Recent Searches
Clear

Independent Mont Blanc and Chamonix Half-Day Trip from Geneva

star-3.523 Reviews
|
Geneva, Switzerland
Independent Mont Blanc and Chamonix Half-Day Trip from Geneva

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon8 to 10 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

See Chamonix and Mont Blanc in just half a day on this excursion from Geneva. With a choice of a morning or afternoon departure, the experience is perfect if you’re short on time but still want to see mighty Mont Blanc from a classic French mountain town. Travel by coach from central Geneva, enjoy free time in Chamonix, and include a cable car or cogwheel train ride, if you wish. Numbers are capped at 15 people for a more intimate small-group trip.
  • Maximize your time in Geneva and use a free half day to visit Chamonix
  • Explore Chamonix at leisure, admiring Mont Blanc, shopping, and sightseeing
  • Upgrade to include a ride on the cable car or cogwheel train
  • Travel in a group of just 15 people for less waiting and more interaction
Saved to wishlist!
Air-conditioned vehicle
Cable car to Aiguille du midi or Brévent - If option selected
Mountain train to Mer de Glace - If option selected
Skip the line ticket
Incredible views on the Alps mountain
Sightseeing in the alpine village of Chamonix Mont Blanc
Local host
Food and drinks
Guide
Geneva Bus Station , 1201 Geneva, Switzerland

Place Dorcière 1201 Geneva

10:30 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Not recommended for child under 3 years for the cable car
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • A current valid passport is required on the day of travel
  • Not recommended for pregnant women for the cable car
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Keytours (Switzerland)
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Independent Mont Blanc and Chamonix Half-Day Trip from Geneva ?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Independent Mont Blanc and Chamonix Half-Day Trip from Geneva .
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Independent Mont Blanc and Chamonix Half-Day Trip from Geneva ?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Independent Mont Blanc and Chamonix Half-Day Trip from Geneva .
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Independent Mont Blanc and Chamonix Half-Day Trip from Geneva ?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Independent Mont Blanc and Chamonix Half-Day Trip from Geneva .
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Independent Mont Blanc and Chamonix Half-Day Trip from Geneva ?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Independent Mont Blanc and Chamonix Half-Day Trip from Geneva .

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "This is an independent tour, which is fine, but clearer information is needed up front about where to meet, going to the tour office (not the bus station), and better explanation of itinerary changes." See review

Reviews

3.5
star-3.5
23 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-7 of 23 reviews
star-3
MontBlanc Chamonix
Priscilla_Y
, Mar 2020
Unfortunately the weather did not cooperate for the cable car to Mont Blanc so we were taken to Brevent to ride the cable cars to view the glacier from there. The problem was that the local guide barely explained the situation and then gave vague instructions for getting up the mountain to another cable car, how to get to the train and a different meeting place to leave. We never saw her again all day. If you knew the area the places she pointed to on the map would be clear but we actually got lost. This is an independent tour, which is fine, but clearer information is needed up front about where to meet, going to the tour office (not the bus station), and better explanation of itinerary changes. That being said, the views were spectacular!
star-1
Great place, but don't take this tour to come here
Ankita_B
, Mar 2020
Although the trip says that my return for the bus ride back to Geneva is at 6:15, what it does not say is that if you take the 6:15 bus, you have to come back to a different bus stop (not the one you started from at Chamonix) all by yourself and fend for yourself during the entire ride back, since Neil would be gone at 5. Hence, in essence, if you don't want to get lost, you might as well come back by the 5:05 bus, which leaves very little time to explore the otherwise picturesque town of Chamonix. The guide, Neil, was never inclusive. He wasn't available during the forward journey and during the return journey, just catered to 2 people who were in the front row. He never made an effort to connect to people outside the region, and wasn't helpful for someone like me visiting the region for the first time to figure out the place. If anything, the locals at Chamonix were more helpful than Neil. Although they mention that they will make you travel in "a group of just 15 people for less waiting and more interaction", what actually happens is that you are crammed into the front of a public bus, with the rest of the bus filled with other people, and if you can't grab the front 2 seats, you'll not be able to hear anything that Neil says amidst the cackle of other people behind you in the bus. All told, I don't realize what they took all the money for. If you buy the tickets individually, it will be much cheaper, and the value added by KeyTours is zero anyway.
star-5
Very good trip
amyw201812
, Aug 2019
This was a great trip and Neil was a really helpful guide. The bus drivers were also very friendly too. I loved the cable car experience and have never seen a view like it.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Good morning, thank you very much for your review. We will forward your message to Neil. We are glad you enjoyed your day, the experience in the Alp and the village of Chamonix. It's truly a unique experience. Have a nice holiday!
star-2
Disappointing
James G
, May 2019
Paid for this tour in advance. Turned out to be a bad weather day for Mont Blanc. Windy, light snow and poor visibility. Decided to pay an extra 20 Swiss Francs for the mountain train after arriving at the tour office. Unlike the cable car up to the summit, the train was cancelled because of the weather. No refund.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Good morning, thank you for your review. It always help us to get better. Chamonix Mont Blanc trip is a mountain excursion, so we are subjected to weather conditions. We cannot know before we arrived what is going to happen. If you pay tickets with us and the cable car or train is close, if you haven't use we refund the price of the activity. If you buy it on the spot there is nothing we can do. We always wish for sunny weather, but snow can be expected as it's a mountain and it actually gives another charm to the city. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Switzerland
star-5
Beautiful
Departure27292748772
, Apr 2019
There’s not a lot of information given before the trip, like make sure you have warm clothes for the top of Mont Blanc, comfortable shoes because there’s a million stairs to get down to the glacier and back up. The little train ride is spectacular! Will be your best day ever!
star-5
It was worth it
zsofia06
, Oct 2018
The village is wonderful and a mountains are breathtaking. The cable cars were fun, too. The half day (10:30am-18:00pm!) trip was perfect, I am happy we participated in this tour.
star-1
The trip up to Aiguille du Midi was...
Daniel C
, Feb 2018
The trip up to Aiguille du Midi was not quite as we expected. You're crammed into the cable cars like sardines the same, if not worse, as being on the London underground. Not comfortable. You can't relax and enjoy the views. And if you're not keen on confined spaces you won't like it - you simply have no space to move. But the views at the top are - of course - fantastic. Having read the previous reviews we were looking forward to meeting the local host Neil. That was a bit disappointing too. He was both patronising, impatient and quite rude. I'd be amazed if any of the overseas visitors could follow anything he was saying - he didn't seem to take their needs into consideration. We're just glad we didn't book the guided tour as more than 10 minutes of being spoken to like that would have tipped me over the edge. One tip: the last train ride back is at 4.30, so make sure you leave time for that. I'd recommend leaving about 2 hours for the cable car trip.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Independent Mont Blanc and Chamonix Half-Day Trip from Geneva
Independent Mont Blanc and Chamonix Half-Day Trip from Geneva

star-3.523

8 to 10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$97.64

star-4148

8 hours 10 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$86.55

star-4747

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$120.95

star-4112

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$76.56

star-44

4 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$231.90

star-00

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$61.46

star-45

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$76.56

star-4.54

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$153.12

Explore Similar Things to Do