Recent Searches
Clear

Akaroa Full Day Sightseeing Tour from Christchurch

star-4.567 Reviews
|
Christchurch, New Zealand
Akaroa Full Day Sightseeing Tour from Christchurch

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 7 days in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon9 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Discover volcanic landscapes and breathtaking scenery on New Zealand’s South Island on this 9.5-hour Akaroa day trip from Christchurch. Take in top attractions including Governor’s Bay, Gebbies Pass, Lake Ellesmere and Lake Forsyth with your guide. Ascend the Banks Peninsula for beautiful views over Akaroa Harbour and the volcanic crater. Then, sample locally made cheeses and admire colonial architecture around Akaroa. Cruise by catamaran into the harbor where diverse marine and bird life thrives, including rare Hector’s dolphins. Upgrade your tour to enjoy a delicious lunch in Akaroa Village.
  • Akaroa day trip from Christchurch including cheese tasting
  • Drive past natural attractions with an informative guide
  • See Hector’s dolphins on a 2-hour nature cruise on Akaroa Harbour
  • Upgrade to include a restaurant lunch
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off by coach included
Saved to wishlist!
Lunch - (if option chosen)
Driver/guide
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Air-conditioned vehicle
Gratuities

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

8:30 AM
Returns to original departure point at approximately 5:30pm
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Leisure Tours
You can cancel up to 7 days in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 7 full days before the experience’s start time.
  • Any changes made less than 6 full days before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • For a 50% refund, you must cancel 3–6 full days before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 2 full days before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 2 full days before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More

