Recent Searches
Clear

Hierve el Agua, Teotitlán del Valle, mezcal, el tule, desde Oaxaca

star-4.5109 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Oaxaca de Juárez, Mexico
Hierve el Agua, Teotitlán del Valle, mezcal, el tule, desde Oaxaca

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon11 hours  (approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Saved to wishlist!
transportación y guía bilingüe
pick up 8:00 am
Gratuities
alimentos, propinas
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Quinta Real Oaxaca , 5 de Mayo 300, RUTA INDEPENDENCIA, Centro, 68000 Oaxaca de Juárez, Oax., Mexico

Quinta Real Oaxaca, 5 de Mayo 300, Centro, 68000 Oaxaca de Juárez, Oax., Mexico

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

8:00 AM
This activity will end right where it started.please write the name of your hotel in the comments, otherwise we will assume that we will meet at the Quinta Real hotel at the time confirmed by message This could be from 8:00 a.m. (It is important to confirm the tour one day before)
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Turismo el Convento de Oaxaca
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Bring your own questions, they will be eager to answer anything you may hace in mind." See review
  • "This is a packed and a great must do day trip from Oaxaca." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
109 Reviews
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 109 reviews
star-5
Wonderful
Alicia_H
, Jul 2022
Moises was my tour guide and Ramiro was my driver. They made the experience seamless and enjoyable. Every place that we stopped, I learned a bit more history about the area and the people.
star-5
Awesome tour
Davide_G
, Apr 2022
Our tour guide was Moises and he was excellent. Very knowledgeable and excited to share his country with us. As we were driving, he would point out archeological sites along the way or tell us interesting facts. The tour was really great! The itinerary was true to form with the addition of visiting a candle workshop in a zapotec community which was very awesome. Otherwise, we visited all the other sites, the weaving work ship, the mezcal factory, Mitla (amazing, and liked better than Monte Alban), lunch at a nearby hotel (buffet, plenty of vegetarian options, was pretty good but not special), Hierve el Agua (glad to have a tour to drive there as the road is pretty windy and scary, we ended up hiking down below the "falls" in the hour we had to get away from some of the crowds which was nice) and Tule (was surprised by this stop, was nice and had some Elote from a street vendor). Overall, the tour was great. A nice change to visit communities and support them with your purchases instead of buying things from markets where you are not sure where the money goes. Would recommend this tour especially if Moises is your tour guide!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Well rounded
Margery_L
, Mar 2022
The Zapotec village weavers were outstanding. Mitla was a wonder. Great tour, and wonderful guide. We had been to Hueve el Agua before but it is still impressive.
star-5
Easy way to see some of Oaxaca’s highlights
Jennifer_H
, Mar 2022
Very smooth and well organised day. Antonio was very patient and informative, driving was safe and calm. The rugs weavers and mezcal tasting were both really great spots to learn about the crafts. Antonio’s knowledge on Mitla was very very thorough and then the day ends with the beautiful petrified waterfalls- definitely recommend
star-5
Go!!!! Fun day.
Lillie_H
, Feb 2022
Our guides and driver were excellent. It's a long day but worth it. Some of the walks were challenging. It was super hot so be prepared with sunscreen and water. I learned a lot and would absolutely recommend this tour.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Nice but with a Disappointment!
Youssef_A
, Dec 2021
We chose this tour based on its note, the initial program was not respected, we did not visit mitla then it is a thing that we absolutely wanted to visit. We are now obliged to revisit it by our own means. We stayed only 10min to the tree of tule. If the announced program cannot be respected, it is better not to specify it the description of the tour (that was announced to us at the beginning of the tour). What we saw was super interesting and pretty but missed nevertheless mitla. Small remark: we learned nothing from the tourist guide, he spoke to us just to announce the next destination without more, no history, no preparations, nothing at all. The driver alone would have been enough!
4 travelers found this review helpful
star-3
Decent tour!
Ryan_G
, Dec 2021
Communication and pickup was organized. The water falls themselves were 100% visiting. I could have skipped the other tourist traps as in all tours lunch was barely above awful and its your only option. Our guide was average. Made sure we made it but that was about it. Also, I believe others on the trip received a cheaper rate by booking through hotels.
star-4
The tour itself was nice,...
Vanja_Z
, Nov 2021
The tour itself was nice, I would just recommend booking it somewhere in the town as you can get it cheaper. The tour guide was kind and nice, but didn't provide a lot of information to be honest
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Good times outside Oaxaca
Joan_B
, Oct 2021
Teotitlán and the dyeing/weaving was a great education, especially for anyone who doesn’t really know how this is done old-school. The candlemakers are very artistic in their production. We could even try our hand at dipping parts of flowers. The five caves were a real physical workout getting up to them. If you’re unsteady on your feet, this part is not for you. The mezcal tasting was interesting, and the mezcal creams are a real must-try for anyone who can’t hack the pure stuff. Gabriel, our tour guide did a great job and was extremely helpful, even the next day when we met him again while he was doing another tour.
star-5
Lots to see
Tyler_M
, Oct 2021
Great tour guide, hiking to see the caves with a zappotec guide, learning about artisans in their work
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
If you have only a day in Oaxaca, do this tour!
Elizabeth_A
, Jul 2021
This is an amazing tour. Our guide Moises was friendly, helpful and incredibly knowledgeable. Every stop was delightful. Nelson Perez’ workshop tour was over the top. If you have any knowledge or experience with textile art, you will want to stay there all day! My friend wants to apprentice with him. The Mezcal tasting was a little “meh” as the staff was pushy, asking for tips even before we started. The village and ruins of Mitla was great. While smaller than Monte Albán, you can access more of it. The market there was generally cheaper than in the city of Oaxaca. At the candle making workshop, our guide was truly darling and she let us play with the wax and molds as long as we wished. Their products are unique and we got severa to take home as gifts. A couple of important things you should know before you go: the climb to the caves is STRENUOUS! There is an elevation gain of at least 1,000 feet in about a mile. The trail has tight switchbacks of very steep rock stairs with few hand rails. The flat stretches are covered with tiny rocks and a slip would be truly disastrous. The caves are amazing, though, and give a glimpse into life 10,000 years ago. Boots would be ideal, but we did okay in regular athletic shoes. The other thing is that if your Mezcal tour is at the “El ReyDe Matatlán”, the bathroom charges $4 pesos to get in and when we finally got in, it was dirty with very little paper inside. That part of the tour was the only disappointment and compared to the magic of everything else, it doesn’t matter.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Good trip. Lots to learn
Manuel_D
, May 2021
This ia a very good trip. Lots to see and remember. Due to the COVID-19, some of the Placer remain closes as May 2021. I hope we can return to some kind of normalcy soon.
star-5
Highly Recommended
Emily_D
, Feb 2021
Antonio was the guide for our group and he was fantastic - he is a native Oaxacan, and he was a wealth of knowledge about every place we visited. A few things to note: due to COVID the Tule tree area is closed, so tour vans can only drive past it. Parts of Mitla are restricted, and the usual enormous market in Tlacolula is not taking place. We went to a bustling and fascinating food market in Tlacolula instead. I would love to come back to Oaxaca and do this tour again after COVID goes away!
star-3
Damn you, COVID
Felicia_P
, Dec 2020
This experience was really amazing! The education we received in Teotitlan del Valle was wonderful. However, I only gave it 3 stars because COVID-19 changed our plans and the company did nothing to refund any portion of our cost. We did not visit Hierve or Mitla as they were closed. Instead, we went on a hike that could be considered strenuous to those not accustomed to the altitude nor the incline. Not to mention, we weren’t at all dressed properly for the hike. Im thankful we had a great group with us so it made the experiences that much better and our guide Antonio was a sweetheart.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2020
Dear customer, we are proud to know that the tour you bought with us you liked and that you had the best time with the rest of the group. We hope you return to this city full of culture and tradition with the experts. We welcome the suggestion to specify recommendations for our tours. we will contact you in this moment.
star-5
Great way to spend a day in the Oaxaca region
Lisa_T
, Mar 2020
Bus was clean and comfortable. Tour guide and driver were both friendly. Tour guide was knowledgeable.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Nice tour
Helen
, Mar 2020
Nice tour with interesting stops (best ones were Teotitlan del Valle and Hierve el Agua), also buffet lunch was good. The guide was friendly. We liked less the mezcal tasting part because there are dozens of other people and tourist buses, the site is very busy and explanation is reduced to a minimum. But otherwise good experience !
star-5
Full day of memorable adventures!
Kate
, Feb 2020
This tour includes all of the top sights of Oaxaca all in one full day! I didn’t have my own car, so never would have been able to reach these far flung sights on my own. My favorite part was Hierve el Agua which consists of pools from a mineral spring in an unbelievably scenic setting. I brought my bathing suit and enjoyed swimming in the waters during our stay. I took a zillion photos of the way the pools shelf out and overlook a beautiful valley far below as well as the amazing waterfall where the mineral deposits create the look of rushing waters. My description doesn’t do justice to this beautiful site. Remember to bring your bathing suit!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great trip.
Edward_G
, Feb 2020
Wonderful day! Guide Apolo was very good and helpful with my husbands problems with walking. Thoroughly recommend this trip.
star-5
Learning about the natural dyes for the wool and how it is spun
Gemmavan
, Feb 2020
Loved this tour, we saw so much in one day and it didn’t feel rushed at all. The tour guide was really great and everything was well explained in English.
star-5
Review of one day tour of Tule, Mitla, etc
Ashok_N
, Feb 2020
Excellent overview of sights outside Oaxaca. Felt a little bit rushed at Tule and Mitla but understood we had to cover a lot in a day. Guide spoke both English and Spanish. Overall a fantastic tour.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Hierve el Agua, Teotitlán del Valle, mezcal, el tule, desde Oaxaca
Hierve el Agua, Teotitlán del Valle, mezcal, el tule, desde Oaxaca

star-4.5109

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$47.57

star-59

1 hour 55 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$35.00

star-00

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$95.42

star-4.574

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$47.57

star-4.551

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$28.00

star-52

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$45.00

star-56

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$60.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations