Recent Searches
Clear

Puebla and Cholula Day Trip from Mexico City

|
Ciudad de México, Mexico
Puebla and Cholula Day Trip from Mexico City
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

From $55.00

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon10 to 12 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Overview

Discover architectural wonders on this guided day trip to Cholula and Puebla from Mexico City. Inside Cholula’s archaeological zone, feast your eyes on Pirámide Tepanapa, or the Great Pyramid, the world’s largest—even bigger in volume than Cheops in Egypt! Wind your way through the UNESCO-listed city of Puebla, home to gorgeous tiled buildings and Mexican Baroque churches, including the Church of Santo Domingo and Chapel of the Rosary. Bonus: hotel transport and lunch are included.
  • Day trip to Puebla and Cholula from Mexico City
  • Explore the archaeological zone of Cholula
  • Enjoy guided visits of Talavera and onyx factories
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off and lunch included
Saved to wishlist!
Hotel pickup and drop-off (selected hotels only)
Air-conditioned vehicle
Bilingual tour guide (English and Spanish)
Lunch
Archaeological Cholula zone is closed
Gratuities
Beverages at lunch
Hotel pickup and drop-off for hotels outside the pickup zone
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Av. de la República 154 , Av. de la República 154, Tabacalera, Cuauhtémoc, 06030 Ciudad de México, CDMX, Mexico

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

9:00 AM

Please arrive 1 hour before your selected start time for pickup. Your operator can coordinate exact time and location.

This activity will end right where it started.Pick up available on the next hotels: Hyatt Regency Camino Real Polanco W Mexico City Presidente Intercontinental Polanco JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City Wyndham Garden Hotel Polanco Fiesta Americana Grand Chapultepec Obelisk Suites Hotel Marquis Reforma Four Seasons Hotel Hotel Geneve Hotel & Suites PF Sheraton Maria Isabel Hotel & Towers Hotel Century Zona Rosa NH Mexico City Reforma Royal Zona Rosa Galeria Plaza Reforma Hotel Plaza Florencia Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa Hotel del Principado Hotel Segovia Regency Hotel City Express EBC Reforma City Express Plus Reforma El Ángel Ciudad de México Hotel Excalibur Hotel Eurostars Zona Rosa Suites Eurostars Suites Reforma Holiday Inn Express Mexico Zona Rosa Hotel Del Angel Exe Cities Reforma Hotel Exe Suites San Marino Marriott Reforma LAILA (antes Casa Inn) Hotel Misión Express Zona Rosa Room Mate Valentina Hotel Bristol Hotel Principal Hotel Metropol El Ejecutivo Hotel San Francisco Centro Histórico Hilton Mexico City Reforma Hotel Marlowe Best Western Estoril Best Western Hotel Majestic Hotel Ibis México Alameda Gran Hotel Ciudad de México Hotel Ritz Hampton Inn & Suites Hotel Zócalo Central Historico Central Hotel Gillow Hotel NH Centro Historico One Ciudad De México Alameda Fiesta Inn Centro Histórico Hotel Emporio Reforma Hotel Premier Fiesta Americana Reforma Le Méridien Mexico City Ramada Reforma Hotel Lepanto Hotel Mónaco Ciudad de México City Express Alameda Hotel Fleming Hotel Casa Blanca Sevilla Palace Hotel Plaza Suites Hotel Barceló Reforma Hotel Astor Hotel Plaza Revolucion Hotel Mallorca Hotel Fontan Reforma Hotel Regente City Hotel Imperial Customers must call to confirm the exact pick-up time, because it's prior the activity starts from 15 to 60 minutes before. Unfortunately, we are not allow to pick you up on apartment building or private residences. If you are not hosted in one of the hotels before mentioned or you are staying in a Airbnb please make your way to the meeting point located at De La Republica Avenue 154, Tabacalera, 06030. Near to Monumento a la Revolucion, behind Barceló Reforma hotel, in front of ISSSTE building.
After hotel pickup from Mexico City, travel with your guide southeast to Cholula, just outside of Puebla. Head inside Cholula’s Archaeology (Park Zona Arqueológica) and visit the world’s largest pyramid — the Great Pyramid of Cholula, aka Tlachihualtepetl, towering at 180 feet (55 meters) with a square base of 1,300 feet (396 meters).

