Recent Searches

Dolphin Cruise from Adelaide with Optional Dolphin Swim

star-4.5232 Reviews
Badge of Excellence
Glenelg, Australia
Dolphin Cruise from Adelaide with Optional Dolphin Swim

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon3 hours 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English


Look for dolphins off the coast of Adelaide on a dolphin-spotting cruise from Glenelg, a seaside town just south of the city. As you glide across Holdfast Bay by catamaran, keep your eyes peeled for some of the thousands of dolphins who live in these waters. To enhance your encounter with these lovable creatures, upgrade your tour to include a dolphin-swimming experience from the boat.
  • 3.5-hour dolphin cruise from Glenelg
  • Spot wild dolphins in Holdfast Bay
  • Upgrade to swim and interact with the dolphins
  • Onboard commentary and safety briefing included
  • Wetsuit, snorkel, mask and other equipment provided
Saved to wishlist!
Dolphin sightseeing cruise
Swim with dolphins (if option selected)
All necessary equipment
Live commentary on board
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Food and drinks

Departure Point

1 Holdfast Promenade, Glenelg SA 5045, Australia

Arrive for boarding 15mins prior to departure from Marina Pier, Glenelg – from the bottom of the stairs/ramp in front of The Oyster Bar – Glenelg is approx. 20 minutes from Adelaide CBD. The marina is located at the very end of Anzac Highway.

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
At Marina Pier in Glenelg, just 6 miles (10 km) south of Adelaide, hop aboard your catamaran for your dolphin-watching cruise on Holdfast Bay. (One easy way to get to Glenelg is by tram, a 20-minute ride that operates regularly from the city.)

As you depart the marina and set off across the water, watch for the wild dolphins who love to swim around the boat. Thousands of dolphins call Holdfast Bay home, so you are extremely likely to see them. If you select the swimming upgrade when booking, you’ll spend up to one hour in the water with different dolphin pods. A wetsuit, snorkel and mask are provided so you can dip under the water to watch them swim and play.

Your cruise ends with return to the marina in Glenelg.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum age is 9 years to participate in dolphin swim
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Temptation Sailing
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on sanitization during Dolphin Cruise from Adelaide with Optional Dolphin Swim?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
See all safety measures taken by Dolphin Cruise from Adelaide with Optional Dolphin Swim.
What is the social distancing policy during Dolphin Cruise from Adelaide with Optional Dolphin Swim?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Dolphin Cruise from Adelaide with Optional Dolphin Swim.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More


232 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 232 reviews
Fabulous morning
, Jan 2022
Great experience, fantastic staff, they were knowledgeable and really friendly. Can’t recommend it enough.
Great relaxed staff -...
, Jan 2022
Great relaxed staff - willing to answer any questions which we had, which accompanied the huge pods of dolphins making a great trip!
Boring and Uneventful
, Jan 2022
There were no dolphins, the event was rather boring. Just sailed out to sea for ages, no interaction with staff members. Lots of people were sick no fault of sailing staff - but there did not seem to be any empathy shown either. Did not recieve a full refund, only partial, even though I am a tourist and will not be able to rebook another. Dull experience.
Amazing dolphins view
, Jan 2022
It was amazing, we saw dolphins everywhere and they were really kind, friendly and they paid attention and all the details.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Hello Thank you for your 5 star review. We are so spoilt to be able to see the dolphins everyday, they are amazing! Regards Temptation Sailing Team
Best day ever
, Apr 2021
Just AMAZING. We had the best morning ever. The crew were amazing. We hooked up with Dolphins as soon as we left and got in the water with them safely and carefully. Overall the most amazing experience.
Overall a good trip
, Jan 2020
Overall we had a great day and we saw plenty of dolphins. However when we arrived we were told we were not on the manifest. When they rang up there boss the lady didn't have a clue about our booking and didn't know what to do. We proved everything was payed for so they kindly let us aboard but I feel rather disappointed with Viator for not having everything sorted for us. Especially as I had purchased this for 3 other people including myself as a Christmas present which felt rather embarrassing. I just hope I don't have any other issues with my upcoming bookings with them.
Dolphin cruise Adelaide
, Dec 2018
Fees in US dollars and confusing people, so they charge more to covert the currency.There is no one to response.
Actually, we've passed time chasing...
stephane k
, Jan 2018
Actually, we've passed time chasing dolphins. Go into the water, get back on the boat. The guides know they're work and the wild for sure. But it was really hard to see dolphins.
This was very disappointing. I had...
, Jan 2018
This was very disappointing. I had tried to find out more about how it worked twice on the phone.Only to get a very unhelpful woman on the phone who kept saying it would be explained on the day. So along I went - we were given stinger suits - as expected - then briefed on how the swimming with dolphins would work. Not so much swimming with Dolphins as jumping from a boat whilst holding a rope - and moving down to make room for others -into the water and being dragged along on the rope behind a boat in the hope of seeing dolphins under the water. Plus we had to get into the water quickly on command when Dolphins were spotted. Well quite a few people who'd booked for swimming with the dolphins backed out at that point. This included some families with children as well as some couples. Now despite my age 60 and mobility issues I walk with a stick due to arthritis I am normally okay in water. So I decided to give it a go. I lasted about 7 minutes - i was about the middle of the rope and kept being swept to the wrong side of it. I was s obusy working out how to do that I saw nothing! Same as many round me. So with my neighbours help I made it back to the side and a crew member helped me out. At this point i stayed on deck and enjoyed the sight of the Dolphins jumping around quite happily. Had I opted for just the Dolphin boat trip I'd have been happy enough. But personally I feel that describing the experience as swimming with Dolphins an simply inaccurate description of the experience. I have starred at 2 because I did see Dolphins and the crew wee actually very good and very helpful. But the description of this trip needs to be more accurate.
Great trip but cold, try to go...
, Oct 2017
Great trip but cold, try to go during warm weather. The crew is fantastic and works hard to find dolphins and tell you where to look.

Compare Similar Experiences

Dolphin Cruise from Adelaide with Optional Dolphin Swim
Dolphin Cruise from Adelaide with Optional Dolphin Swim


3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



6 hours

Free Cancellation



45 minutes

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation


Explore Similar Things to Do