Recent Searches
Clear

Napa Valley Open Air Wine Trolley Tour with Lunch

star-4.5111 Reviews
|
Napa, United States
29

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon6 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Make your day in wine country memorable on a fun tour aboard the Napa Valley Wine Trolley. The open-air cable car is a replica of the historic trolleys seen in San Francisco and offers gorgeous views of the vineyards as you travel to three wineries to sample the local blends. An expert guide will accompany you along the way, providing entertaining and factual commentary about Napa’s rich history. Midday, stop for a picnic lunch catered by French-country bistro The Girl & the Fig, a local favorite. Savor a gourmet spread of sandwiches, side salads, and desserts, served family style so you can pick and choose among the tasty offerings.
  • Napa wine country tour by open-air trolley
  • Experience Napa’s gorgeous scenery from a fun and unique perspective
  • Ride in a replica of a historic San Francisco cable car
  • Visit three family-owned wineries for tastings
  • Pickup and drop-off from Oxbow Market included
Have questions?
(888) 651-9785
Saved to wishlist!
Lunch
Pick-up from San Francisco is NOT included
Gratuities
Wine-tasting fees at each winery (USD$20 to $35 at each winery)

Departure Point

610 1st St, Napa, CA 94559, USA

Departure Time

10:30 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
Your wine country experience will begin with pickup at Oxbow Market in Napa. Hop aboard the open-air Napa Valley Wine Trolley and soak up the views as you take off. A local guide will join you on board to pass along stories about the region’s wine culture and history.

You’ll make stops at three family-run wineries, receiving private tastings at each. Learn about the local cellars, their notable varietals and what makes this region one of the best in the world. (Please note that wine-tasting fees range between USD$20 - $35 and are not included with your ticket.)

Stop for lunch catered by French-country bistro The Girl & the Fig. Enjoy gourmet sandwiches, side salads, and desserts. All served family style!

After lunch with your fellow travelers and a full day of wine tasting, your trolley will return you to Oxbow Market. There are several wonderful dining options in the area if you’d like to continue exploring around Napa.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Oxbow Public Market
You’ll be picked up at Napa’s Oxbow Market in the late morning for a 6-hour tour on the Napa Valley Wine Trolley, an open-air vehicle modeled after a historic 1890s San Francisco cable car. Enjoy the wind in your air as you take in the beautiful sights and smells of Napa wine country. Your friendly, knowledgeable guide will keep you entertained with commentary and stories about Napa’s history and wine culture.
Duration: 5 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Napa Valley
Visit four family-owned Napa Valley wineries for private wine-tasting sessions. Your hosts will explain the different varietals you taste and give you a background on the wineries (wine-tasting fees are not included; fees range between USD$20 and 35). Stop for lunch catered by French-country bistro The Girl & the Fig. Enjoy gourmet sandwiches, side salads, and desserts. All served family style! You’ll have plenty of wonderful photo opportunities throughout your tour, and your guide will be happy to take a photo of your group so you can document your memorable day in wine country. At the end of the day, you’ll be taken back to Oxbow Market – there are plenty of delicious dining options here if you’d like to have dinner after your tour.
Duration: 6 hours 
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Operates in all weather conditions; please dress appropriately
  • Jackets and rain protection are recommended in the winter months
  • Minimum age is 21 years
  • No consumption of alcoholic beverages is allowed while riding the trolley
  • You MUST advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • Napa Valley Wine Trolley operates “Rain or Shine” year-round. However, if there is a chance of rain, high winds, or unforeseen mechanical problems, we may have to substitute the trolley for a mini-bus. Napa Valley Wine Trolley reserved the right to substitute or change wineries at any time.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Your pick up is at Oxbow Market and the Trolley Departs at 10:15 do not be late.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Foreign language guides offered with notice: Spanish, French and Mandarin. Please contact the supplier directly after booking
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Napa Valley Wine Trolley

If you cancel at least 7 day(s) in advance of the scheduled departure, there is no cancellation fee.

If you cancel within 2 day(s) of the scheduled departure, there is a 100 percent cancellation fee.

If you cancel between 3 and 6 day(s) in advance of the scheduled departure, there is a 50 percent cancellation fee.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Napa Valley Open Air Wine Trolley Tour with Lunch?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Napa Valley Open Air Wine Trolley Tour with Lunch.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Napa Valley Open Air Wine Trolley Tour with Lunch?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Napa Valley Open Air Wine Trolley Tour with Lunch.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Napa Valley Open Air Wine Trolley Tour with Lunch?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Napa Valley Open Air Wine Trolley Tour with Lunch.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Napa Valley Open Air Wine Trolley Tour with Lunch?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Napa Valley Open Air Wine Trolley Tour with Lunch.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Napa Valley Open Air Wine Trolley Tour with Lunch?
A:This activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Napa Valley Open Air Wine Trolley Tour with Lunch.

Still Have Questions?


Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "Yes, you need to purchase your tastings at each tour yourself, but this is clearly indicated in the sign up and if you've done any research ahead of time you'll find it is standard for any Napa tour." See review
  • "Tons of fun, you get to visit quite a few wineries and so you can get pretty drunk if you aren't careful!" See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
111 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 111 reviews
star-4
Great experience
Lori_S
, Jun 2021
Great time. Great wineries. Great way to experience Napa. Would definitely go again if there is an option to visit different places
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Amazing!!!
Adrienne_S
, Jun 2021
So much fun visiting the wineries and meeting fun people from all over. Richard let us take our time at each winery. It was a beautiful fun day throughout the wine country.
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Fun but not what we expected
Kellie_F
, May 2021
It was disappointing that the trolley had a flat tire and we ended up on a bus instead. Lunch was Panera and it was good but something local is what was expected. All three wineries we different styles and was a good experience. Our group that we initially sat and stayed with was fun so that made the disappointing things not our weigh the experience.
icon Response from Host , May 2021
Thank you for your review and apologies for having to use one of our airconditioned comfortable buses. While the last thing we want to do is send out something other than a trolley, we found in our early morning safety check that we had to for your safety. While Panera, is a national company it is here locally and a local favorite.
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Bus tour
L_V
, May 2021
We were extremely disappointed from the start, since we did not get to ride the trolley. We were put on a small tour bus. Our driver Richard was very friendly and knowledgeable. We stopped at 3 Wineries the third being a tremendous disappointment. We were ushered into to a dark room with no windows and were expected to do our wine tasting there. We immediately requested to sit outside since it was beautiful weather and tables were open, but we received the reply "Wine trolly? You sit inside". We then sat in a room looking out at the empty tables, finally for the last half hour we were granted permission to sit outside. Just a horrible experience. Lunch was a box from Panera, not the Buffet style Vineyard catered lunch as advertised. I would definitely not recommend this tour.
icon Response from Host , May 2021
Very sorry that you had to take a bus rather than the trolley. In our morning safety check we had found an issue that kept us from sending out the Trolley. For your safety and comfort we sent a bus. I will check with the third winery and see what the situation was, but we normally sit outside at that winery and it gets wonderful review. As for the Buffet style lunch, due to covid this had to be changed to individual box lunches to keep with county safety guidelines. Most people these days of covid, are just happy to get out, on a tour and to a winery which are very difficult to make reservations for. Im very sorry you did not feel the same way and simply enjoy.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Fun trip!
Anne_G
, May 2021
The trolley conductor was very informative, friendly and fun! It was an enjoyable trip! He took us to wineries we wouldn't have gone to on our own. The wineries all served delicious wines!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Wonderful Experience
Mel
, May 2021
Fun, informational and convenient way of seeing wineries. We had a great time and enjoyed talking to other people on the Trolley.
icon Response from Host , May 2021
Thank for the review and glad you joined us.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Absolutely amazing!
Becky_W
, Apr 2021
We had the best time! We took a tour in the Napa Valley Wine Trolley and visited 3 different wineries. Our guide Richard was amazing! He went above and beyond to make sure we had a great experience. My hat blew off when we were on the trolley in the middle of the highway. While we were tasting wine, he walked back to where my hat blew off and he found it! He brought it right back to me and it didn’t even have a scratch on it. He had to have walked at least 1/2 mile to find it. He was very knowledgeable and shared some great information with us. I would highly recommend this tour. Thank you for such a great day!
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Great Wine Tour
Jessica_T
, Apr 2021
Great tour guide, great wineries and our lunch was really good. My only negative comment would be maybe just a little less driving back and forth. Otherwise we loved it!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great Wine tasting experience!
Denisse_I
, Mar 2021
This was our very first wine tasting experience and we had a great time! The Trolley was on schedule the whole time, the driver was great! We would totally do this again!
icon Response from Host , Mar 2021
Thank you for such a wonderful review. Please come again.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
MUST DO!
Brenda_R
, Dec 2020
Touring the vineyard and wine tasting was the highlight of our vacation! The trolly driver was super nice and the whole experience from beginning to end was very memorable.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2021
Thank you for the "Must Do" Vote... we sure think so.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful

Explore Similar Things to Do