Traveler Tips


  • "This is an easier day tour than going to Kaikoura so if you're looking for an alternative, this is it!" See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
67 Reviews
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 67 reviews
star-5
Relaxing trip - must go!
DI_H
, Jul 2022
Such a relaxing trip with amazing scenery. We were really fortunate to make the morning cruise which gave us time to relax over lunch and then took a stroll around Akaroa. I wish that we could do sit-down tasting for the cheese.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you for the feedback and it is great to learn that you had such an enjoyable and relaxing day. I do hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again on some future occasion.
star-5
Pristine views
Mihir_G
, Jul 2022
The trip to Akaroa was fantastic Excellent guide and pristine landscape We were lucky to spot lots of dolphins penguins and fur seals. Had a wonderful memorable day with lots of fond memories
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
It is great to hear that you had such an enjoyable day and that our driver / guide was excellent. I do hope that you have the opportunity to experience this very unique part of New Zealand again at some time in the future.
star-4
Lovely day
Monica_C
, Jan 2021
Two hours on the Black Cat viewing Akaroa Harbour, very very informative guide who was extremely helpful
icon Response from Host , Jan 2021
Thank you for the review all of which are important to us to ensure we meet and where possible exceed our customers expectations.
star-5
The experience was well worth it.
Jessie_R
, Feb 2020
The guide was friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. We enjoyed all aspects of this trip. It was a great day.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thanks for the awesome review Fred. I'm really happy you had such a great day with us and enjoyed all aspects of your tour. It's also great that you enjoyed your guide as well and I'll be sure to pass on your kind words! I certainly hope you get to visit Akaroa again soon!
star-3
Nice day tour to Akaroa
James_C
, Feb 2020
Great scenic son the road. Driver took different route on the return. That made the trip worthwhile. But driver picked up the group almost hour late after his promised time. Only to find out he did another service in between.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thank you for taking the time to submit to submit your review. We are aware that there was some confusion regarding the departure time in Akaroa and for this we apologise. The tour did depart Akaroa at the scheduled time, however, the driver did mistakenly advise some of the passengers an earlier departure time which did create some confusion.
star-5
Enjoyable day in Akaroa
kevinschader
, Feb 2020
Lovely and easy day tour to Akaroa. Our guide, Scott, did a wonderful job and made the most of our time by taking us along the scenic ways to Akaroa and keeping us informed about the history of the area and answering my many questions. The ride onto the bay was fun and we saw Hectors dolphins, birds, seals, and beautiful views. This is an easier day tour than going to Kaikoura so if you're looking for an alternative, this is it!
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thanks for the great review of your Akaroa Day Tour from Christchurch. I'm really pleased that you had such a great time and got to see this amazing part of our country and its unique, native marine wildlife. It's also great to hear that Scott did such a great job accommodating you! I'll be sure to pass on your kind words to him. We agree that this tour is a fantastic alternative to those who want to see spectacular scenery and wildlife while still staying close to Christchurch. Thanks again and I hope you get to visit Akaroa and the Banks Peninsula again soon!
star-5
Akaroa - A Great Experience
Rajesh_H
, Jan 2020
The tour was very well organised; our tour guide Rob was friendly and provided a lot of information about Christchurch, earthquakes and Akaroa's history. The day was clear and cruise was excellent and we got to see the dolphins, and the colony of seals. Overall we had a great time.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Thanks for the great review! I am really pleased you had a great day in Akaroa and that you got to see some great local wildlife on your cruise, including dolphins and seals. It's also wonderful to hear that you had a nice time with your driver/guide, Rob, and that he was able to provide lots of information about Akaroa and Christchurch. I'll be sure to pass on your kind words to him. Thanks again and I hope you get to visit Christchurch again soon.
star-5
Akaroa
MAGant10
, Dec 2019
This was a really great tour with stunning views and a great guide! Would definitely do it again. Highly recommend.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Thanks for the 5 star review and recommendation. Great to hear you had such a nice time in Akaroa. Be sure to visit Christchurch again soon!
star-5
Akaroa Full Day Sightseeing Tour from Christchurch
Kathryn_D
, Nov 2019
I enjoyed the company and commentary of Rob, our driver on the way to and from Akaroa. We stopped several times at lookouts for photo opportunities and the information about the area was interesting and insightful. The town of Akaroa is a lovely little touristy place with interesting shops, a local market on the day I visited and an interesting private library and secondhand bookshop with many books about the local area. The 2-hour boat tour was amazing on the Black Cat Harbour Cruise. We saw many small Hector's dolphins swimming with the bow wave of the boat, NZ fur seals on rocky outcrops and were lucky to spot the rarely seen yellow-eyed penguin making its way slowly down a cliff face.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your Akaroa Day Tour. I'm happy to hear you had such a nice time on your tour with our driver/guide Rob. I have already passed on your kind words to him and he was thrilled to hear! And it's great you got to see so much of our local wildlife too, including the rare Yellow-Eyed Penguins, which aren't too common in the harbour so you were lucky to see it! Thanks for joining us on our sightseeing tour to Akaroa and I hope you visit Christchurch again soon!
star-3
Nice cruise but long boring wait for it to start
MobileChemist
, Nov 2019
Great guide but tour overall not well planned - we were left with way too much time to kill in a small town. The cruise was scenic but the boat was very hot.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
The township of Akaroa is a beautiful historic township nestled in a Bay within the inner habour of Akaroa Harbour and surrounded by high rolling hills. Of the hundred's of passengers we take there annually one of the most common comments is "that it would have been nice to stay longer". In 25 years this is the first comment every received that the township was boring. Some of our customers are happy to spend the entire day in the township and not even take the two hour harbour cruise.
star-5
Awesome
Carol_M
, Nov 2019
Our day trip was awesome! Beautiful scenery, great harbor ride with lots of dolphins, seals, fish, birds, good lunch. Rob was our guide and he is fabulous! I highly recommend this trip. Ask for Rob and you will love it!
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Thanks for the great review! I'm happy you had such a nice time in Akaroa. The Akaroa Harbour is such a beautiful place to visit and it hosts an array of unique local wildlife including Hector's Dolphin, New Zealand Fur Seals and Little Blue Penguins. And thanks for the nice comments regarding Rob, your driver/guide for that day. I'll be sure to pass on your kind words to him. Thanks again and I hope you get to visit New Zealand again soon!
star-5
Beautiful Akaroa
Yvonne_Y
, Jun 2019
Wonderful day, beautiful views, fantastic lunch. Can recommend this hand on heart beautiful tour. Fantastic tour guide, very knowlegable and friendly, nothing was difficult!
star-5
A highly recommended tour.
HeiMeiAnna_K
, Jun 2019
Jerry, the driver/guide was energetic and professional. His lively talks added value to a trip which itself was already value for money. The lunch was delicious and the restaurant was good. The boat ride was of course the highlight of the day with dolphins and penguins racing alongside the boat! Well, the boat did rock violently when it stopped close to a big colony of seals playing on the rocks.
star-5
This tour was fantastic! We had a...
Jackie_A
, Apr 2018
This tour was fantastic! We had a delightful day in Akaroa to include a delicious lunch, time to walk around the town, and a delightful boat ride along the coast and back into the harbor.
star-5
Loved this tour! Cally was...
Patti H
, Mar 2018
Loved this tour! Cally was wonderful, upbeat and full of good information. We saw fur seals, albatross and blue penguins on the boat trip. Lunch at Bully Hayes was delicious and we had plenty of time to eat as well as explore Akoroa. A perfect day!
star-5
Although the weather was rainy, the...
Richard P
, Feb 2018
Although the weather was rainy, the Driver/Commentator was great. She kept us well informed of the areas we drove through. She accomodated us by making an additional short stop in the french section of Akaroa. With the cancellation of the boat due to the poor weather conditions, she was able to make alternative schedule by going to the Antarctic Museum.
star-4
Unfortunately it was raining, windy...
Nathaniel K
, Jan 2018
Unfortunately it was raining, windy, and cold. And this was a summer day. Activity is weather dependent. Inspite of the weather, I still enjoyed the sites: the greenery, the towering cliffs, the cathedral domed cave, and the ocean. The marine life was awesome: Hector dolphins, fur seals, and penguins. A sunny and calm day would have made this a perfect excursion.
star-5
It was a lovely day. Our driver Sue...
Inacio R
, Jan 2018
It was a lovely day. Our driver Sue took as to many beautiful places of the region and the boat ride was amazing, not just because of the dolphins and other animals but also because the sea and the mountains of Akaroa are very special.
star-5
The tour started with a beautiful...
Jennifer S
, Jan 2018
The tour started with a beautiful drive through the plains and hills from Christchurch to Akaroa. Our driver-guide Scotty was amazing -- so informative about the area and what we were seeing along the way! Even though it was a holiday, we were still able to stop at Barry's Bay Cheese Factory, see a video of the cheese making process, sample some of the cheeses, and make our purchases. The free time in small sea-side town of Akaroa provided enough time to visit the shops and enjoy a walk along the harbor shore. Lunch at Bully Hayes was good but nothing special -- there were other dining options nearby that would have been just as good if not better. The harbor cruise was the highlight of the tour. Andrew, the driver-guide on the boat, provided informative as well as humorous commentary through the cruise. We saw lots of Hector's dolphins, and they swam right up to the boat -- some even swam right along the side of the boat! We also saw some fur seals and several sea birds. On the return drive, Scotty took us on a different route back to Christchurch, along the top of the hills/mountains surrounding the Akaroa bays -- the views were absolute beautiful! I would highly recommend this tour it's a great way to see the beauty of the area southeast of Christchurch and experience seeing the rare Hector's dolphins!
star-3
This was ok, but was a replacement...
Terri S
, Dec 2017
This was ok, but was a replacement for a 4-wheeling tour that did not take place. I've been on these types of cruises before and was looking forward to something different. We did see many dophins and a couple of penguins. Although there were so many people on the side of the boat where the penguins were, that I never saw them.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Akaroa Full Day Sightseeing Tour from Christchurch
Akaroa Full Day Sightseeing Tour from Christchurch

star-4.567

9 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$146.12

star-513

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$145.47

star-4.531

2 days

Free Cancellation

From
$58.45

star-425

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$204.57

star-411

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$113.65

star-51

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$141.32

star-527

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$207.12
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations