Recent Searches
Clear
Swim with Whale Sharks Tour from Isla Mujeres and Cancun
22

Swim with Whale Sharks Tour from Isla Mujeres and Cancun

star-4.5193 Reviews
|
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Safety measures
icon6 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds
Safety measures
icon6 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Don’t worry—here are some similar options


Safety measures
icon6 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Take a swim with whale sharks, dolphins, and stingrays in Isla Mujeres on this guided tour. The Mexican island, located about 2 miles (3 kilometers) off the coast of Cancun, boasts plenty of colorful fish and marine life to discover. Plus, explore a reef and afterwards enjoy fresh ceviche, sandwiches, and drinks on board the boat.
  • Spot whale sharks, dolphins, and stingrays with the help of a guide
  • Take a short trip from Cancun and explore the waters of Isla Mujeres
  • Private charter option offered for a maximum of 10 people
  • Pickup and drop-off from Cancun and Playa del Carmen at additional cost
Saved to wishlist!
National Park fees
Drinks on board
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Transport by air-conditioned minivan
Tips for the Guides.
Bring Towel and Sunscreen
Dock fee ($5 per person)

Departure Point

Miguel Hidalgo, Centro - Supmza. 001, 77400 Isla Mujeres, Q.R., Mexico

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Note: This is a natural excursion dependent on weather conditions and other factors so you are guaranteed to see whale sharks 90% of the times. However, there may be rare cases when you don't see them
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Island Adventures Mexico

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Swim with Whale Sharks Tour from Isla Mujeres and Cancun?
A:
The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Swim with Whale Sharks Tour from Isla Mujeres and Cancun.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Swim with Whale Sharks Tour from Isla Mujeres and Cancun?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Swim with Whale Sharks Tour from Isla Mujeres and Cancun.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Swim with Whale Sharks Tour from Isla Mujeres and Cancun?
A:
The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Swim with Whale Sharks Tour from Isla Mujeres and Cancun.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Swim with Whale Sharks Tour from Isla Mujeres and Cancun?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Swim with Whale Sharks Tour from Isla Mujeres and Cancun.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "They provide snacks an lunch which was nice an a relaxing swim after ." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
193 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 193 reviews
star-1
Bad experience unprofessional from the start.
Ammie_I
, Jul 2021
The description was completely false. The whole experience was rushed and unprofessional. They were over an hour late picking us up at the Marina. I specifically looked for a private tour but when they picked us up there were already 4 additional people on a very small boat. The guides were rushing us in and out of the water. We felt very disoriented during our jumps. The description said 3-4 jumps we had 2 some people only had one jump and when we mentioned it their response was "the boat can only go around 2 times" They need to update the description of this tour because it was false. We were supposed to stop at 2 dive sites according to description. Only one. The food supplied was a joke. The life vest I had on was broken the straps and the clasps. It was also too big so it floated up and felt like it was strangling me. It also said we would get to spend time at Playa Norte for this description I assumed we would be able to be on the beach No they dock in the water but we were not allowed access to the actual beach. We were there for 15 mins while they prepared our "meal" Honestly this was a joke. Also one of the guide pushed my nephew off side of the boat before he was really ready to jump into the water. I would avoid this specific tour with this specific company Isla Adventures. If I could give it a 0 rating I would. Just a bad experience overall not worth $200 a person. Very dissatisfied.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Ammie. We really appreciatte your comment, We would like to offer our sincere apologies for the fact that we did not meet your expectations. we are going to work on this and make sure about this situation because our main commitment is to make happy to all our customers. We want to mention that you booked a shared boat, we are the tour operator and your confirmation is for Whale Shark tour from Cancun for $174 per person, Private Tour option has a price of $1,089 USD if you could check it please or get in contact with the Reservation Area. We are taking notes of your remarks that are of tremendous assistance to improve our work. Please accept my sincere apologies but I really hope you will grant us the opportunity to welcome you again in the future to present you the improvements reached due to your valuable feedback. Sincerely.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great! Exciting to see whale sharks
Drishti_P
, Jul 2021
It was great! Guide and captain were very friendly. Excited to show us where the whale shark were. We saw 2 whale sharks and manta ray
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Great Activity, But Poor Tour Operator
Paul_Z
, Jul 2021
This was the second time I've done this excursion, and I highly recommend swimming with whale sharks as an activity. However, I do not recommend doing so with this tour group. My experience with them was no where near the satisfaction I received with the tour group I used on my first time around. This group rushed us onto the boat upon arrival with absolutely no pre-trip greetings. The captain and first mate spoke extremely little English and very rarely attempted to communicate with the 10 passengers. Getting to the whale shark spot took forever due to 2 undersized 90 HP engines that had a hard time cutting through the extremely large ocean swells (obviously no fault of theirs). Meanwhile, many other boats from different tour companies on the same excursion that left port later than us quickly caught up with us, and then passed us, zooming toward the destination much faster due to their twin 150 HP engines. It was a painfully slow ride and extremely frustrating to see all the other boats cruising past us and getting to the destination probably a good 30 minutes ahead of us. Once there, the experience was good and everyone had 2 chances to jump in with the whale sharks. I suspect if our boat had been faster we would have been able to do more. The ride back was a little smoother because we were riding the current instead of fighting it, but it was still extremely long due to the puny engine strength. We dropped anchor at Isla Mujeres for a shallow water swim and a decent lunch that consisted of a ham & cheese sandwich, fresh fish ceviche, chips and guacamole. Alas, only Coke and water were the beverages. Some beer would have been nice! Bottom-line, I give the activity itself an 5 Star rating, but this tour operator receives only 1 Star, resulting in my overall rating of 3 Stars / Average.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Amazing!
Valery_C
, Jul 2021
The fact that I jumped right on top of a whale shark!! That was so crazy. I loved the whole experience!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Both tour guides were super nice and the experience was all around amazing! The whale sharks are so beautiful 100% recom
Allison_M
, Jul 2021
Both tour guides were super nice and the experience was all around amazing! The whale sharks are so beautiful 100% recommend!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
So many Whale Sharks!
Alexis_H
, Jun 2021
This tour was incredible. Even with rough water our guide and Willy got us out to a prime spot for Whale Sharks. Half a dozen at least swam all around us. Being in the water with them and the manta-rays was such a unique experience. We finished the trip with some sandwiches and fresh ceviche at Isla Mujeres.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great Full day Adventure
kfroehlich
, Jun 2021
Great experience.Captain an crew do an awesome job getting close to the whale Sharks . They provide snacks an lunch which was nice an a relaxing swim after . Full days adventure.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Tasty vibes and delicious ceviche
Noah_H
, Jun 2021
Swimming with the biggest fish in the sea is a once in a lifetime experience. It was amazing, and when we returned to Isla Mujeres, we anchored at the beach and enjoyed ceviche made by one of the crew members with red snapper he had caught the night before. Such an incredible day, and the team members at Island Adventures Mexico made it perfect.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Fabulous!
Joshua_B
, Jun 2021
We had a great time! They got us right up to the whale sharks and we swam with 5 or 6. Everything was organized and the we got to see way more than expected.
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Whale shark adventure
Eva_W
, Aug 2020
We loved swimming with the whale sharks. They were easy to spot and swim along with. Our Captin Gener was friendly and great at spotting the sharks. Mariners Jorge and Photographer Pollo did a great job filming and taking lots of fotos. Also they prepared a nice snack for us and provided us with water and sodas. The only reason we are not leaving 5 stars is because the ocean was very rough that day and lots of people got sick. Also, some beer or drinks after the tour would have been a great way to relax. Would recommend asking about water conditions and bringing anti nausea medicine.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful

Compare Similar Experiences

Swim with Whale Sharks Tour from Isla Mujeres and Cancun
Current
Swim with Whale Sharks Tour from Isla Mujeres and Cancun

star-4.5193

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$129.00

star-4.529

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$200.00

star-5300

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$46.16

star-4.5405

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$144.00

star-4.536

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$200.00

star-58

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$129.00

star-3.54

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$79.90

star-00

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$227.43

star-45

1 hour 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$62.86

Explore Similar Things to Do