6 full days before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 2 full days before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 2 full days before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 7 full days before the experience’s start time.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

Traveler Tips

  • "If you enjoy very goods wines and want to experience the Marlborough region as a local this tour is for you." See review
  • "The chocolate shop offered one sample (which was delicious) but was expensive." See review


83 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 83 reviews
Small group the way to go!
, Mar 2020
The small group was the way to go. Saw smaller wineries and got the personal touch. Wines were great too!
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thanks for another awesome review Bill! I'm glad you enjoyed your Marlborough Wine Tour too. We totally agree, small group wine trails are definitely the way to go! I hope you picked up a bottle or two of your favourite wines from this famous New Zealand wine region.
Enjoyable wine tasting
, Feb 2020
We had a great time visiting 4 wineries and enjoying the beautiful scenery during the ride to/from the valley. (The region does make more white wines than red.) Our guide/driver was very informative and gave us plenty of time at each location. Our stop for lunch (at our own expense) was fine, there were plenty of choices and it was nice to sit outside and eat while listening to live music. The chocolate shop offered one sample (which was delicious) but was expensive. We had 9 people (including us) on our tour and we had no problem finding the correct van. We had some time both before and after the tour to explore Picton.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thanks for the great review of your Marlborough Small Group Wine Tour from Picton, Martha. I'm glad you had such an enjoyable time on this shore excursion. The Marlborough Wine Region is such a beautiful area and hosts some of the best wines and wineries in the country. I'm pleased that your driver/guide was also informative and helpful with your excursion. I'll be sure to pass on your kind words. Thanks again and I hope you get to visit Picton and Marlborough again soon!
Failed to notify me in time of a time change so the tour was missed.
, Jan 2020
Never did the trip I had booked & prepaid months before as they brought the time forward but I wasn't notified in time before the cruise started or via the ship in order for me to know that I should have been there an hour earlier than I'd been told. Not happy at all & they told me it was my fault & that I wouldn't get a refund. I had to go to the tourist centre & pay to book a wine tour with another company that was great.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Although the customers had been emailed at the time of booking, detailed meeting instructions with a 09.30 start time they arrived late and missed the start of the tour. We offered to make arrangements to collect them and catch up with the tour, however, there would be a 20 minute delay and they would miss the first winery. Instead they asked to cancel and although no fault of our own we offered to refund in full. The booking was made through Tripadvisor / Viator, unfortunately their booking system provides a default start time, however, as all cruise ships arrival and departure times are different we adjust this start time with specific meeting instructions and in many years of operation have not encountered this issue previously.
Excellent wine. Excellent food.
, Nov 2019
Excellent chocolate. Picton is such a beautiful place to visit. Looking forward to going there again next year
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Thank you for the 5 star review! We're really pleased you had such a nice time in Picton. We agree that Picton and the Marlborough region is such a beautiful part of our country. It's great to hear you returning to Picton next year. Be sure to keep us in mind! :)
Too Many White Wines
R Donald L
, Nov 2019
Wineries were fine but too focused on white wines. Tour director was hard to understand and did not manage time very well.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Thank you for taking your time to submit your feedback. I am sorry you considered the tour too focused on wineries, however, it was a wine tour and the winery visits were of the main focus. Due to the cruise ships schedule the tour has to be back in port by a certain time to ensure that all customers are back onboard prior to departure.
, Nov 2019
Confirmation said look out for ' marlborough wine tours van' so we waited by the vans. When our names were not called queried this only to be told we were with Canterbury Leisure Tours!! As a result nearly missed the tour! far from impressed. Tour was OK but confusing start spoilt the day
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
I am sorry you found the tour confused with regard to the meeting instructions at the beginning of the day. Detailed meeting instructions are sent out, however, with all tours departing from Picton I Site (as the port is a restircted area) and with a lot of the vehicles with the wording 'Marlborough' it may take a few minutes to locate the correct vehicle and driver, especially with 100's of passengers all arriving at once.
No Fun Here!
, Nov 2019
There was chaos at the Meeting Area as people wandered around trying to find the mini bus they were booked with. The overview of this tur stated there would be a maximum of 11 passengers. We had 18 people jammed into every seat. 16 were actually booked on the tour and 2 more people were added at the last minute who werent assigned their own mini van. The tour guide was absoluwely shocking. She was in her late 70s with a heavy German accent. She was difficult to understand and conducted the tour in an officious manner. We were given very strict times of how long we would spend at each winery, and when some of the passengers demanded individual attention and their own wine tasting the rest of the group was left waiting to taste the wines on the tasting list and therefore were rushed back onto the mini van with no time to relax at the winery. We felt rushed at every winery, only allowed to taste certain wines which we would not normally even want to taste. The seasonal gourmet lunch spoken of in he Overview of the tour amounted to standing in an extremely long line with a very limited time to be there, and being forced to choose something off the shelf that needed no preparation. They had run out of meat pies due to the heavy crowd of buses there and again we were rushed out of there. The chocolate factory was also very crowded and our tour guide had failed to mention at the previous stop that there would be no restrooms there, so we had to wait until our return to Picton to use a restroom. The whole day was rushed with an elderly woman constantly doing head counts with no smile on her face. She told us facts about the Marlborough area all day but her voice was monotonous and hard to understand. We were so excited to be doing this trip but were extremely disappointed at the result, mainly due to the tour guide with an officious manner, who had not one tiny bit of fun, and 18 people jammed onto the bus when there was only supposed to be 11. When many people on the mini bus questioned why there was 18 people, we were told by the organisers that there would never be 11 and we had been told the incorrect information by our travel agent! I would never recommend this tour to anyone.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Thank you for taking the time to submit this review. The tour which you booked was a small group tour, 10 - 20 passengers. Clear meeting instructions were provided, however, in Picton everyone is taken from the wharf which is a closed area to the Picton I-Site where the tours depart from, with 100's of passengers arriving at the same time and a lot of tours departing things are naturally very busy. Due to the ships scheduled departure time the tour needs to remain on schedule to get everyone back in time. It is disppointing that you did not enjoy the guide provided. The alternative would be to do one of the cruise ships tours at twice the price and with 40-50 other passengers.
Great day out
, Jan 2019
A wonderful tour of the wineries with very pleasant guide April. Topped off with stop at the chocolate factory.
Terrific wine experience
Janet M
, Dec 2018
Dean provided a great cross section of smaller wineries in the Marlborough region. His local insight and approachable friendly manner made this a fabulous day. If you enjoy very goods wines and want to experience the Marlborough region as a local this tour is for you.
So much fun!!!
, Jul 2018
There were just 8 of us on this small group tour, 3 couples traveling together (us and our friends) and another couple. What a fun day! We visited 4 wineries, sampled wine, bought wine, had lunch at one of the wineries and stopped at a wonderful little chocolate factory, couldn't have asked for a better day!!! Our driver was excellent, told us about himself and his connection to the area and how he came to be a driver for Viator. The scenery was spectacular, we especially enjoyed seeing the sheep grazing in the vineyards, so cool. Have used Viator in several places around the world and will continue to do so, have never had a bad time. Thanks!

Compare Similar Experiences

Picton Shore Excursion Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour
Picton Shore Excursion Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour


5 to 6 hours

Free Cancellation



5 hours

Free Cancellation



5 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation



5 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation



7 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



1 hour 45 minutes

Free Cancellation



7 hours

Free Cancellation


Explore Similar Things to Do