Recent Searches
Clear

Clearwater Beach Day Trip from Orlando with Dolphin Encounter Cruise

|
Kissimmee, United States
Clearwater Beach Day Trip from Orlando with Dolphin Encounter Cruise
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon12 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Swap Orlando for the white sand of Clearwater Beach and enjoy a dolphin encounter cruise while you’re there. The idyllic stretch of the west Florida coast is home to pods of bottleneck dolphins, so it’s a great opportunity to hop aboard a sightseeing boat and see them in the water. The rest of the time, how you enjoy yourself is up to you. Sunbathe, swim and have lunch in an oceanside restaurant (if option selected) before your return to Orlando.
  • Day trip from Orlando to Clearwater Beach
  • Enjoy a dolphin watching cruise
  • Watch adorable bottlenose dolphins swimming through the Gulf of Mexico
  • Spend free time on Clearwater's soft white sand and enjoy an oceanside restaurant lunch (if option selected)
  • Round-trip transportation from select locations in Orlando included
Saved to wishlist!
Lunch (if option selected)
2-hour dolphin cruise
Pickup and drop-off from centralized pick up locations in Orlando
Gratuities
Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)
  • Maingate Lakeside Resort , 7769 W Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747, USA

    WildSide Texas BBQ

  • Swan Hotel , Swan Hotel, 1200 Epcot Resorts Blvd, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830, USA
  • Señor Frog's , 8747 International Dr #103, Orlando, FL 32819, USA
  • 7:00 AM
    This activity will end right where it started.
    Meet your coach at one of the central pickup points and head west toward the sun-soaked Gulf of Mexico coast. Relax as you travel and listen to your driver talk about the region. A movie may also be played.

    Hop off your coach at Clearwater Beach, where white sand and clear seas await. Make the most of your free time to soak it all up.

    Then, head to the marina from where your dolphin-watching cruise starts. Climb aboard the boat and cruise on the calm waters around Caladesi Island and Clearwater to see pods of bottlenose dolphins leaping alongside the boat. If you wish, buy a wristband for unlimited onboard drinks.

    When you return to the shore, enjoy more free time to bask on the beach, swim, or do some watersports. Equipment, as well as beach chairs, and sunshades are available to rent. If you have upgraded your tour to include lunch, enjoy an oceanside restaurant lunch.

    Later, return to your coach and travel back to Orlando. Your day trip finishes with a drop off at your original pick up location.
    Itinerary
    Stop At:  
    The Tropics Boat Tours
    After pickup from select Orlando hotels, your day of fun in the sun begins as you head west to Florida's Gulf of Mexico coast. During the approximate 1.5-hour bus ride, listen to a little bit of history on Clearwater from your driver, hear about what you'll find when you get there, and watch an onboard movie. When you arrive at Clearwater Beach, you'll have a couple of hours to spend how you wish on the beach, and then you'll head to the marina for your one-hour dolphin-encounter cruise. Watch for native bottlenose dolphins -- the sea's most lovable creatures -- as they play in their natural habitat. Snap photos of them jumping and swimming along the boat, and admire views of the beautiful shorelines of Clearwater and Caladesi Island. A $10 wristband can be purchased on board for unlimited beer, wine, vodka punch.
    Duration: 2 hours 
    Admission Ticket Included
    Stop At:  
    Clearwater Beach
    Back on the beach, enjoy approximately three to four more hours of free time to do as you wish -- swim, bodyboard, work on your tan or go for a walk on the sand. Beach umbrellas and chairs, as well as watersports equipment, are available for rent from a stand on the beach, if you wish. When you're ready to eat, simply use your lunch voucher (if option selected) to pick up your lunch and enjoy a picnic on the beach. In total, you'll spend about seven to eight hours in Clearwater, depending on the traffic from Orlando. The exact departure time of your dolphin cruise may vary depending on the day.
    Duration: 7 hours 
    Admission Ticket Free
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 5 days of travel. In this case confirmation will be received within 48 hours, subject to availability
    • Wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Infants must sit on laps
    • Post COVID-19 Safety Updates - We politely request that you refrain from taking this tour should you start displaying any of the symptoms associated with COVID-19, or if you are at a high risk of contracting the disease. Face masks are recommended but not mandatory, so please bring your own if you wish to wear one.
    • Most travelers can participate
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers
    • OPERATED BY City Sightseeing Orlando
    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Learn more about cancellations.

    The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
    Q:
    What is the policy on sanitization during Clearwater Beach Day Trip from Orlando with Dolphin Encounter Cruise?
    A:The policies on sanitization are:

    • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
    • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
    • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
    • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
    See all safety measures taken by Clearwater Beach Day Trip from Orlando with Dolphin Encounter Cruise.
    Q:
    What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Clearwater Beach Day Trip from Orlando with Dolphin Encounter Cruise?
    A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

    • Guides required to regularly wash hands
    • Regular temperature checks for staff
    See all safety measures taken by Clearwater Beach Day Trip from Orlando with Dolphin Encounter Cruise.

    Traveler Photos

    See More
    See More

    Reviews

    4.0
    star-4
    63 Reviews

    Reviews by Viator travelers

    We perform checks on reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 63 reviews
    star-2
    Stay away from this our and the bus company
    Prashant_R
    , Aug 2022
    Very disappointing. Pickup was delayed 30 minutes (from 7am to 7:30). After that, the next two pickups took 1 hour. Now, it's 8:30am and it takes 2 hour to get to Clearwater Beach. Now it's 10:30am, and the tour operator tells us that our optional dolphin cruise is at 11am...however, boarding does not start until 11:15am and the tour does not start until 11:30am. Our tour operator, Annetta, actually told the cruise operator that she didn't know what she was supposed to do...not what an "experienced" tour guide should be saying. Cruise took 2 hours...so now, it's 1:30pm. We opted for the included lunch, which is a VERY reduced menu at Crabby's Dockside on the beach. After eating, it was 2:00pm. We had 2 hours on the beach and then it was time to head back at 4:30, for the travel back to the hotel. In total, this 12 hour trip broke down to 6 hours of total pickup/driving/drop off ; 2 hour cruise ; 1 hour eating and 2.5 hours beach. For the price they charge, 2.5 hours was not enough. The bus was run-down and dingy. The bus was FREEZING cold. When we told the tour guide, she said that it was warmer up front (where she was) and that we could TRY to get a seat up front on the way back. That was her solution...the bus driver couldn't even turn the air down. We talked to the tour guide on the bus, and she had no answer, other than to write a bad review.
    icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
    I am so sorry you were disappointed with your day. This tour does operate exactly as described on the website. Clearwater is a two hour ride in each direction no matter which way you look at it. According to our records you did confirm the exact pickup time several days before travel and your voucher did state 7:30 am pickup time. Choosing a boat ride and having lunch is something that does take time out of your day. It being high season, all boats operating from the pier require advance check in as most are sold out and they want to be sure they can accommodate any last minute walk up guests as well as our group. The bus ac is something we are happy to look into. Keeping an ac temp for a 57 passenger bus full of guest who have been outside is 90 degree weather all day is not an easy thing to do.
    star-5
    Beach day!
    Idamis_R
    , Aug 2022
    We had an amazing day. The bus ride was very conftable they had drinks and snacks. The crew was very welcoming. The beach was beautiful and the Dolphin cruise was great
    icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
    Glad you had a good day. The complementary drinks and snacks on the bus are new for us....glad you enjoyed them. Thank you for taking the time to comment.
    star-3
    Had Fun Under the Sun
    Charmy_C
    , Jul 2022
    The moat memorable is to experience the smooth waves, the clean beautiful clearwater beach. The dolphin sightseeing was hood too. I purchased the tour with lunch inclusions at Crabbys, it was not okay that we only get limited options for lunch. The Orlando Sightseeing, if i may suggest to change their timing. We left late from Orlando while waiting for some passengers, we arrive an hour before the Dolphin Sightseeing and had fun roaming around. The dolphin tour was 2hrs by the time it finished its almost 3pm. I suggest you just grab your lunch to go from the crabbys and head out to the beach to have time to swim. The tour bus will left 5:10pm and we need to be there at 4:45😞.We saw online that it will be until 7pm tour but i think it includes the travel time. For us it was not enough time to left 5:10pm and not to enjoy the beautiful clearwater beach. So we opted to stay and ride with uber all the way back to Orlando👌😊 We stayed until sunset 8:30pm. We enjoyed and had so much fun. My recommendations if you will take this tour and would not like to swim then include dolphin exploration but if you like to have fun under the sun and experience the stunning beauty and smooth waves of the beach. Try to take uber or local bus and enjoy! It was fun at Pier 60 Clearwater Causeway…!
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    Thank you for commenting!. We do our very best to stay as long as we can and would love to be able to offer more time in Clearwater however, there are saftey regulations we must follow. The driver can only drive a certain number of hours in a day...so saftey is a concern.
    star-5
    Bee was the best tour guide ever!!
    Madynn_W
    , Jul 2022