From the pyramid base, look up to see the Church of Our Lady of the Remedies perched on the summit. Hear about how Hernan Cortes ordered the construction of 365 churches on this site, one for every day of the year.


Then, your guide takes you to the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Puebla, a city where buildings are sculpted out of freestone and covered with painted ceramic tiles. The charming city boasts 70 churches in its historic district alone. Swing by the 16th-century Church of Santo Domingo, whose plain gray and pink exterior belies the opulence inside. 
Next, visit the Chapel of the Rosary, part of the Church of Santo Domingo and once considered the eighth wonder of the art world. Admire the gilded stucco inside this example of Mexican Baroque architecture.

Gaze at the serene-blue Convent of Santa Monica, now the home of the Museum of Religious Art. Finally, visit onyx and Talavera ceramics factories, and learn about how these artisanal items are crafted, before enjoying transport back to your hotel.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Capilla del Rosario, Templo de Santo Domingo
Know the church of Santo Domingo
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Capilla del Rosario, Templo de Santo Domingo
Know the Rosary Chapel
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Great Pyramid of Cholula
Know the grat Pyramid of Cholula
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • - The time of return may vary due to traffic situations or the number of people.
  • - It is not advisable to book a tour on the same day of the departure of a flight, since we cannot be responsible for the loss of the flight, for any tour delay
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 24 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Mexitours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Puebla and Cholula Day Trip from Mexico City?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Puebla and Cholula Day Trip from Mexico City.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Puebla and Cholula Day Trip from Mexico City?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Puebla and Cholula Day Trip from Mexico City.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Puebla and Cholula Day Trip from Mexico City?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Puebla and Cholula Day Trip from Mexico City.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Puebla and Cholula Day Trip from Mexico City?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Puebla and Cholula Day Trip from Mexico City.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Lots of walking and climbing so wear good shoes and comfortable clothing." See review
  • "The path is very long and steep but it is a good surface and the views from the top should NOT be missed." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
211 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 211 reviews
star-5
Fantastic family experience
Gerardo_V
, Nov 2021
Erik out tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. The mole poblano at the restaurant was amazing. I would recommend this tour to everyone.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us, we are glad that you had a fantastic time. Your comments are much appreciated and will help other travelers to choose and experience our tours. Best!
star-1
Don't go
tracy_d
, Nov 2021
In traffic for 10 hours, tour ended upbeing only 4 hours and guide decided to go to "palace, which wasn't part of tour which added 1.5 hours and a total waste if time. Lunch ended up being dinner and we rushed through Pueblo which was the best part.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Dear Tracy, Thank you very much for your comments. Unfortunately the highway to Puebla it’s being repaired, besides we were on holidys, so the traffic increases razonably. Our guide tried to fulfill all the program and stablished with all the group the hour to have lunch to take advantage of the time. Puebla and Cholula are beautiful places, we regret you did not have a pleasant experience. Best regards.
star-4
Nice, need more time
Noemi_C
, Oct 2021
The tour is good, but it was rushed through the cities and lunch took too long. Maybe time change to earlier, so we can really enjoy the tour. Our tour guide Javier really tried to get us to see everything.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Dear Noemi, Thank you very much for your comments, they are really appreciated. We will consider to begin earlier the tour, above all on Saturdays, since there is more people, so the traffic and the waiting in the restaurants increases considerably. Thank you again for your time, hope see you in a near future, best regards.
star-4
On resume, it was a great trip
Agne_R
, Aug 2021
Our guide Xavier, thank you :) Maybe too much time driving, less time at objects, but that's the trip.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us, we are glad that you had a fantastic time with the assistance of Francisco Javier, our professional guide . Your comments are much appreciated and will help other travelers to choose and experience our tours. Best!
star-5
Amazing
svetlana_g
, Apr 2021
We had an amazing time in Puebla and Cholula. Jaime is a great tour guide. He knows what he is talking about, we felt safe with him. He showed us many things. He was so helpful. We recommend Jaime for a tour.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2021
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us, we are glad that you had a fantastic time with the assistance of Jaime, our professional guide . Your comments are much appreciated and will help other travelers to choose and experience our tours. Best!
star-5
Cholula ruins are worth it
Carter_H
, Dec 2020
Had a great time seeing the Cholula ruins and the Puebla city walk. Jaime was a good guide and he drove us safely.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2020
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us, we are glad that you had a fantastic time with the assistance of Jaime, our professional guide . Your comments are much appreciated and will help other travelers to choose and experience our tours.
star-4
A good way to spend a day off Mexico city!
Mylene
, Mar 2020
Great day tour to Puebla and Cholula. The guide was interesting and let us the necessary free time to also discover the places by ourselves. We recommend it!
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thank you so much for your comments, it will be such a pleasure to attend you in a near future on your next vacations to Mexico! Best regards
star-2
Disappointing experience due to tour company and guide
Mariellen_H
, Feb 2020
A disappointing day. Drive to Cholula was fine with a pit stop for restroom and refreshments. However when we got to the archeological site our guide did not through the tunnel with us so we got no explanation of anything like the group in front of us did. Once we met guide on other side he spent 90% of his time explaining features in Spanish and expected the English speaking clients to stand and wait for a very brief explanation leaving us little time for pictures or to read the placards that gave a more thorough explanation. Spanish group got additional time to climb up hill to see church on top of pyramid where as English speaking group only had time to run up and back to make it down by departure time. From here we went to Puebla which seems to be a charming city. The church we went to was beautiful but little explanation in English. Lunch was quite good but from here we went to the most disappointing craft market I have ever experienced, almost everything their was junk, vendors were even rude! 3 hour ride back to city without a bathroom stop. I would not reccomend using Mexitours, especially if it is a bilingual tour.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thank you very much for your comments, they are very helpful and important to us. We regret you had a bad experience with our service, since our goal is to obtain your total satisfaction. We are going to talk with our guide about what you are letting us know and hope you give us the opportunity to compensate this experience in a near future. Please receive our best regards.
star-1
Terrible
BRITTNEY_A
, Feb 2020
I never went cancelled in time but were never issued a refund. I'll never use Viator again. I've called customer support multiple times but was told that even though I called when 24 hours if had to be 24 hours before the actual 24 hours. Yes I know it sounds crazy that's the same exact thing I said. I'll never use or reccomend Viator.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thank you very much for your comments. We will appreciate you send us a personal email, with your tour information, so we can review your case with Viator. We remain at your service. Please receive our best regards.
star-5
A Long, Full Day. Well Worth the Price and the Time
Thomas_P
, Feb 2020
A very full day that started at 08:15 and went well after 20:00. The van was comfortable and meeting new people (both English and Spanish speaking) was very pleasant. A beautiful drive through the pine-forested mountains with views of Iztaccíhuatl. It was MUCH appreciated that plenty of opportunities for bathroom and water breaks were provided. Cholula is a delightful town in and of itself, however, the "pyramid" and the Church of Our Lady of Remedies on top were great. Please be advised that you will be disappointed not to find much of an actual stonework pyramid. The original structure is still there but has been buried by centuries of dirt, but you will realize that the structure underneath is massive. The trip to the top (where the Church is) can be gruelling. The path is very long and steep but it is a good surface and the views from the top should NOT be missed. Where to start with Puebla. As much as you will see on the tour, it will only lead you to realize that you could spend days in this city. Several beautiful and historic churches, wonderful paseos and shopping areas, a vibrant central plaza, great food and wonderful people. We headed back home at 5 PM totally exhausted but well satisfied. The tour company will pick you up and return to your hotel, but it might be easier to Uber to the central departure point as you may be the last one delivered back after the trip. That may add as much as an hour or more to you day and you will be tired.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thank you so much for your comments, it will be such a pleasure to attend you in a near future on your next vacations to Mexico! Best regards.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Puebla and Cholula Day Trip from Mexico City
Likely to Sell Out
Puebla and Cholula Day Trip from Mexico City

star-4211

10 to 12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$55.00

star-4362

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$40.80

star-520

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$158.00

star-34

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$55.16

star-54

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$130.00

star-4.510

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$38.00

star-4.5178

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$50.00

star-514

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$149.99

star-54

2 hours 40 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$66.84

Explore Similar Things to Do