Recent Searches
Clear

Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

star-4.5127 Reviews
|
Dunedin, New Zealand
Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Swap the cruise port for the Dunedin countryside on a half-day shore excursion that includes the Otago Peninsula. Your sightseeing tour covers highlights of the city center such as the Dunedin Railway Station, then travels to several village suburbs, stopping en route at scenic lookouts and for a beachside view of basking sea lions. Enjoy the personalized attention from your guide on this small-group tour, limited to 19 people.
  • Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula shore excursion
  • Admire views of Cape Saunders along the Otago Peninsula
  • Visit the leafy residential neighborhood of St Clair and stop for light refreshments in the village of Brighton
  • Small-group tour limited to 19 ensures a more personalized experience
  • Choice of morning and afternoon tours
  • Covered by Viator’s worry-free policy: guaranteed on-time return to your ship
Saved to wishlist!
Live commentary on board
Professional guide
Transport by air-conditioned minivan
Pickup and drop-off from designated meeting points
Worry-free Shore Excursion Guarantee
Food and drinks, unless specified
Gratuities
Viewing of wildlife is not guaranteed
Port Chalmers (Also called Port Otago)
If your cruise ship is late please just make your way to the meeting point for further instruction
Coastal inlets and and harbor views highlight this Dunedin shore excursion to the Otago Peninsula. Start your half-day tour when your cruise ship docks in Port Chalmers, just outside Dunedin. You’ll meet your guide at a dockside meeting point, then board your vehicle for the short drive to the city center.

A scenic route delivers you above the Otago Harbour where you’ll appreciate the vista over the Otago Peninsula. Upon reaching Dunedin, your guide makes a stop at the charming Dunedin Railway Station for a photo op before departing the city for its outskirts.

Leaving the paved path, your vehicle follows coastal tracks alongside scenic inlets frequented by seabirds. Hear commentary about the geothermal activity that shaped this region over eons. You’ll disembark for a short walk on a gorgeous beach for a glimpse of New Zealand sea lions — aka Hooker's sea lions — that often bask here.

Continue to a peninsular lookout for views of Cape Saunders, then take a gravel road to Dunedin’s leafy suburbs, such as Portobello, St Clair and Brighton. Enjoy stops at several vista points overlooking Otago Harbour before weaving in and out of the harbor-side bays on the return journey to the cruise port.

Worry-free Shore Excursion:We will ensure your excursion ends with ample time for you to return to the Dunedin port for your ship’s departure. In the extremely unlikely event your ship has departed, we will arrange for transportation to the next port-of-call. If your ship is delayed and you are unable to attend this activity, your money will be refunded. See our terms and conditions for full details.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Baldwin Street: The Steepest Street in the World
Enjoy a picture stop at the steepest residential street in the world
Duration: 5 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Dunedin Beach
Enjoy a short walk to look for NZ Sea-Lions and NZ Fur Seals - you haven't been to Dunedin unless you've been on one of our beaches.
Duration: 20 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Dunedin Railway Station
New Zealand's Finest building took 7 years to build. There are several historic buildings in this area to enjoy.
Duration: 10 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark
  • A moderate amount of walking is involved as well as uneven surfaces
  • Viewing of wildlife is not guaranteed
  • Please wear comfortable clothing, sun protection and closed-toe shoes, suitable for walking
  • Departure time may change depending on cruise ship schedule
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Back to Nature Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
See all safety measures taken by Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Tour was easily accessible once off the ship, and very good value." See review
  • "Would certainly recommend this tour for people who want to see sights without being adventurous.." See review
  • "Fun stop at the beach and also the steepest street in the world." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
127 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 127 reviews
star-5
Great tour—hope you get Chris
Kathleen_B
, Mar 2020
Chris was a great tour guide. The entire tour went smoothly. We learned a lot and had fun. Highly recommend the tour.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hi KFB, Thanks for the 5 star review! It's really great getting this type of feedback, we're glad you enjoyed your tour with Chris. Our focus is the whole experience of every tour member so that starts from when you book to the post tour communication. You're now an official Back to Nature Tours legend that allows any of your family or friends clan rates - just get in touch if any one is coming to the the deep south and we'll look after them. Haste Ye Back!
star-5
Very satisfying tour
Richard_C
, Mar 2020
One of the best excursions we have taken during our tour of New Zealand. Driver/guide was very knowledgeable and interesting to listen to. Was able to answer a myriad of questions submitted to him by the group. Took us to a small trail which eventually led out to a beautiful beach where we were able to take pictures of a seal basking in the sunshine. Breathtaking views of the coast line and a very satisfying experience.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hi Richard_ Thanks for the 5 star review! Its always the icing on the cake when people tell us it was one of the best excursions they've taken. You're a Back to Nature Legend and will receive a clan discount for any family or friends that come out our way - Haste Ye Back!
star-4
Good general tour
William_R
, Mar 2020
Good general tour around town and the local area. The beach stop was the best part. Tour guide was engaging and kept things interesting.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hi Bill_R Thanks for this review, your feedback it important to us! All our guides have been trained to a high level, we're glad you noticed that. Hopefully you manage to come back to Dunedin one day - if you do make sure to get in touch, its amazing how many return visitors we get. Be Well
star-5
Steep
Constance_M
, Feb 2020
Loved our intelligent and informed driver...his knowledge of the natural world was delightful and since Dunedin was our first stop in New Zealand, gave us a basic insight into the country which was helpful for the entire trip. Fun stop at the beach and also the steepest street in the world. Thank you!
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hi Constanc, We are lucky to be based in Dunedin because we do get the opportunity to introduce you to New Zealand. Our guides understand that and we aim to balance our interpretation to give you that message - we're glad it's working! Your're a Back to Nature Legend Haste Ye Back!
star-5
Very enjoyable half day tour
James_S
, Feb 2020
Thoroughly enjoyed this small group tour with Oly as our guide, he was very knowledgable and friendly. He took us to some really interesting sights/places around Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula. The highlight was visiting a beach where we saw two fur seals play fighting and were able to get within a few yards for some fantastic photographs. I would recommend this tour.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hi James, Thank you for your kind review, it really makes our day. Oli has been working with us for three years and has become quite an accomplished tour guide - we're glad you enjoyed your day with him! Your a Back to Nature Legend, if you or any of you family members ever come out this way make sure you get in touch so we can give them the clan discount. Haste Ye Back!
star-5
Must Do Excursion !
Russell_W
, Feb 2020
Nice Guy & Informative ! I would recommend this excursion ! Beautiful Drive & Stops ! Passionate driver that enjoys his job !
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hey Russell_W, Thanks for the 5 star review! Its really heartening to hear you noticed the 'passion' your guide had because this is one of the main attributes we look for in a guide. Our guides always say its the clients that make the tour - you made our day! Haste Ye Back!
star-5
Dunedin And Surrounding Area
Beverley_S
, Feb 2020
Our host Glen was friendly and very informative. The trip was well paced and took in some spectacular scenic views and we were lucky enough to see a sea lion on the beach.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hi Beverley, Thanks for the 5 star review, it really makes our day! Providing an informative tour is the key to a good tour, we aim to leave you inspired when you leave Dunedin, and who knows, one day you may come back - if you do, make sure you get in touch because your a Back to Nature Legend that will receive great rates for any family or friends coming here. Haste Ye Back!
star-5
Excellent tour
Thomas_W
, Feb 2020
We had a very knowledgeable guide, Scott, who gave us an interesting and informative tour. We saw key sites and some wildlife, including a couple of seal lions stretched out on the beach.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hi SandraW, Scott is in only his second year of guiding with us but continues to get rave reviews, we're glad you enjoyed your time with him. I'll pass on your regards when I next see him. Your a Back to Nature Legend! Haste Ye Back!
star-5
Good value. Very enjoyable tour.
James_A
, Feb 2020
This was a relaxing excursion that was all it was advertised to be in the limited time we had in the area at this cruise stop. The transportation was comfortable and the tour guide did a nice job of educating us about the surrounding area. We especially enjoyed the stop at the beautiful beach to stretch our legs and take in the beautiful views.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Hi jkakenora, Thanks for this great review, we really appreciate the positive feedback, it makes our porridge taste even better in the morning! Quite often, Dunedin is the first port of call in New Zealand if a ship comes from the south, so we are blessed to have the opportunity to introduce you to New Zealand. We're glad you enjoyed your time hear - Haste Ye Back!
star-5
Super trip!
leschang68
, Feb 2020
Excellent trip! A little city a lot of country. Meeting guide was easy. Trip included a nice overview of Dunedin. I followed with a great drive along the Otago Peninsula. We were lucky that day as we got to see multiple sea lions.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Hi leschan, Thanks for the 5 star review. One of the big concerns people have before arriving here in Dunedin is where we will meet them - that's why we put together a wee video on our web-site to show them how easy it actually is lol! Glad you saw multiple sea-lions - Haste Ye Back!
star-4
Nice tour
John_H
, Feb 2020
Scot was great and very informative. I would suggest that a short refreshment break would be beneficial. The weather on the day of our tour was awful with heavy rain. Not much Viator can do about the weather
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Hi John, Thanks for your feedback. We used to to provide light refreshments but found the waste left behind unacceptable. We have a no waste policy but do make stops where you can get a light refreshment if you need it;)
star-5
Great small group tour
NORMAN_V
, Jan 2020
Great tour with great tour guide Glen. He was friendly, knowledgeable about the area and presented it well. It was a small group and we had plenty of photo opportunities and we were lucky to have seen wildlife.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Hi mutti1171, Glenn is in the office at the moment so I've just passed on your feedback that was greeted with a smile - he's about to go for a surf so you've made that first wave even sweeter for him. We're all about small groups to giev you the best experience possible! Your a Back to Nature Tours legend, Haste Ye Back!
star-5
Fabulous tour!
ronjanchap
, Jan 2020
Wonderful back to nature tour. Our guide is working on his Master's in Wildlife, and was very knowledgeable. We think his name was Scott. Tour was easily accessible once off the ship, and very good value. Highly recommend!
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Hi ronjanc, Yes, your guide was Scott who often gets called Scooter. He really puts everything into his trips and enjoys sharing his expert knowledge of the area. Your a Back to Nature Legend! Haste Ye Back!
star-5
Fantastic experience
Kevin_G
, Jan 2020
Our driver Marthy was great and very friendly. Took us around Dunedin also we went to the beach and have seen resting on the beach in the sun two seals black male and cream young female. That was fantastic day.thank you.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Hey Happin, Thanks for your 5 start review - we're delighted you enjoyed your day with Marty, we'll certainly let him know you did! We hope the rest of your cruise went well and you enjoyed NZ - all the best. Haste Ye Back!
star-5
Oli, the guide
Yasmin_B
, Dec 2019
Oli was our guide on this excursion. We found him to be very knowledgeable friendly and helpful. Would certainly recommend this tour for people who want to see sights without being adventurous..
star-5
must see
Samia_E
, Dec 2019
I was very surprise at how this is beautiful city, the tour was very good, and the guide was very familiar was excellent, I would recommend taking this tour
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Hi Sue122, Thanks for the 5 star review - your feedback inspires us! From all the team at Back to Nature Tours - Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! Haste Ye Back!
star-4
Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula
Peter_J
, Nov 2019
Overall the guide was great. Unfortunately we didn't get to see the Sea Lions we went to see. Thanks for the day!
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Hi Peter, We're really glad you enjoyed your time here and understand the unpredictability of the natural world. We wish you a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!
star-2
Poor value
ColinHawk
, Nov 2019
Tour lacked content. Drove about 2 hours to some isolated beach to see one seal pup and very little else. Not value for money
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Hi Colin H, thanks for the review, your feedback is important. The pup you saw was a NZ sea-lion, the rarest in the world:) There making a dramatic recovery and I'm glad you were able to see that - all the best mate. Haste Ye Back!
star-5
Quick glimpse of Dunedin
Thomas_G
, Feb 2019
It was a good tour as we saw seals etc on the beach as well as a good trip around Dunedin ( railway station, university etc). Stopped for photo opportunities.The worlds steepest street was fantastic to see and we actually witnessed a car driving over it.
star-5
Fun & Interesting
MariaJosephine_R
, Jan 2019
Our guide was very knowledgeable about the area and surrounding cities. The kids enjoyed all the animals. The views were amazing and he took us to the best places for photo opportunities.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula
Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

star-4.5127

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$65.27

star-4.535

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$65.27

star-539

7 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$138.62

star-59

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$49.44

star-533

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$72.52

star-4.516

6 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$128.56

star-559

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$52.74

star-53

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$118.67

star-522

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$95.59
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations