Recent Searches
Clear

Gettysburg Battlefield Self-Guided Driving Tour

|
Gettysburg, United States
Gettysburg Battlefield Self-Guided Driving Tour
Special Offer

From $8.99

$9.99  Save $1.00

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon2 to 4 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Fully immerse yourself in Gettysburg—site of one of the Civil War’s most important battles—with a self-led audio driving tour. This flexible option, which includes a GPS map, audio narration, and online support, can be downloaded after purchasing, and never expires. Set off at a time that works best for you; drive to key battle locations, monuments, and more; and learn all about those three pivotal days of fighting from the narration.
  • This flexible, self-led tour option is great for independent travelers
  • Explore Gettysburg’s key battle sites and landmarks in comfort
  • The in-depth audio narration helps bring the history to life
  • Buy just one tour for the whole car, and use as often as you’d like
Saved to wishlist!
GPS Map
Audios and Text
Online Support
Admission to Paid Attractions
Entry Tickets

Departure Point

297 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA

Gettysburg Heritage Center

Departure Time

Suppliers and travelers coordinate start times within the given time periods.
4/10/2020 - 10/26/2022
Monday - Sunday:06:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Return Details

125 Taneytown Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY Adventures Abroad
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Gettysburg Battlefield Self-Guided Driving Tour?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Gettysburg Battlefield Self-Guided Driving Tour.

Traveler Photos

Reviews

4.0
star-4
241 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 241 reviews
star-4
Experiencing the Past
Terri_T
, Oct 2021
Little Round Top and the look out tower from which one could view Little Round Too and Big Round Top. We were disappointed that there was not more about Picket’s charge.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thanks for the review! Pickett’s Charge has a number of substops (“Learn More”) which add more info — and you can still access them, even if you’re not in town anymore. Please select the stop from the List View and then select Learn More. Send us an e-mail if you have any trouble and we’re happy to help (ActionTourGuide.com). Thank you!
star-5
Amazing how much there is to see and learn, tour very respectful
Samuel_M
, Oct 2021
The person at Heritage Center (beginning stop) was a major help by explaining how to navigate the buttons on our screen. After that it was a learn as we went. Was able to listen thru car's speakers via phone's Bluetooth (tho we had to manually reconnect bluetooth couple times). So much to explore & experience thru this app, our trip lasted 6 hours. Thank you for the experience. We enjoyed not being part of a group.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
The Heritage Center folks are absolutely wonderful! We will definitely pass the message along. Thanks so much for the review!
star-5
Great private viewing experience
Peter_U
, Oct 2021
Driving through the wooded battlefield with real time narration was a thrilling experience! Your directions were very simple with both audio cues and markers on the street! My car was able to make turns tour busses could not!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Haha, there are definitely benefits to being in your own car over a bus! Thanks so much for the great review — I’m so glad you enjoyed the self-guided tour experience with us!
star-3
Not the best experience
Gordon_B
, Oct 2021
Very difficult to load your. Had to call your were a customer support to get tour loaded. Directions from center to auto tour were a horrible. Once on the auto tour it was ok.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Glad we were able to get you started! We are trying to make it as clear as possible that the tour begins from the Heritage Center (not the Visitor Center). From there, it’s easy sailing!
star-5
Bringing history to life
Therese_M
, Sep 2021
What a great way to experience Gettysburg, especially if you have limited time to spend. The narration really brought the history to life at key points along the way, and you were able to go at your own pace, exploring as much or as little as you want. Roadside signs for the audible tour helped make sure you were on track and going in the right direction.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed the tour! Thank you so much!
star-5
A historic tour of a historic event
Richard_C
, Sep 2021
Climbing the lookout tower and scanning the topography to put the battle in perspective. What horror to imagine Longstreet and his troops charging the Union lines repeatedly only to be repelled in what's been labelled "Picket's Charge."
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Pickett’s men as well as other regiments as well — it was certainly a last-ditch, bold attempt. I’m so glad you enjoyed the tour! Thanks for the review!
star-4
It was difficult to...
Debbie_R
, Sep 2021
It was difficult to follow the route at the beginning but then it was fun. We did not finish the tour because it was too long
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thank you so much! I’m glad you were ultimately able to find the Heritage Center and get started. Even though you didn’t finish, you still have access to the tour and can come back another time (or listen manually at home). Thanks again!
star-1
Not for us.
Joan_H
, Sep 2021
We couldn’t use the tour, it was too difficult to follow. The Gettysburg battlefield is spread out over the town and countryside of Gettysburg. Too much traffic and too many cars parked on the roadsides. We wound up taking the bus tour from the visitor center.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thanks for your feedback. We’d love to hear more from you about where the traffic/cars became a problem. Self-guided drives are one of the most popular ways to tour Gettysburg so I’d like to understand if this was an issue because it was a popular weekend or something else (construction?).
star-2
Choose a different tour
caitlinoliveira
, Sep 2021
I love gps audio tours. I've done a bunch all over. But this was the worst one I've ever done. Very glitchy and very hard to follow. The developers need to make improvements for this to be a worthwhile tour. And again, this is coming from someone who has done MANY of these gps audio tours and generally loves them.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Done
Pamela_H
, Sep 2021
Worked well..easy to use The on flaw for us was not being able to backup if we went thru to quickly & the narration stopped.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
So glad you enjoyed the tour! If you’d like to listen to the parts that got cut off, you still can — the tour is available forever! You can manually select the story you want from the List View and then fast forward/rewind. Thanks again!

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Gettysburg Battlefield Self-Guided Driving Tour
Special Offer
Gettysburg Battlefield Self-Guided Driving Tour

star-4241

2 to 4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$9.99 $8.99

star-4.517

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$9.99 $8.99

star-4.521

14 hours 25 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$24.00 $19.20

star-3.53

30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$6.00 $5.10

star-00

30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$6.00 $5.10

star-4.598

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$24.95

star-4.581

1 hour 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$19.95

star-4.5256

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$29.99

Explore Similar Things to Do