    My most memorable experience was the beach at Clearwater we had so much fun we enjoyed the ocean the white sand and all the amenities.
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    Thank you for yor comments. B is really great isnt she!
    star-5
    Clearwater Dolphin cruise
    Bernadette_C
    , Jul 2022
    The white sand is incredibly beautiful and boat cruise and 🐬 dolphins quite enjoyable! Tour guide Bea and driver were very pleasant and knowledgeable.
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    Thank you ! We are gld you had a good time
    star-4
    The beach is amazing. The...
    Alex_D
    , Jul 2022
    The beach is amazing. The boat ride is great but a little long. Kids loved the dolphins. Clearwater is beautiful.
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    Dolphins are amazing right! So glad you had a good time. Thank you for taking the time to comment
    star-3
    Average experience
    Randall_Z
    , Jun 2022
    First the bus gets there almost at 10, so that only gives you an hour to go to the beach before you get out to get on the dolphin cruise. We had the lunch after the cruise then you only have a short time as well if you want to go back to the beach.
    icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
    Thank you for commenting. We really wish we could offer more time at the beach however, with more than two hours travel time each way, and traffic.... staying longer is difficult.
    star-5
    Great adventure to take
    Kathleen_M
    , Jun 2022
    It was a wonderful trip. The beach is beautiful and the boat cruise to see the dolphins was remarkable we were able to see so many. Our tour guide Luis was great, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Taking the lunch voucher was a great idea. Would highly recommend this excursion.
    icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
    Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed yourselves!
    star-4
    Really good with a few concerns
    Judy_L
    , Apr 2022
    The Clearwater Dolphin Encounter was very good. A beautiful day, and we saw many dolphins. Lunch at Crabby's was great. Our driver was awesome, but our tour guide was not knowledgeable as other Viator guides have been. She (Robin?) gave several pieces of wrong information, like alligators are going extinct (false), and there are no sharks in Clearwater (false). What?? Nice lady, but she needs more training pronto. The back of the van was sweltering hot on the way back: please cool if off, before we travel home, as other operators have done in the past.
    icon Response from Host , May 2022
    Thank you for your comments. We will certainly make sure Robin is up on fact. Glad yoy had a good day
    star-1
    Unprofessional intoxicated bus driver
    Ellice_C
    , Apr 2022
    My client took her daughter on this tour and while they were on the boat tour their bus driver was drinking at the bar and became intoxicated. The bus driver was very unprofessional. When we contacted the main office she said it was a he said she said case and there was nothing we could do about it. My client ended up paying for a shuttle back to Orlando. This experience was awful and we will never recommend this tour company again.
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    star-5
    Great, Great, Great
    Shawna_S
    , Apr 2022
    The tour guide was great and Is knowledgeable. It was a great experience. We would definitely do it again.
    icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
    Clearwater is one of the nicest beaches around! So happy to hear you had to good day!
    star-3
    Dolphin Encounter
    Natasha_J
    , Sep 2021
    We got to see a few small pods of dolphins, so that was good. As other reviews have stated, however, other things made the trip out just average. They don't allow food or drinks on board, and their snacks, drinks, and alcohol weren't remotely cheap. They don't even allow water, but if you're ok with drinking it from a Gatorade cooler, they do provide it. Lastly, the tour was not quite 2 hours long, but that may have been due to maneuvering the waterways.
    icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
    Hi There! Thank you so much for your feedback on the Dolphin encounter boat ride. We will certainly pass this on the staff at the Dolphin Encounter so they are aware. Your feedback is very important to us and the boat companies that we use. Thank you again and so happy you got to see some Dolphins!
    star-2
    Nit the best way to spen your money
    Gabriela_R
    , Aug 2021
    My family and I were looking forward to this outing so much, but sadly it was disappointing. Out driver and tour guide were very nice and helpful, but when they put us on the boat. There weren't enough seats for everyone so we stood a great part of the two hours. I asked one of the guys about seating and he said that once we got moving people would get up and move around. Still that wasn't the point. You should only be taking out the number of people that you can seat throughout the whole ride. My mother is elderly so this was a big deal for me. The bartender was rude and even though I paid for a two hour boat ride I got shorted 20 minutes which May not seem like a lot, but considering what I paid for 5 people it sure was not pleasant. I guarantee you I couldn't short them $20 dollars for each person. Anyway.......it was ok. I wouldn't do it again though. Waste of time and money in my opinion.
    icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
    Thank you so much for your feedback on the Dolphin Encounter tour. We will certainly pass this on to the boat company so they are aware. We have been offering this boat your for a very long time and have not had this type of feedback before so we will certainly be looking into it. Thank you so much!
    star-5
    CLEAR WATER BEACH DOLPHINS CRUISE.
    Nola_D
    , Aug 2021
    Tour Operator was great. Learned a lot history with the drive. Clear instructions. Driver got us There safe.. beach is beautiful and warm.
    icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
    We are so happy you had a great time on our tour to Clearwater Beach. It is an amazing part of Florida and we are excited to share this with our travelers into Orlando. Thank you again and we do hope to see you again in the near future!
    star-5
    Great trip
    Lafrieda_B
    , Jul 2021
    The trip was good. Bus driver and tour guide were very friendly. I was disappointed in the dolphin encounter because of mechanical problems, we were not able to go. The people on the bus who did the other tour said it was great. I took my grandchildren and they enjoyed the beach. It was well worth the money and I would do it again. I was happy that there was water on the bus and a movie was playing going and coming back. A great way to spend the day away from the theme parks.
    icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
    Thank you so much! Yes we were pretty bummed as well about the mechanical issue. It is very rare, but I guess the boat decided it didn't want to play that day. We are happy you were able to enjoy the beach as there is so much more to do than just the boat ride. We hope to have you again in the near future!
    star-1
    Terrible
    Ibrahim_A
    , Jul 2021
    The trip was cancelled due to technical issues couldn't experience the fun, I am yet to get my refund
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
    Thank you so much for your feedback. We are sorry your boat tour portion of your tour was cancelled due to mechanical issues. While we can not predict mechanical failures on the boat tours, we can say that it is very rare. We sent all refunds on the day to your booking agent to process and this can take 7-10 business days to reflect. If you have any concerns please do feel free to reach out to us at reservations@citysightseeingorlando.com as we are glad to help. We are happy thought that you did get to spend the day at the beach.
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    star-5
    Awesome
    Beth_M
    , Jul 2021
    That boat ride was amazing and our tour lady on the bus!! She is the sweetest!! Bus driver has some awesome driving skills in that traffic lol!!
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
    Thank you Beth! We appreciate your comments. We proud to work with a great bunch of people.
    star-5
    Fun Day in Clearwater
    Yota_K
    , Jun 2021
    Our tour guides Teka, Trainee Helen and the bus driver (Linda, not positive) were great. The dolphin cruise and beach when not raining was very nice too.
    icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
    Thank you Yota. Clearwater is good time and we are proud to have such a great staff.
    star-3
    Fair…Plain for more expensive drinks
    Julie_G
    , Jun 2021
    The guides were AMAZING, from the lady on the bus to everyone on the boat!!!! The prices for drinks are NOT correct on the site, we planned on $20 plus tip for drinks….with tip it was almost $50, the food was alright, wish there were more seafood options
    icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
    Thank you so much for letting us know. We will inform the boat tour about their prices listed on the site. With covid I can say a lot of businesses are short staffed so this may have been missed while we all get back to a normal. We have been getting rave reviews about the restaurant we are using but will reach out to give feedback about more seafood options. Seafood as well is seasonal and is sometimes listed at market price and this is why we don't always have a large selection of seafood on our select menu. Our guests are always welcome to upgrade and pay the difference at the restaurant on the day. Thank you again as the feedback is very helpful to future travelers.
    star-5
    Well worth the money!!!
    Bridgette_M
    , Jun 2021
    We had a great time!! The dolphin encounter was just that we saw many pods of dolphins and boat crew was amazing…
    icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
    Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear you had a good day!
    1 traveler found this review helpful

    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Compare Similar Experiences

    Current
    Clearwater Beach Day Trip from Orlando with Dolphin Encounter Cruise
    Likely to Sell Out
    Clearwater Beach Day Trip from Orlando with Dolphin Encounter Cruise

    star-463

    12 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $98.99

    star-4.583

    12 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $78.99

    star-559

    12 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $100.00

    star-3.57

    12 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $119.99

    star-525

    12 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $98.99

    star-4.535

    11 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $68.99

    star-3.59

    12 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $144.99

    star-540

    2 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $65.00

    star-522

    12 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $169.00
    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Explore Similar Things to Do

    Why you are seeing these recommendations