Recent Searches
Clear

Bombing of Darwin World War II Tour with Harbour Cruise

star-4.591 Reviews
|
Darwin, Australia
Bombing of Darwin World War II Tour with Harbour Cruise
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Non-refundable
You will not receive a refund if you cancel. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon4 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Explore the World War II sites of Darwin on this city sightseeing and cruise tour. Visit the Darwin war memorial and East Point Military Precinct, and explore Darwin Military Museum to chart the city’s wartime experience. Midway through, enjoy a small-boat cruise around Darwin Harbour, passing the modern naval base and the remnants and wreck sites of Japan’s devastating February 1942 air raids. Hotel pickup, entrance fees, and live onboard commentary included.
  • Half-day World War II historical city and cruise tour in Darwin
  • Visit the War Memorial and see the ammunition storage tanks at Charles Darwin National Park
  • Tour the East Point Military Precinct, Australia’s only wartime battleground
  • View the weapons and vehicles at the Darwin Military Museum
  • Small-boat cruise to see the bomb and wreck sites of Japan’s 1942 raids
  • Learn about Darwin’s wartime role and experience
  • Live bus and boat commentary, plus entrance fees and hotel pickup included
Saved to wishlist!
Hotel pickup and drop-off (selected hotels only)
Transport by air-conditioned vehicle
Local guide/driver
Live onboard commentary
Food and drinks
Gratuities

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

8:00 AM
Please contact us if you require pick up from a CBD location not listed above. Pick up time for CBD hotels is between 0745 and 0800. Please be ready in your hotel foyer 15 minutes prior to tour start time of 0800.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Sea Darwin
This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
91 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 91 reviews
star-1
Discussed
Constantina_K
, Jun 2022
The most memorable would be that I was NOT picked up and she told "me I was crossed off the list" please that just tells you something. I'm discussed and will never forget it. A refund? I am a world traveler and this has never happened before.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Constantina, Firstly, I reiterate the apology for the confusion on Sunday's Tour. There was a glitch with our pickups, which was unacceptable. This has not happened previously and we have put strategies in place to ensure it doesn't happen again. We are sincerely very sorry that you were inconvenienced. Unfortunately your calls were made to our mobile phone reminder service, rather than to our office, (the correct number was on your ticket). Had we been contacted directly, we could have organized a different outcome, and responded appropriately at the time. I am aware that you were refunded promptly. Again, please accept our apology.
star-4
I learnt even more about...
Janelle_R
, Jun 2022
I learnt even more about Darwin’s devastating past. It’s a shame it’s taken this long to introduce such important history into the school curriculum. Thanks Betty for an interesting tour.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
We're glad you could learn something with us and enjoyed your tour, thanks for leaving a review!
star-5
The tour was excellent....
MERCIA_C
, Jun 2022
The tour was excellent. Betty was a very knowledgeable and engaging tour guide. The harbour cruise and the museum visit were the highlights
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thanks very much for your feedback! Great to hear.
star-5
Don’t miss this tour.
Rob_G
, May 2022
Paul shared the whole story of Darwin, as well as the attacks on Darwin beginning in 1942. The visit to the museum was also very informative and the harbour cruise puts the whole experience in perspective. This is definitely a “Don’t miss it” tour!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
It's great to hear you enjoyed our World War II Tour and learned something new, thanks for leaving a review!
star-5
Great tour and guide5
Robert_G
, Apr 2022
Rob was so passionate and knew his stuff!I As an Australian was not aware of full story about bombings, the number and time. Should be taught in schools.
star-4
Bombing of Darwin Tour &Cruise
Evelyn_T
, Apr 2022
The staff both on bus and cruise had excellent knowledge and were obviously interested in sharing their knowledge and experience.
star-4
Brilliant guide
jossreinshagen
, Apr 2022
Betty our guide was incredibly knowledgeable on all of the history of Darwin as well as the WWII bombings. Thank you - it was a wonderful tour.
star-5
Enlightening
AnnMarie_S
, Mar 2022
Museum and good host Betty. Very informative. Learnt a lot. Story should be told in schools. Politicians should listen and take advice from military leaders.
star-5
Fantastic tour - fantastic guide!
Olga_T
, Jan 2022
The guide is interested in the th optic and cN instigate the interest of others. The excursion was very informative as the guide had a lot of knowledge and it restores the atmosphere of life and events of that time.
star-5
Opened our eyes
Victoria_G
, Oct 2021
This trip is well worth doing. The knowledge and information the team has was amazing. We learnt so much, that you never heard or learnt about.
star-5
Great tour
Martinus_v
, Oct 2021
It was a very good and informative Riob and Jim had a very good knowledge of the history of Darwin well done guys
star-5
Must see and do. A real eye opener
Bryn_H
, Sep 2021
Very well thought out trip. Great information and the tour operators are absolutely brilliant. If I would change one thing.... more time at the museum. Way to much to see in 45 min.
star-5
Such an eye opening experience
Jeannette_J
, Sep 2021
Well what surprise this tour was. If you only have time to do one tour in Darwin, make it this one. We enjoyed this tour so much. Our tour guide Paul was so informative. We had no idea the extend of what happened during the Darwin Bombing. It was also backed up by the water tour which showed a different perspective of the bombing. The tour guides on the boat were very informative also. The whole tour went together seamlessly. We can highly recommend this tour.
star-5
Informative and interesting.
Kendall_G
, Sep 2021
Fantastic experience-our guide was very informative and we visited a whole range of WW11 sites including a boat trip. The bombing of Darwin harbour and the surrounds by the Japanese over a 21 month period needs to be more acknowledged in Australia’s/ANZAC war history.
star-5
Professional, knowledgeable and prompt tour with great insights into the lives of those who were there
Rob_F
, Aug 2021
Paul gave us a historical insight into Darwin before the raid, and that sets the scene for the bomb by bomb story later on the harbour cruise where Alan and Rob provide many factual anecdotes of what it would have been like for soldiers and civilians. Both the bus and boat rides were very comfortable, professional and fun. Would have liked more time at the c Military Museum but it's only a half day tour.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hi Rob, thanks for your kind review and the compliments about the crew.
star-5
Darwin Bombing Tour - great experience
Suzanne_A
, Aug 2021
Great tour! Very informative and visited many sites. Tour guide was amazing. Saw a lot of Darwin and the cruise was great. Would definitely recommend!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Thanks for your kind review, and your compliments about the guide.
star-5
It’s a just do it tour.
Taanya_B
, Jul 2021
It was a great morning out, very interesting, great Guide and the Museum a definite highlight. Being on the water for the last part was extremely enjoyable (especially when they went fast). A must do for the history of Darwin so long ago.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Hi Tannya, thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your compliments about the guide and the tour. We're pleased that you enjoyed your morning out.
star-5
WW2 tour
Elizabeth_M
, Jul 2021
Very informative tour. Increase our knowledge of the events that happened in Darwin during World War 2. Highly recommend.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Thanks Elizabeth for your recommendation of this tour.
star-4
Darwin Bombing Tour
MARK_B
, Jul 2021
Interesting informative tour. My only negative was that meeting spot not listed on Viator ticket . We were told when we rang the office to meet at a spot on the esplanade road. Meeting point was actually on Doctors Gully Rd .
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hi Mark, thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are sorry that there was confusion with the meeting location, but we only pick up from within the CBD which are the only options listed on Viator. For those who are staying outside the CBD we contact and identify a mutually convenient location to meet. We are pleased that you found the tour interesting and informative.
star-5
Jane
Jane_K
, Jul 2021
The knowledge of our guides was excellent, we learnt so much. Could have spent longer at the museum it was so interesting. Thank you
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Hi Jane, thank you for joining us on the WW2 tour and complimenting our guides. They are passionate about Darwin's war history!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Bombing of Darwin World War II Tour with Harbour Cruise
Likely to Sell Out
Bombing of Darwin World War II Tour with Harbour Cruise

star-4.591

4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$91.14

star-538

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$31.79

star-52

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$147.66

star-4.520

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$91.85

star-5381

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$201.36

star-513

55 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$34.62

star-4.531

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$31.79

star-4.5459

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$48.40
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations